HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 15, 2003, 04:52 PM
San Diego, CA.
Joined Feb 2003
231 Posts
My field battery plan, what you think??

Hello all,

I am pretty new to RC but am having a great time and feel that I will be in the hobby for a long time. I have two planes at the moment and am buying two more shortly. I have been using my truck battery to charge my packs at the field but worry at some point I will be stranded. I have been looking at field batteries and how to care for them.
Here is what I am going to do. I am going to just add a deep cell like a ultima in my truck and add a battery isolator between it and the starting battery about the same way you isolate house batteries from starting batteries in a motor home. This I think will fit my current needs and my needs in the future. My truck has plenty of room for the added battery. Where I fly, my truck is very close. I will not have to carry, store or mantain the battery and will basically have unlimited field charging, can always start the truck for a little while to recharge if ever needed.

Thanks for reading, any bad thoughts before I do this???

Rob,
Cruzer is offline Find More Posts by Cruzer
to remove ads between posts
Old May 15, 2003, 06:02 PM
Thermal Junkie
San Diego - California - USA
Joined Feb 2001
342 Posts
Sounds good to me Rob...

What field are you flying at?

I fly with the Weedwackers so don't have the luxery of staying close, so I bought a marine deep cycle battery to use.

Warren
Warren is offline Find More Posts by Warren
Old May 15, 2003, 06:16 PM
San Diego, CA.
Joined Feb 2003
231 Posts
Hi Warren,

I fly at the Silent Flyers field by Sea World. Great group of people over there and lots of room to mess up in heheeh.

Rob,
Old May 15, 2003, 06:37 PM
small electrics r BIG FUN
Iowa
Joined Aug 2000
4,347 Posts