HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 05, 2013, 02:00 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2010
197 Posts
Quick question because I don't know much about telemetry and don't use it yet. I have just installed a DHT with toggle switch in my rds8000 and have the toggle switch hardwired to the one way side. I do not want to put the toggle switch through the radio box. I know that if I use a two way rx, I will have to undo my hard wire job. My question is, what is the firmware upgrade for switch position for? When you answer, please remember that all I know about this system is that you put the module in the tx and put the rx in the plane and link them and fly. Do you need to upgrade this system often and why?
flybyjohn is offline Find More Posts by flybyjohn
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 05, 2013, 03:03 PM
I don't want to "Switch Now"
pmackenzie's Avatar
Toronto (Don Mills), Canada
Joined Dec 2002
16,551 Posts
I have never upgraded mine.
AFAIK, the firmware in the module has been stable for a long time.

Pat MacKenzie
pmackenzie is offline Find More Posts by pmackenzie
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2013, 06:53 PM
Registered User
St Catharines Canada
Joined May 2002
883 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiseDuck View Post
I've plugged in things wrong before. Upside down servo connectors, power plugs, the receivers have always worked after this. This one still seems to work in SOME ways, i.e. it powers up, you can bind to it, but it won't connect..
Hi. I have a 6 channel that acts exactly that way too. I know the reason why: I inadvertently plugged a servo into the AD2 port. Watched as the magic smoke came out of the servo [notta from the RX] and thereafter it would bind but no servo motion on any channel. It was in shrink wrap also so now the AD2 pins of all the remaining 6s are trimmed 1 mm and bent out 15* to make it obvious. This is not to say you deliberately did that but it is possible to have some metallic or conductive object short the servo channels across to the AD2 pins. Lost an Rx that way too.


Richard
The Tellurian is offline Find More Posts by The Tellurian
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2013, 10:51 PM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
14,283 Posts
I don't understand why plugging anything, even a BEC/ESC on AD2 would harm the receiver...
The power rail is common to all plugs, from 1..6 to AD2.
The signal pin of AD2 is an input, unlike a regular servo pin, which is output. Connecting a servo there should no matter, the servo will not receive any command pulse and do nothing.
Really puzzled...
renatoa is offline Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2013, 11:53 PM
Dean
A10FLYR's Avatar
USA, CO, Littleton
Joined Apr 2005
3,841 Posts
Renato, I think if you plug the wrong device, maybe a battery, perhaps the wrong way, (inverted) into the wrong port, (AD2), you may see what Richard described.I bricked a good, working 6 channel RX and I believe that is what I had done. I don't remember the exact circumstances at the time or I would/could be more positive in my comments.
A10FLYR is offline Find More Posts by A10FLYR
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2013, 12:02 AM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
14,283 Posts
About battery I agree, I posted the same previous page. Should not use other plugs than servo, the two poles jst are a bomb ticking.
renatoa is offline Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2013, 12:16 AM
Dean
A10FLYR's Avatar
USA, CO, Littleton
Joined Apr 2005
3,841 Posts
OK. I think that may be what Wise Duck did also....
A10FLYR is offline Find More Posts by A10FLYR
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2013, 12:35 AM
You can't take the sky from me
scott page's Avatar
United States, WA, Richland
Joined May 2009
5,881 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldsworthy View Post
HEY! sometimes it gets down to 70 above 0 here!
OMG. The pain!

It's snowing here -- which in itself precludes me doing any outdoor testing of my equipment.

I'd be really interested to KNOW if the new ROHS solders are as robust in temperature cycling as good old lead solders.
scott page is offline Find More Posts by scott page
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 06, 2013, 02:42 AM
X-Ikarus
Reflex1's Avatar
United Kingdom, North York
Joined Feb 2003
1,660 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by renatoa View Post
I don't understand why plugging anything, even a BEC/ESC on AD2 would harm the receiver...
The power rail is common to all plugs, from 1..6 to AD2.
The signal pin of AD2 is an input, unlike a regular servo pin, which is output. Connecting a servo there should no matter, the servo will not receive any command pulse and do nothing.
Really puzzled...
The Rx side power rail is NOT common to the other Rx plugs
It can supply power to external equipment/sensors
But it's limited to 10mA (from memory).

I too damaged a Rx by drawing more current than allowed,
and couldn't trace the source of the Magic Smoke
but internally connecting the side power pin to the Servo output power pins
brought the Rx back to life.

note. I have not Flight tested it yet,so can't guarantee a fix
Also this was awhile ago and may not have been AD2
but I'm certain it was the 5V on the Rx Side connector
Reflex1 is offline Find More Posts by Reflex1
Last edited by Reflex1; Jan 06, 2013 at 03:12 AM. Reason: added info.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2013, 03:34 AM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
14,283 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflex1 View Post
The Rx side power rail is NOT common to the other Rx plugs
...
Then, what is this ?

renatoa is offline Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2013, 03:40 AM
X-Ikarus
Reflex1's Avatar
United Kingdom, North York
Joined Feb 2003
1,660 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by renatoa View Post
Then, what is this ?

That's the servo connectors
I'm talking about the Side Telemetry 5V output
Reflex1 is offline Find More Posts by Reflex1
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2013, 03:59 AM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
14,283 Posts
I was convinced that we are talking now about D6FR receiver, and the pins in red ellipse are AD2.

If you are talking about D8R, the lateral AD2 middle pin carries either 5V for some batches/versions, either internal receiver 3.3V processor rail, for others.
Indeed, connecting a servo to a lateral AD2 in a D8R, if the 3.3V version, could bust the 3.3V regulator. Connecting that pin to 5V is not desirable, will burn the receiver electronics, if not immediately, but in time...
renatoa is offline Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2013, 04:17 AM
X-Ikarus
Reflex1's Avatar
United Kingdom, North York
Joined Feb 2003
1,660 Posts
The Only point, I'm trying to make
is Connecting Servos or Shorting pins on the Rx Side Telemetry connectors

Can damage an Rx ...
Reflex1 is offline Find More Posts by Reflex1
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2013, 05:05 AM
Happy FPV flyer
Kilrah's Avatar
Switzerland
Joined Sep 2006
4,283 Posts
But the discussion was about the D6FR which does NOT have side connectors
Kilrah is online now Find More Posts by Kilrah
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2013, 05:11 AM
X-Ikarus
Reflex1's Avatar
United Kingdom, North York
Joined Feb 2003
1,660 Posts
Sorry if my comments are out of place

I thought this was a General FrSky thread
" FrSky 2.4ghz - looking good so far!"

Reflex1 is offline Find More Posts by Reflex1
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-Review The video for FrSky 2.4Ghz Chase Wu Radios 0 Dec 16, 2009 01:18 AM
Discussion Realflight G5 Combat so far so good! splitpilot Simulators 0 Nov 22, 2009 06:36 AM
Discussion So far... So good rikks Mini Helis 35 Feb 17, 2006 12:42 PM
Aerofly Deluxe so far so good! Gary Morris Simulators 5 Aug 19, 2005 07:23 AM
Schulze 18.46K v7.02 - so far, so good! Jason M Electric Heli Talk 4 Aug 11, 2002 01:25 AM