HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 21, 2010, 05:00 PM
AMA - 734492
United States, MT, Butte
Joined Mar 2007
2,128 Posts
Build Log
Dumas USS Crockett

Well this is a first for me to post in the Boat section of RCGroups. I'm an aviation guy mostly but I have browsed through the boat section (and submarine) and drooled over all the cool projects you guys have going on and the beautiful finished models you have sailing the lakes and ponds. Well, I finally broke down and got myself my first boat kit, the Dumas USS Crockett. I have lots of building experience so that wont be a problem, I'm only a little lost when it comes to figuring out what power systems to buy and how you would calculate what you need or want. I think I get how to install all the gear and I understand electrical systems, I fly lots of electric planes and helicopters so Amps and all that I understand, but I could use some links to great boat sites and/or advice on anything related to boats, cause I'm a newbie here.

Oh, so far I have the USS Crockett kit and the hardware kit from Dumas. I'm using a strait piece of particle board to build the hull on and I found a lot of helpful building tips from this site but again, I only bought what I need to construct the basics, the electronics I'm waiting on helpful advice from you guys first.

Eric
EricClark is online now Find More Posts by EricClark
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 21, 2010, 05:29 PM
WooHoo!
Lake Balboa, CA
Joined Jun 2007
5,102 Posts
Welcome aboard Eric.

Peruse this... http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=457330 for starters.
woodybob is online now Find More Posts by woodybob
Old Jan 21, 2010, 07:39 PM
AMA - 734492
United States, MT, Butte
Joined Mar 2007
2,128 Posts