HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 23, 2012, 05:34 PM
Youtube Johnbrum26
Mckinney,TX
Joined Oct 2010
1,013 Posts
OK contacted frsky, they told me a rc filter with 1k Res and
10 uf cap would work to make the rssi analog. Well it still is not working.

I'm running a d8r xp to an ezosd. Anyone have any other advise?
Killab is offline Find More Posts by Killab
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 24, 2012, 05:33 AM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
14,997 Posts
Ok, due to your complain (and others) I did the movie below for a sample how should behave RSSI when using this firmware.
In the second part of the movie, after I place radio in range check mode, and walked in other room, you should hear how beeps changes and see voltage swing.
If your receiver don't behave like this, on a voltmeter, without any filter, then is a case for replacement I think...

Frsky D8R-II XP firmware RSSI behaviour (1 min 18 sec)
renatoa is offline Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 09:53 AM
Youtube Johnbrum26
Mckinney,TX
Joined Oct 2010
1,013 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RENATOA View Post
Ok, due to your complain (and others) I did the movie below for a sample how should behave RSSI when using this firmware.
In the second part of the movie, after I place radio in range check mode, and walked in other room, you should hear how beeps changes and see voltage swing.
If your receiver don't behave like this, on a voltmeter, without any filter, then is a case for replacement I think...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IHjJ1QHV32Y
Ok thanks, Ill check this out when i get home. Sorry if it is a bother to you. I've just been beating my head searching google trying to find a solution to this, I lack a scope to see how i can get it to work properly.

Thanks again
Killab is offline Find More Posts by Killab
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 11:50 AM
Youtube Johnbrum26
Mckinney,TX
Joined Oct 2010
1,013 Posts
Ok watched the video, mine defiantly doesn't react like that. I had previously sent a message to Wayne (it think his name is) at aloft hobbies and never heard anything back from him.

So sounds like it may be defective, guess ill reach out to him again and see what i can get done. Thanks for doing that test for me.
Killab is offline Find More Posts by Killab
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 12:18 PM
Dean
A10FLYR's Avatar
USA, CO, Littleton
Joined Apr 2005
3,888 Posts
I thought I read somewhere he said to send it back? May have been someone else...
A10FLYR is online now Find More Posts by A10FLYR
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 12:46 PM
Youtube Johnbrum26
Mckinney,TX
Joined Oct 2010
1,013 Posts
Yup that wasn't me, someone maybe sugested that, but not him directly. I never recieved anything from him.
Killab is offline Find More Posts by Killab
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 03:03 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2002
302 Posts
DHT module..... where's the diode??

Folks,

I am just about to install my second DHT module.
-
My original one, bought before February 2011, had the Schottky diode soldered at the end of the yellow wire.
-
The second one that I am now eventually about to fit, purchased March 2011, has no diode at the end of the yellow lead.
-
I have peeled back part of the heatshrink of the PCB, and the yellow wire solders through to the other side....I cannot see a diode. (see picture)
-
Can I presume that the diode is on the PCB, or is it actually missing??
-
Please comment if you can, as I am about to use it for a $1200 hotliner.
-
Many Thanks, Steve
SteveM is offline Find More Posts by SteveM
Last edited by SteveM; Sep 24, 2012 at 03:05 PM. Reason: more info
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 07:18 PM
Aloft Hobbies
Rotozuk's Avatar
United States, CA, Novato
Joined Sep 2003
5,782 Posts
Sorry guys, I have no experience with OSDs, so I'm not going to be of much help on that subject.

-Wayne
Rotozuk is offline Find More Posts by Rotozuk
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: FrSky in Chicago!
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 09:48 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2009
297 Posts
Do not worry, the shottky diode was built-in the DHT PCB side already when leave our company.


Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveM View Post
Folks,

I am just about to install my second DHT module.
-
My original one, bought before February 2011, had the Schottky diode soldered at the end of the yellow wire.
-
The second one that I am now eventually about to fit, purchased March 2011, has no diode at the end of the yellow lead.
-
I have peeled back part of the heatshrink of the PCB, and the yellow wire solders through to the other side....I cannot see a diode. (see picture)
-
Can I presume that the diode is on the PCB, or is it actually missing??
-
Please comment if you can, as I am about to use it for a $1200 hotliner.
-
Many Thanks, Steve
Chase Wu is offline Find More Posts by Chase Wu
Last edited by Chase Wu; Sep 24, 2012 at 10:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 09:54 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2009
297 Posts
Hi,
It is maybe firmware problem, please contact Frsky local dealer(such as Alofhobbies) for inspection & firmware upgrading.

Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Killab View Post
Yup that wasn't me, someone maybe sugested that, but not him directly. I never recieved anything from him.
Chase Wu is offline Find More Posts by Chase Wu
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 04:12 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2002
302 Posts
Diode query.......
Many thanks.
All done and tests ok in both modes.
Have also verified that there is no interaction between this tx and 1 way receivers bound to my other tx.(and vice-versa)
-
Rgds, Steve
SteveM is offline Find More Posts by SteveM
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 11:51 AM
Registered User
France
Joined Nov 2004
41 Posts
DJT module manual revisited

Hi guys,

Some months ago, I've made an attempt to writing a manual for the DJT module.
I've sent it to FrSky offering my services and they seemed really interested by the manual but not quite by my services...
I think you can find some inspiration from my work in their last DHT-U manual.

Anyway, I've decided to share these instructions (with the FrSky agreement) and if you think they may be useful, someone can feel free to put a link in the first post.

Tchao
davx is offline Find More Posts by davx
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 12:02 PM
shredding the skies
boardman's Avatar
Wet Coast Canada
Joined May 2005
346 Posts
Frsky newbie here.
The manual for the D4R-II states "If CH3 and CH4 are connected by a jumper, CH1 will output CPPM for CH1~CH8, and CH2 will output RSSI (PWM)" But it doesn't explain how to wire up the connections now to get it working. I can't find a manual for this on the Frsky site or doing a Google search. Could someone point me to some further info on this? This same question was asked on this thread about a month or so ago but no one replied, so I realize I'm not the only confused one.
Thanks in advance.
boardman is offline Find More Posts by boardman
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 12:05 PM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
14,997 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by davx View Post
Hi guys,

Some months ago, I've made an attempt to writing a manual for the DJT module.
I've sent it to FrSky offering my services and they seemed really interested by the manual but not quite by my services...
I think you can find some inspiration from my work in their last DHT-U manual.

Anyway, I've decided to share these instructions (with the FrSky agreement) and if you think they may be useful, someone can feel free to put a link in the first post.

Tchao
Merci, DavX !
Ajouté à la section déjà existants "Alternate Manuals" dans premier post.
Cordialement

Added to first post Alternate manuals section.
renatoa is offline Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 12:08 PM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
14,997 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by boardman View Post
Frsky newbie here.
The manual for the D4R-II states "If CH3 and CH4 are connected by a jumper, CH1 will output CPPM for CH1~CH8, and CH2 will output RSSI (PWM)" But it doesn't explain how to wire up the connections now to get it working. I can't find a manual for this on the Frsky site or doing a Google search. Could someone point me to some further info on this? This same question was asked on this thread about a month or so ago but no one replied, so I realize I'm not the only confused one.
Thanks in advance.
What to mean wire connections ?
This mode is not to connect servos directly to receiver as usual !
PPM signal output on ch1 should go to your flight controller, can't be used without a proper decoder.
RSSI the same, if your OSD has such input route ch2 signal wire there, else let it unused.
renatoa is offline Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-Review The video for FrSky 2.4Ghz Chase Wu Radios 0 Dec 16, 2009 01:18 AM
Discussion Realflight G5 Combat so far so good! splitpilot Simulators 0 Nov 22, 2009 06:36 AM
Discussion So far... So good rikks Mini Helis 35 Feb 17, 2006 12:42 PM
Aerofly Deluxe so far so good! Gary Morris Simulators 5 Aug 19, 2005 07:23 AM
Schulze 18.46K v7.02 - so far, so good! Jason M Electric Heli Talk 4 Aug 11, 2002 01:25 AM