SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by Nathan Schmoekel, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Feb 22, 2011, 01:36 PM
Registered User
JonyEpsilon's Avatar
London, UK
Joined Jan 2009
581 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flylite View Post
For me it wasn't much of a learning curve, but I look at it in the way that I do generaly with this hobby, we all tinker, customise and design and build even if its basic stuff - I don't see much difference with building up and using the OpenAltimeter, you need to do some basic soldering, connect and upload a file (firmware) to the device and then its pretty much done. Granted its open source and does not have a company behind it giving out technical support but to be fair community support will be better here especialy as its a growing device that can do far much than these fantastic first steps that Jony has done, its a fantastic platform.

In its stock form, with maybe 2 lines of changes in the config file (part of the firimware) your set to go, granted its not plug n play but its very close and non should be put off from this. I would not hesitate recomending OpenAltimeter to anyone in our hobby.
Thanks for the kind words flylite!

I think Nathan has a good point though, it's not yet at a stage where I'd be happy saying it's plug-and-play (I think you're more computer savvy than most, James!). I'd like to see it get to the stage where someone who's pretty-much afraid of computers would be happy using it, but like I say I don't think it's quite there yet.

I'm working on some changes so that it can be configured through the downloader program, so that there's no need to get into arduino/reprogramming unless you want to. Then I think it will be as easy to use as any other product out there. They're not top priority at the moment though - want to get the feature set complete first.

Sorry to hijack the thread, Nathan! We should probably continue any further discussion on the OA thread.


Jony
JonyEpsilon is offline Find More Posts by JonyEpsilon
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 22, 2011, 04:21 PM
ground penetration specialist
Nathan Schmoekel's Avatar
USA, MI, Grand Rapids
Joined Apr 2007
1,819 Posts
Thanks for chiming in Jony...all threads need a good hi-jacking once in a while.

With all the community support your getting you'll have an idiot proof downloader by mid summer, then schmucks like me will be less intimidated.

I'm still following your thread with great interest and much confusion...There sure is a lot of "greek to me" on there.

I'm sure it's all like riding a bike.....looks quite imposable, but most can figure it out; some with more bruising than others. Success is more dependent on determination and willingness to try, than anything else.
Nathan Schmoekel is offline Find More Posts by Nathan Schmoekel
Last edited by Nathan Schmoekel; Feb 22, 2011 at 04:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2011, 06:43 PM
ground penetration specialist
Nathan Schmoekel's Avatar
USA, MI, Grand Rapids
Joined Apr 2007
1,819 Posts
NEW from Winged Shadow Systems...

The How High altimeter now has live feed telemetry for Spectrum DX8 and HiTec Aurora radio systems! The price has not gone up either, unless you want to count the two bucks for the data port wire

The only down side for us in handlaunch is that the "extra" sensor stations are needed (for both radio systems, I checked) which means another few grams in the nose IF you can even shoe horn all that crap in in the first place.


You will find the link in the first post
Nathan Schmoekel is offline Find More Posts by Nathan Schmoekel
Last edited by Nathan Schmoekel; Feb 23, 2011 at 06:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2011, 01:48 AM
Registered User
VasMan's Avatar
@Home
Joined Jan 2007
1,410 Posts
There are couple GPS based loggers:

GT-730F(L) from Canmore discussed here.
SkyTraceGPS from Magellan Technologies discussed here.
VasMan is offline Find More Posts by VasMan
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2011, 12:24 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2008
47 Posts
Does anyone have any software for using the RAM3 with a Mac?
2Can is offline Find More Posts by 2Can
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2011, 07:22 PM
Registered User
France
Joined May 2006
657 Posts
Dont know wich one to chose between the RAm3 and how high .
I like to see whole flight log and also like to see instant max launch height

If How high altimeter could work with Frsky telemetry i would get it .
vulpina is offline Find More Posts by vulpina
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2011, 09:06 PM
ground penetration specialist
Nathan Schmoekel's Avatar
USA, MI, Grand Rapids
Joined Apr 2007
1,819 Posts
If you get a "See How" with your How High, you can view more than the max height. You can put the how high on a switched channel (like landing gear) and when you toggle the switch it will capture the altitude for later viewing.

With a See How you can view 9 capture altitudes in addition to the max.

