HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 06, 2012, 10:46 AM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
14,427 Posts
That ground wire is the counterpoise of an Inverted Vee.
renatoa is online now Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 06, 2012, 10:53 AM
SemperFi!
BriGuy82's Avatar
United States, TX, Texarkana
Joined May 2012
331 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmackenzie View Post
We called them Rabbit ears, not bunny ears, so I didn't make the connection

Bunny Ears make me think of a certain magazine run by an old geezer
Lmao.. Yes I meant rabbit ears. Same thing I suppose! Back to my question, ok so keep the ends clear of any obstacle. How about leads with power to them? Will it effect my RS? Can I mount these antenna ends inside of a carbon rod on the fuselage?
BriGuy82 is offline Find More Posts by BriGuy82
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 10:55 AM
I don't want to "Switch Now"
pmackenzie's Avatar
Toronto (Don Mills), Canada
Joined Dec 2002
16,603 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RENATOA View Post
That ground wire is the counterpoise of an Inverted Vee.
That's what I figured, but I also don't think it would work as expected because its length is much longer than the wavelength. I think it should also be perpendicular to the active element, not some sort of 3D loop.

The BODA is sort of an example of a 2.4 Ghz counterpoise.
pmackenzie is offline Find More Posts by pmackenzie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 10:56 AM
I don't want to "Switch Now"
pmackenzie's Avatar
Toronto (Don Mills), Canada
Joined Dec 2002
16,603 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BriGuy82 View Post
Lmao.. Yes I meant rabbit ears. Same thing I suppose! Back to my question, ok so keep the ends clear of any obstacle. How about leads with power to them? Will it effect my RS? Can I mount these antenna ends inside of a carbon rod on the fuselage?

The active end can't be inside carbon or anything else conductive.
pmackenzie is offline Find More Posts by pmackenzie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 12:34 PM
Habitual Line Stepper
Cervanchez's Avatar
United States, WA, Redmond
Joined Dec 2011
698 Posts
Question guys: I have the DHT-U module that I'm using with my Hitec A9. I was considering going with the DHT-DIY for a cleaner install, but I'm not clear on what the switch does. Does it allow me to switch to between the Frsky and Hitec modules or does it simply turn on/off the frsky module? It would be nice to be able to switch between the two so I can still fly my overpriced Hitec rx's.
Cervanchez is online now Find More Posts by Cervanchez
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 02:13 PM
Happy FPV flyer
Kilrah's Avatar
Switzerland
Joined Sep 2006
4,393 Posts
It switches the frsky module's mode between telemetry mode (for the D-series receivers), one-way mode (for the old V-series receivers), and firmware upgrade mode.

If you want to switch between modules you'll have to wire that up yourself.
Kilrah is online now Find More Posts by Kilrah
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 02:26 PM
Habitual Line Stepper
Cervanchez's Avatar
United States, WA, Redmond
Joined Dec 2011
698 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilrah View Post
It switches the frsky module's mode between telemetry mode (for the D-series receivers), one-way mode (for the old V-series receivers), and firmware upgrade mode.

If you want to switch between modules you'll have to wire that up yourself.
ok, ya I was thinking I could just wire that myself anyways, but that clears up the 3 switch positions (didn't get what the fw position was for), thanks
Cervanchez is online now Find More Posts by Cervanchez
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 03:08 PM
Registered User
rcroadtrain's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Marsfield
Joined Feb 2012
354 Posts
Quote:
Can I mount these antenna ends inside of a carbon rod on the fuselage?
no. If your going to mount the antenna ends in anything, it has to be non-conductive.

Also, experience with 2.4g systems, try not to bend the coax too sharply.. gentle curves are best.
rcroadtrain is offline Find More Posts by rcroadtrain
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 03:22 PM
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar
USA, NH, Alstead
Joined Oct 2007
4,956 Posts
I got about 60% or more reduction in range mounting my antennas inside a plastic tube even though I had the exposed ends completely sticking out of the tubes. This happened on two different multicopters. The plastic tube was a control rod housing used in model planes, fairly thick plastic but still.
u2builder is offline Find More Posts by u2builder
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 04:04 PM
Flying a Chipmunk in Portugal
jhsa's Avatar
NRW, Germany
Joined Sep 2010
3,354 Posts
I've read somewhere that if we put a piece of the plastic tube in a microwave oven and it gets hot, we should not run the antennas inside because the tube absorbes the RF..
Don't know whether this test is valid or not, but it makes sense to me..
jhsa is online now Find More Posts by jhsa
Last edited by jhsa; Dec 06, 2012 at 09:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 04:09 PM
Suspended Account
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Mar 2012
3,265 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by u2builder View Post
I got about 60% or more reduction in range mounting my antennas inside a plastic tube even though I had the exposed ends completely sticking out of the tubes. This happened on two different multicopters. The plastic tube was a control rod housing used in model planes, fairly thick plastic but still.
This is contrary to everything I have been taught!
goldsworthy is offline Find More Posts by goldsworthy
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Dec 06, 2012, 05:25 PM
Aloft Hobbies
Rotozuk's Avatar
United States, CA, Novato
Joined Sep 2003
5,658 Posts
Some plastic tubes have graphite or metal in them.. You have been warned. use the microwave test (with a cup of water in the microwave.)
Rotozuk is online now Find More Posts by Rotozuk
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: Taranis Front Shell Swap
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 06:36 PM
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar
USA, NH, Alstead
Joined Oct 2007
4,956 Posts
Quote:
This is contrary to everything I have been taught!
It sure surprised me. I put the antennas in the tubes thinking I was making an improvement, took off, went about 200 feet and the machine went into failsafe. I put it on a stand and did the Frsky green blinking button range check. It lost range in less than 10m. I removed the tubes and got about 40m.

I had put the same tubes on my Hex at the same time. I got the same reduction in range on that machine.

In both cases the uncovered part of the antennas were sticking out of the tubes.

These two tests were done with no other changes whatsoever. I was totally shocked.

The tubes were red plastic Gold N Rod tubes. I just put them in the Microware for a minute and the temperature went to about 140F. I put some clear plastic Dubro throttle tube in at the same time. It went to about 95F.

I have put 72 mHz antennas in tubes many times and passed a range check.
u2builder is offline Find More Posts by u2builder
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 06:59 PM
Registered User
rcroadtrain's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Marsfield
Joined Feb 2012
354 Posts
any plastic tube that gets hot in a microwave will absorb RF.

..however, you can use this to your advantage..

If you need to run your antenna cable past a motor or esc, then the tube can act as a shield.

even a thin coat of vaseline on a telescopic antenna at 27, 40 or 72Mhz will affect range.

makes me wonder about the heatskrink that flysky puts on its Rx antennas...
rcroadtrain is offline Find More Posts by rcroadtrain
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 07:03 PM
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Ireland, County Dublin, Dublin
Joined Feb 2005
2,638 Posts
Dang... I usually use the snakes rods from gliders to help guide the antenna wires.
IceWind is online now Find More Posts by IceWind
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-Review The video for FrSky 2.4Ghz Chase Wu Radios 0 Dec 16, 2009 01:18 AM
Discussion Realflight G5 Combat so far so good! splitpilot Simulators 0 Nov 22, 2009 06:36 AM
Discussion So far... So good rikks Mini Helis 35 Feb 17, 2006 12:42 PM
Aerofly Deluxe so far so good! Gary Morris Simulators 5 Aug 19, 2005 07:23 AM
Schulze 18.46K v7.02 - so far, so good! Jason M Electric Heli Talk 4 Aug 11, 2002 01:25 AM