HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 26, 2012, 08:50 AM
Registered User
Southern Ohio, USA
Joined Apr 2006
473 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad_Roman View Post
Large planes with large digitals.....most guys are running at least an extra batt plugged into ch 7 or 8 (or any one of the leftover channels)

After that you jump to a smartfly I believe
You really don't need to use a left over channel for an extra power source. I found the easiest way to do this is to plug short "Wye's" into the reciever. That way you can use as many as you want to get the amount of amps you need for your power hungry digitals...On my 89" Yak, I have (5) Hitec 7955's running off a 2.4ghz Futaba 7 channel reciever. I used 4 "Wye's" plugged into seperate channels in the reciever to provide power to aileron and elevator servos which also powers the rail on the reciever. Cheap and very effective....
TooBizzy is offline Find More Posts by TooBizzy
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 26, 2012, 09:03 AM
Registered User
United States, MI, Houghton
Joined Jan 2005
5,196 Posts
And now a weather report....SNOW, frickin' SNOW! Dagnabbit anyhow!
snowman is online now Find More Posts by snowman
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 09:29 AM
Do Da Dippidy
plowboy1966's Avatar
Joined Jun 2008
7,308 Posts
I got snowed on in late April once in PA. back in the 80's. I was surveying a pipeline and we were miles from the shelter of our rig when it hit. It had been warm and sunny before that and I was wearing shorts and a tee shirt! It came and went twice before we made it back to the truck. We were soaked and freezing, and mildly agitated!! Lol

I'll stay in the south, thank you very much!
plowboy1966 is offline Find More Posts by plowboy1966
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 10:05 AM
BANG IT!!!
DaOldGuy's Avatar
United States, PA, Bellefonte
Joined Dec 2007
12,263 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad_Roman View Post
Large planes with large digitals.....most guys are running at least an extra batt plugged into ch 7 or 8 (or any one of the leftover channels)

After that you jump to a smartfly I believe
2 plugs in the RX restricts the servos to around 8 amps max, its better the nothiing, but with digitals you could brown out and the plugs with fail over time.
DaOldGuy is offline Find More Posts by DaOldGuy
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 10:13 AM
Registered User
Southern Ohio, USA
Joined Apr 2006
473 Posts
Yep...The 22g wire is good for about 4 amps max. Thats why I use up to (4) wyes to power the reciever. One side of each Wye goes to the battery or power source, the other side of the wye powers the servo. I've got lots of hours on this type of setup and never have had a failure. I'm sure other hardware works just as good, but I've had very good luck with this and the price is right.
TooBizzy is offline Find More Posts by TooBizzy
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 11:57 AM
BANG IT!!!
DaOldGuy's Avatar
United States, PA, Bellefonte
Joined Dec 2007
12,263 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TooBizzy View Post
Yep...The 22g wire is good for about 4 amps max. Thats why I use up to (4) wyes to power the reciever. One side of each Wye goes to the battery or power source, the other side of the wye powers the servo. I've got lots of hours on this type of setup and never have had a failure. I'm sure other hardware works just as good, but I've had very good luck with this and the price is right.
Its depends on the load on the servo/size of control surface, and the amount of draw the servos need. 333 ounce in digital servos can hit 4-5 amps each with a hard load. That much load would take all the power in that wye.

A twist with standard servos may not see over 4 amps across all servos... well... maybe if PB is flying.
DaOldGuy is offline Find More Posts by DaOldGuy
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 12:34 PM
Twistaholic AMA 134406
Dad_Roman's Avatar
USA, TX, Teague
Joined Jul 2007
5,619 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TooBizzy View Post
......... plug short "Wye's".........
Hey! Thats pretty smart





Quote:
Originally Posted by DaOldGuy View Post
A twist with standard servos may not see over 4 amps across all servos... well... maybe if PB is flying.
Tru dat
Dad_Roman is online now Find More Posts by Dad_Roman
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 01:03 PM
Walk of Shame Season :)
Waldopepperaxe's Avatar
NY
Joined Jun 2008
4,908 Posts
Howdy all just trying to stay caught up here yes its been in the 40's and low 50's all week with showers and rain thankfully no snow though.

Hey Snowman I came across some old pics you might enjoy as well as the rest of us nuts

This is snowman huckin his T40 and I think this is him with his UCD lol
Waldopepperaxe is offline Find More Posts by Waldopepperaxe
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 02:30 PM
Registered User
SnowDog1974's Avatar
United States, IL, Crystal Lake
Joined Jan 2009
5,498 Posts
I have a buddy who is getting into the hobby...he currently has an entry level radio, and he is asking me if I think this radio is a good deal:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1640547

I don't know anything about this radio, so I figured I would consult the collective wisdom of this fine group...anyone have any opinions?

Thanks,
Mike
SnowDog1974 is online now Find More Posts by SnowDog1974
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: Old Faithful - 3DHS 51" Slick
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 02:33 PM
Montana Transplant
mt_flyer's Avatar
United States, OR, Klamath Falls
Joined Aug 2005
1,930 Posts
the 72mhz 8103 was a good radio... I'm sure the 2.4 version is also good
mt_flyer is offline Find More Posts by mt_flyer
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 03:16 PM
Registered User
United States, MI, Houghton
Joined Jan 2005
5,196 Posts
Yeah, that's me.....Jack211 was behind the camera.....those were the days!
snowman is online now Find More Posts by snowman
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 03:26 PM
Do Da Dippidy
plowboy1966's Avatar
Joined Jun 2008
7,308 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowman View Post
Yeah, that's me.....Jack211 was behind the camera.....those were the days!

You gotta get a flying buddy snowman! Recruit someone and teach them how to fly. Get em hooked!!

That way we can see more pics of you out having fun!!
plowboy1966 is offline Find More Posts by plowboy1966
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 03:53 PM
BANG IT!!!
DaOldGuy's Avatar
United States, PA, Bellefonte
Joined Dec 2007
12,263 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowDog1974 View Post
I have a buddy who is getting into the hobby...he currently has an entry level radio, and he is asking me if I think this radio is a good deal:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1640547

I don't know anything about this radio, so I figured I would consult the collective wisdom of this fine group...anyone have any opinions?

Thanks,
Mike
For another 100ish I think he can get the new Futaba T8J 2.4
DaOldGuy is offline Find More Posts by DaOldGuy
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 03:56 PM
Registered User
SnowDog1974's Avatar
United States, IL, Crystal Lake
Joined Jan 2009
5,498 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaOldGuy View Post
For another 100ish I think he can get the new Futaba T8J 2.4
but then he has to pay $$$ for his RX's, right?

With the JR8103 he can use cheap RX's, can't he?
SnowDog1974 is online now Find More Posts by SnowDog1974
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: Old Faithful - 3DHS 51" Slick
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 04:30 PM
Do Da Dippidy
plowboy1966's Avatar
Joined Jun 2008
7,308 Posts
Two questions:

When is someone going to make Futaba compatible receivers at a reasonable price?

Is it wrong to have redskin potato salad for dinner....only?
plowboy1966 is offline Find More Posts by plowboy1966
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion New Club Thread - Northern Beaches Soaring Club Psionic001 Australia 13 Sep 11, 2014 07:45 AM
Help! Tower SUper Saver Club la528it Hot Online Deals 9 Jan 10, 2010 05:48 PM
Discussion San Francisco Model Yacht Club's multi-club Swap Meet craig_c Dock Talk 17 Oct 13, 2009 02:28 AM