HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 27, 2010, 03:14 PM
Cornwall, UK
Joined Jan 2010
21 Posts
Discussion
Scratch Build 1:5 Standard Cirrus

Hello to everyone here.

Just to let you know I have just started to build a 3 meter Standard Cirrus. I recieved the plans today.

The plans are for a balsa construction but I wish to make the glider from epoxy fibreglass. I have just started on the fuse tonight.

Over the coming weeks I will post up pictures for you to have a look at. I am new to gliders so have many questions, which im sure you guys wont mind helping with.

I plan to build the fuse molds first, then the molds for the wings.

Tony
airbo is offline Find More Posts by airbo
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 28, 2010, 10:24 AM
uk/england
Joined Jun 2008
341 Posts
Go for it Tony
Iain
The SKY MAN is offline Find More Posts by The SKY MAN
Old Jan 28, 2010, 02:55 PM
yyz
USA, CA, Paso Robles
Joined Dec 2004
2,378 Posts
Fantastic

Excellent project. Get a copy of George Moffat's "Winning on the Wind". He gives quite a bit of attention to the Std Cirrus.

Have you thought about finding an old Graupner Cirrus 75 fuselage to get you a leg up on the project? I believe it was 1:5 scale.

Look forward to following this,

Mike
yyz is offline Find More Posts by yyz
Old Jan 28, 2010, 03:23 PM
Cornwall, UK
Joined Jan 2010
21 Posts
I have done a few hours tonight, have shaped the bulkheads for the fuse and have started to cut them on the backbone.

I have been looking on the internet for suitable servos for the sailplane. The wing span is 118 inches and should be around 1.5 Kg . What servos do you guys recomend. I think I will need a thin one for the wings.

I would like to have retractable landing wheel and air brakes for the wings, what makes do you guys recommend and what size servos do you think I will need ?

Also I will need a battery, again what is the norm for this kind of sailplane.