HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 12, 2010, 06:58 PM
Oh so close!
Campbell River
Joined Jan 2010
702 Posts
Help!
How the heck am I going to mount this motor?

Hi all,

I'm in the process of putting an order for parts for a Carl Goldberg Mirage 550 and am going brushless from the brushed motor it came with. From the attached pic you can see the spiffy hi-tech way the original motor was mounted.
This is the new motor I am probably going to be ordering http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...lectric/Detail and clearly it is a lot smaller and I'm pretty sure it may be impractical to mount it the old way!
Any suggestions for a total noob at this?

Thank you in advance
clipper99 is offline Find More Posts by clipper99
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 12, 2010, 07:13 PM
Texas
Joined Jan 2005
1,433 Posts
Remove the 2 sticks the current motor is mounted to and mount directly to the firewall.
smurf is offline Find More Posts by smurf
Old Jan 12, 2010, 07:16 PM
Texas
Joined Jan 2005
1,433 Posts
You may even have to put a box infront of your firewall like what is pictured in this photo.
smurf is offline Find More Posts by smurf
Old Jan 12, 2010, 07:17 PM
Dickinson, Tx.
Joined Sep 2004
5,345 Posts
Depends on the weight difference between the 2 motors. If the new motor is heavier, then post # 2 should work, but if it is lighter you will have to extend the fire wall...

There are other mounts to use, but that is another can of worms depending on the power and size of prop...

Challenger413
Challenger 413 is offline Find More Posts by Challenger 413
Old Jan 12, 2010, 07:19 PM
Shelter Kitty "Orange Death"
United States, FL, Monroe
Joined Jan 2008
3,157 Posts
Don't know if this will match up, I'm using one in an E conversion.
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=9082

and another
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=7388
bartricky is offline Find More Posts by bartricky
Old Jan 12, 2010, 07:22 PM
RIP Ric
Marietta, GA
Joined Jun 1999
43,312 Posts