HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 28, 2010, 01:38 AM
It's Prime Time for Slime Time
Joined May 2004
1,723 Posts
Discussion
OLD Gerasis DG-800 build (have glider, what now?)

Sooooo, I bought a glider from my LHS that they've had on their shelves for they say over ten years. It still has the 499.99 price tag on it but they let it go for $250 to me to get it out of there. It's a PG Gerasis DG 800 360, which from what I've gathered with some initial google research, is a scale model of a DG-800 full scale glider, and has a wingspan of 3.6 m, which, to me, seems REALLY long. Background on me, I'm a glow/electric airplane/heli pilot who's been flying those things since my dad started taking me to the field in 1985. I've never flown RC gliders. I was impressed by the elegance in the planform of the wing, and the delicate design of the empennage, and above all, that it is a scale model. So now I have this thing, and there's no instruction for construction, and I have no one to 'guide my sword' as Inigo Montoya might say. It has ailerons but no flaps, and has spoilers that rise laterally out of the wing, in addition to the rudder and elevator on the T tail. The fuse is glass, and looks like it needs to be sanded down on the seams and perhaps painted. The wings look to be foam core with balsa sheeting and covered in a white film. My primary questions are as follows: