HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by Nathan Schmoekel, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Sep 27, 2010, 08:09 PM
a.k.a. Bob Parks
Glendale, AZ
Joined Jun 2008
2,211 Posts
Palm Program for RAM 3

From I Can't Fly
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...0&postcount=35
bbbp is online now Find More Posts by bbbp
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 28, 2010, 02:51 AM
Registered User
RWCLOUD's Avatar
Fresno CA
Joined Jul 2006
1,738 Posts
I had( still do!) 2 problems. 1. unable to install program properly in PC.and 2. unable to download info from the RAM3 device.

I took this to a computer repair guy and he tried to use the disc. it would not install, he said the way the PC was formatted it will not allow the use of the disc, so we downloaded from website. Next we tried to down load the device. No luck. This was with an adaptor from Office Max. Next we tried one of his, same problem.

The Fix: 1. purchased new laptop!Old one is 4 years old,still works, but hey it might fail any day so OH Well it's simply time. New PC had no problem installing program. Even with Windows 7 ! 2. ordered adaptor from Randy.But he is temporarily out so must wait until he gets some and sends one to me.

So while I'm waiting, I can play with my new laptop!

NOW let me say this: Randy has been helpful. in every way that he can and has offered me several was to proceed, including refunding my money and paying all postage. He has offered to send me an adaptor for free! I mean what more can he do? He has been more than fair so I paid for the adaptor and also ordered the little battery

I really wanted to use it this weekend, but sometimes things don't work out the way we want then to. But hey I have another new toy out of the deal!

Blue Skies....................Tim
RWCLOUD is offline Find More Posts by RWCLOUD
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2010, 03:31 AM
a.k.a. Bob Parks
Glendale, AZ
Joined Jun 2008
2,211 Posts
Don't know about Win 7, but I had to go into the devices and look to see which com port the USB ports were mapped to. My HP portable does not have a 9 pin serial com, and has 4 USB ports, ID'd as com 6,7,8 & 9. Once I got that figured out. and running, it only works on a particular USB socket. I get an error code 103 or something if it is not in the correct port.

Then, I plug Randy's USB adapter (my other one I already had did not work) into the computer, & the small plug into the RAM3, press the downolad button & then plug the power into the RAM 3. and away it goes!

RE: The link above for the palm program. I have a Palm M500. I ordered a serial cable for it from Serialio.com-works on lots of palms.

Products
------------------------------------------------------
1 x Palm RS-232 Cable - Universal - U2 (C-UNI-U2) = $19.95
------------------------------------------------------
Sub-Total: $19.95
Priority Mail (Priority Mail): $6.90
Total: $26.85

The serial 9 pin plugs directly into the Palm serial cable & it downloaded first try.

Bob
bbbp is online now Find More Posts by bbbp
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2010, 07:54 AM
Leon Wubbe
wubbe's Avatar
The Netherlands, Haarlem
Joined Oct 2004
105 Posts
Palm still available?

Here, a Palm can still be puchased: http://www.aceeca.com/home/
wubbe is offline Find More Posts by wubbe
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2010, 11:51 PM
Registered User
RWCLOUD's Avatar
Fresno CA
Joined Jul 2006
1,738 Posts
Win 7 was no problem to download the disc that randy sent me. The problem was that I could not communicate with the device with the supplied cable and the adaptor that I bought would not work at all.

Yesterday I passed a computer store and decided to see what they had. These guys were smarter than my guy! They sold me a SABRENT adaptor for Vista and Win 7. Randy's is cheaper, so buy his if you can, and when you buy the device!!!!!!!!

Anyway I got home and everything downloaded smooth as silk!!! AND the thing works very well!!! I like Win7 a lot better than Windows XP

He is a great guy and if I came off a little strong I apologize to him and any one else that I may have offended

Thanks for the help....................Tim
RWCLOUD is offline Find More Posts by RWCLOUD
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2010, 01:28 PM
aku
Jeff Cheechov
aku's Avatar
United States, CA, Tustin
Joined Mar 2006
292 Posts
Rw

RW, flying gliders is way more fun than wrestling with your PC, that's for sure! Glad you got it all ironed out.
Lift,
Jeff
aku is offline Find More Posts by aku
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Stobel V2 DLG
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2010, 08:06 AM
Registered User
USA, PA, Westmoreland Co.
Joined Aug 2008
1,252 Posts
can the RAM3 be powered through the rx, or does it only work with the separate battery (for me its one more thing to forget or misplace)
jonquinn is offline Find More Posts by jonquinn
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2010, 08:28 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2006
1,435 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonquinn View Post
can the RAM3 be powered through the rx, or does it only work with the separate battery (for me its one more thing to forget or misplace)
yes, it can. comes with a cable that connects to a free rx channel.
noobee is offline Find More Posts by noobee
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2010, 03:04 AM
Glasson Master
f5mmx's Avatar
France, IdF, Breuillet
Joined Sep 2004
50 Posts
Hi
I'm surprized that noone pointed out the latest Lolo Five : http://lomcovak.cz/wp_eng/lolo5/
J'm
f5mmx is offline Find More Posts by f5mmx
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2010, 09:50 PM
ground penetration specialist
Nathan Schmoekel's Avatar
USA, MI, Grand Rapids
Joined Apr 2007
1,818 Posts
New news!!

