HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 16, 2010, 12:48 PM
Registered User
UK
Joined Sep 2010
3 Posts
so what size motor is that jason
wassupcrew is offline Find More Posts by wassupcrew
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 16, 2010, 04:53 PM
Micro-Heli-Concepts
jasonjetski's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Blacktown
Joined Dec 2006
4,984 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wassupcrew View Post
so what size motor is that jason
Hi,
Mine is the 5065 400kv from Hobby King.
Regards Jason
jasonjetski is offline Find More Posts by jasonjetski
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 02, 2010, 05:06 AM
Registered User
Scotland
Joined May 2004
11 Posts
power supply

Nice set up Jason,

I have just received the same motor from hobby king.
What power supply are you using to drive it?

Regards

Arthur
Flying Scot is offline Find More Posts by Flying Scot
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 02, 2010, 05:15 AM
Micro-Heli-Concepts
jasonjetski's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Blacktown
Joined Dec 2006
4,984 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flying Scot View Post
Nice set up Jason,

I have just received the same motor from hobby king.
What power supply are you using to drive it?

Regards

Arthur
Hi Arthur,
I have removed it at the moment to try and solve a horrible vibration at mid revvs.
But I was using 2 x 12v sealed lead acid batteries I have laying around here. I just wanted to keep the power supply separate from the CNC side of the machine for now.
I have since bought some nicer bearings which feel a lot more precise than the so called ABEC7 skate bearings I bought off ebay.
Regards Jason
jasonjetski is offline Find More Posts by jasonjetski
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2010, 09:45 PM
it's for sale
Glasgow, KY
Joined Sep 2010
127 Posts
That looks great! Looks like I got a winter project. What thickness can the dremel cut with out binding up?
Full Spool is offline Find More Posts by Full Spool
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2010, 05:56 AM
Registered User
michaelghammer's Avatar
Denmark
Joined Dec 2004
559 Posts
Thanks Full Spool

I have cut 3mm balsa and liteply with the Dremel. You can always do multiple passes if you need to cut like 10mm balsa.

The Dremel is a great and way to get started with CNC milling. Later on youīll probably want to shift to a more powerfull router.

BTW. my Brushless DIY spindle is still going strong with the ABEC7 skate bearings and stock Turnigy bearings. No signs of any wear. Iīm very happy with it

- Michael Hammer
michaelghammer is offline Find More Posts by michaelghammer
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2010, 12:04 PM
Team of ONE....or...Team Me
DeadTom's Avatar
Reno, Nevada
Joined Oct 2006
790 Posts
Michael,
I cannot remember if you are using Mach3 to drive your machine or not?
Anyways, my question has to do with using Mach3 to control your brushless DC spindle setup? So, do you use MACH3 to control your spindle (speed, on/off)?
thanks,
Tom
DeadTom is offline Find More Posts by DeadTom
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2010, 01:57 PM
Registered User
michaelghammer's Avatar
Denmark
Joined Dec 2004
559 Posts
Hi Tom

Iīm using Mach3 to control my machine, but not to control the spindle. I just turn the knob on the servo tester. Itīs a low tech solution but it works for me. Donīt forget my hobby is model planes, not CNC

But if you know your way around electronics it shouldnīt be a problem to turn the spindle on and off. A danish guy even showed me how he could control the revolutions/minute by entering the number in Mach3. Very nice if you want to sit in the room next door and control your CNC machine, but if youīre standing next to the machine itīs quicker to just turn the knob.

- Michael Hammer
michaelghammer is offline Find More Posts by michaelghammer
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2010, 12:03 PM
Team of ONE....or...Team Me
DeadTom's Avatar
Reno, Nevada
Joined Oct 2006
790 Posts
Thanks for the information Michael.
I need to change out my massive Sears 2.5hp variable speed router (16,000rpm to 28,000rpm) for a spindle that I can run slower than 16,000rpm. It's just too fast for alot of materials that I like to cut.
As far as turning a knob or changing a number in Mach I see your point as this is just a means of making your hobby better and not a machine shop
I do have a couple of other upgrades that I am going to add to my machine and they are 1) a controller pendant (read - Logitech gamepad) so I do not have to use my mouse as much. With one of the buttons on the gamepad I can then add a macro to use with 2) a touchplate for zeroing the z axis to the material that I am currently cutting. Nice time saving devices for me.
Tom
DeadTom is offline Find More Posts by DeadTom
Last edited by DeadTom; Nov 16, 2010 at 12:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2010, 12:13 PM
Team of ONE....or...Team Me
DeadTom's Avatar
Reno, Nevada
Joined Oct 2006
790 Posts
double post
DeadTom is offline Find More Posts by DeadTom
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2010, 12:48 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2010
1 Posts
Hi I would like to make a spindle I need to have a 1/2 in. Collet
I dont need the high RPM 24,000 to 10,000
What motor?
Mark
shaperx is offline Find More Posts by shaperx
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2010, 03:55 PM
Do it AGAIN! This time BETTER!
ThermalThief's Avatar
WA
Joined Jan 2005
476 Posts
I have finally got my machine up and running. This is not from any plans more a design worked around the parts and pieces I accumulated.

HobbyCNC EZ 305oz steppers
Ebay Rails
Acme 1/2-10 threads
Mach 3
Hitachi Variable Speed spindle
19"x33" cutting surface

This is getting fun!

Ken
ThermalThief is offline Find More Posts by ThermalThief
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2010, 08:12 PM
Registered User
Ward Hagaman's Avatar
San Diego
Joined Mar 2003
2,317 Posts
Nice! Time to break out the double sided tape and to go to town!
Ward Hagaman is online now Find More Posts by Ward Hagaman
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2011, 02:26 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, London
Joined Jun 2006
35 Posts
Hello

I plan to make such spindle but i want to find any solution to control speed via MACH3 software but i cant find any project on the web that has some electronics to control ECS from cnc board .

Has any one any idea how to make it ?
kilop is offline Find More Posts by kilop
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2011, 05:48 AM
Registered User
Denver, CO
Joined Dec 2005
6,383 Posts
Most of the ready made solutions for spindle control, are geared toward regular industrial motors, and there controllers.
Some cnc controllers have a spindle VFD output, like a Gecko 540.
Mach3 can also send out a pwm signal. Both solutions need conversion to something the RC type esc can understand. The pwm signal is not the same as an RC esc would expect.
I bet the people in the forum on do it yourself electronics, could figure out a way to convert to a proper rc type pwm signal.
A little info I found on the type of signal output.
http://www.buildlog.net/cnc_laser/mach_laser_power.html
http://www.cncathome.com/vfd.html
I'd sure be interested in building one, especially with a built in tachometer. It would take me forever with my very poor electronic design skills.
Roto Rob is online now Find More Posts by Roto Rob
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log CNC router table build hawaiianspork226 CAD/CAM 94 Jun 01, 2010 12:49 PM
Discussion CNC router 1st steps?????? imsofaman CAD/CAM 15 Jan 17, 2010 08:59 PM
Discussion Looking for CNC router services Fossil1977 The Builders Workshop 0 Nov 14, 2009 09:00 PM
Discussion DIY CNC Router Kits D.S. Dynamic Soaring 4 Oct 12, 2009 01:02 AM
Discussion CNC Router for the DIY'r GLIDERGIDER The Builders Workshop 2 Dec 01, 2008 03:49 PM