It's not a real time graph like a Ram3, but it is instant gratification and more information.
Nathan Schmoekel is offline Find More Posts by Nathan Schmoekel
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 02, 2011, 07:54 PM
Registered User
France
Joined May 2006
657 Posts
It sound gound with the "see how" ,dont need a laptop , i ordered one to try it
vulpina is offline Find More Posts by vulpina
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 06, 2011, 05:56 AM
Have Wings, will Fly!
dont's Avatar
Perth, WA, "The land of OZ"
Joined Jul 2004
912 Posts
"How-hi" and "See-How" work great for at the field instant height measurement.
I have them in both of my current DLG's along with a Ram3.

Ram 3 gives great tracking graphs back at home but the "How-Hi" is great for the field.

Don
dont is offline Find More Posts by dont
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 09, 2011, 05:42 PM
Registered User
France
Joined May 2006
657 Posts
See high and how tested and approved , work very well , light , easy to use ,iam happy
vulpina is offline Find More Posts by vulpina
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2011, 09:53 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2008
3 Posts
How about altimeters which make sound, like the ones paraglider pilots use. Are there any suited for dlg? The top higth is not that importent to me, but a small device making beeping noise when in raising air would be great, if it could be heard for some distance.
johanerdal is offline Find More Posts by johanerdal
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2011, 12:30 PM
ground penetration specialist
Nathan Schmoekel's Avatar
USA, MI, Grand Rapids
Joined Apr 2007
1,819 Posts
The technical name for those is "variometer". There are a bunch on the market for RC models, but you will have trouble fitting them in a DLG.

The Eagle tree system http://www.eagletreesystems.com/Sail...sailplane.html broadcasts a signal to a separate box that mounts on your transmitter.

The Aurora 9 radio from HiTec has a telemetry system that can be coupled to a new version How High to give a live altitude reading, but no audio cue is provided. Still need the HiTec telemetry box in the plane to make that work....too much bulk to fit into most DLGs.
Nathan Schmoekel is offline Find More Posts by Nathan Schmoekel
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2011, 10:37 PM
DLG addict
hayataro's Avatar
Japan, Tokyo
Joined Jan 2005
370 Posts
Laser heightmeter (rangefinder)

Hi all,
I use Nikon Laser-1000AS laser height meter. This product is for golf, but I use this to measure launch-altitude.
It's a bit difficult to catch a sailplane in sight, but measure readout is very accurate. (+-10cm)

http://www.nikon.com/news/2010/1217_laser1000as_01.htm

This have a laser distance meter and 3-axis accelerometer. Height is induced by calculating h=d*sin(angle of gradient). You must add about 1.5m to readout . (your eye-level).

My best altitude is 63.2m by Steigeisen.
hayataro is offline Find More Posts by hayataro
Last edited by hayataro; Aug 07, 2011 at 03:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2011, 01:05 AM
Registered User
Beaumont ,peoples republic of Kalifornia
Joined Jan 2004
259 Posts
Zlog is up to version 6 ,anyone get one yet ?

After a 2yr DLG layoff dusted off my long shot.
After a day of flying I couldnt get my mod 3 to down load
( turned out to just be usb conflicts from other stuff I had loaded in 2yrs )
Went to the hexpertsytems web page to check for firmware and noticed the mod6, smaller ,onboard usb and more memory(64k)

http://www.hexpertsystems.com/zlog/z6-order.html
debogus is offline Find More Posts by debogus
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2011, 05:25 PM
Registered User
theKAT's Avatar
Bloomington, IL (Hell's Cornfield)
Joined Dec 2001
1,096 Posts
I got one of the first runs of the new 6R's. It's a tight fit, but it will ride on top of my Shread 650ma battery in the nose of my Blaster 3. Seems to work as advertised so far with the exception of under-reporting the height of my launches...
theKAT is offline Find More Posts by theKAT
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Barometric altimeter giving erroneous readings Carlyle Harper Eagle Tree Systems 6 Feb 02, 2010 12:30 PM
Question Eagletree Airspeed and altimeter on Heli? AeroM'ck'y Eagle Tree Systems 4 Sep 13, 2009 09:17 PM
Sold Ram 3 altimeter shhhhh! Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 3 Aug 31, 2009 08:48 AM
Wanted Zlog Altimeter or How High Altimeter Bohh33 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 1 Feb 11, 2007 09:52 AM