Openaltimeter...currently in beta testing, but looks very promising! It's something of a jack of all trades, well proportioned and outfitted for DLG use.

Follow along here:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1342829



I will add it to the first post list when it is actually available
Nathan Schmoekel is offline Find More Posts by Nathan Schmoekel
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2010, 05:22 PM
ground penetration specialist
Nathan Schmoekel's Avatar
USA, MI, Grand Rapids
Joined Apr 2007
1,818 Posts
just thought I'd share an experience....

Winged Shadow Systems.....beyond awesome customer service!!

I had a second hand how high that was giving erratic readings....I sent it in and they determined that it had been plugged in backwards for a short time (my fault) and the power supply was glitchy....but not burned out completely.

The unit was replaced with a new one AND included in the package was a diode equipped lead and a spare diode for use in preventing reverse power flow to the unit in the future!!

They even clipped my "custom" (hack) power connector off of the old unit and gave it back to me....I had made a plug to run the unit off of a LiPo balance port on one cell. Because I had mentioned plugging it in like that, I was also informed that the How High unit can be safely powered by 2 LiPo cells... AND GET THIS there were a couple of plugs in my care package as well...spaced perfectly for constructing new LiPo port connectors!

UNBELIEVABLE SERVICE....all that for just the cost of shipping it to them, which was less than three bucks!!
They really know how to lay a guilt trip on a guy....now I have to buy more of their stuff!!

http://wingedshadow.com/
Nathan Schmoekel is offline Find More Posts by Nathan Schmoekel
Last edited by Nathan Schmoekel; Nov 24, 2010 at 05:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 02:57 AM
I Like Popcorn
flylite's Avatar
UK, Greater London, London
Joined Oct 2009
2,021 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan Schmoekel View Post
New news!!

Openaltimeter...currently in beta testing, but looks very promising! It's something of a jack of all trades, well proportioned and outfitted for DLG use.

Follow along here:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1342829



I will add it to the first post list when it is actually available
Jony has a site up already!

http://openaltimeter.org/
flylite is offline Find More Posts by flylite
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2011, 11:41 AM
I Like Popcorn
flylite's Avatar
UK, Greater London, London
Joined Oct 2009
2,021 Posts
Shops open

http://shop.openaltimeter.org/catalo...openaltimeter/
flylite is offline Find More Posts by flylite
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 01:28 PM
ground penetration specialist
Nathan Schmoekel's Avatar
USA, MI, Grand Rapids
Joined Apr 2007
1,818 Posts
Thanks....updated first post.

I must admit I was hoping that Open Altimeter would develop a bit further along in terms of plug n play ability...perhaps with time it will. Great concept though if you don't mind a bit of research and fiddling.
Nathan Schmoekel is offline Find More Posts by Nathan Schmoekel
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2011, 12:55 PM
I Like Popcorn
flylite's Avatar
UK, Greater London, London
Joined Oct 2009
2,021 Posts
For me it wasn't much of a learning curve, but I look at it in the way that I do generaly with this hobby, we all tinker, customise and design and build even if its basic stuff - I don't see much difference with building up and using the OpenAltimeter, you need to do some basic soldering, connect and upload a file (firmware) to the device and then its pretty much done. Granted its open source and does not have a company behind it giving out technical support but to be fair community support will be better here especialy as its a growing device that can do far much than these fantastic first steps that Jony has done, its a fantastic platform.

In its stock form, with maybe 2 lines of changes in the config file (part of the firimware) your set to go, granted its not plug n play but its very close and non should be put off from this. I would not hesitate recomending OpenAltimeter to anyone in our hobby.
flylite is offline Find More Posts by flylite
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Barometric altimeter giving erroneous readings Carlyle Harper Eagle Tree Systems 6 Feb 02, 2010 12:30 PM
Question Eagletree Airspeed and altimeter on Heli? AeroM'ck'y Eagle Tree Systems 4 Sep 13, 2009 09:17 PM
Sold Ram 3 altimeter shhhhh! Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 3 Aug 31, 2009 08:48 AM
Wanted Zlog Altimeter or How High Altimeter Bohh33 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 1 Feb 11, 2007 09:52 AM