Old Jan 23, 2010, 04:22 PM
You know how we do
Maryland
Joined Jan 2010
120 Posts
Discussion
Sbach 342 Build Thread - *FREE PLANS*

Hi everyone!

After seeing pictures of the Sbach 342, I knew I had to have one, even if it was just a foamie. After looking around, I couldn’t find any .pdf plans for one, so I decided to make my own. I drew up plans at 100% scale in Photoshop and tiled them using PosteRazor 1.9.5. The plans are drawn for construction using 6 mm Depron foam, however, other thickness and/or types of foam may be used by adjusting the width of the assembly slots to conform to the foam thickness. The prototype was constructed using 4.5 mm Readiboard® foam from the Dollar Tree with the paper backing removed. This is my first attempt at drawing up plans, so I hope it all works ok!

Here are the specifications:
Wingspan: 34 in
Length: 35 in
Weight: To be determined

I don’t know the flying weight yet, since the prototype is not finished. However, I weighed the foam pieces and they came out to around 2 oz. Below I have listed the weight of the airborne equipment so we can estimate the total weight.

The prototype will use radio equipment that I had from other foamies, specifically:

Motor: E-Flite Park 400 920 Kv Outrunner (56 g, 2.0 oz)
ESC: E-Flite 20 A Brushless V. 1
Receiver: Hitec Electron 6 (17 g, 0.6 oz)
Servos: Hitec Hs-56HB x 3 (10 g, 0.37 oz or 30 g, 1.11 oz)
Battery: Li-po, 3 cell 1500 mAh (will probably use lighter, newer batteries)

I just finished decorating the prototype using colored tissue paper (super light weight) before beginning assembly. I will continue posting updates as I finish the assembly, fly it, fine tune the CG, etc. It might be slow going starting Monday, when my college classes start back up. Stay tuned!

-Vincent
Spitfire222 is offline Find More Posts by Spitfire222
Last edited by Spitfire222; Jan 24, 2010 at 03:15 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 23, 2010, 04:27 PM
You know how we do
Maryland
Joined Jan 2010
120 Posts