HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 08, 2012, 04:36 PM
Registered User
HouseOf4Doors's Avatar
United States, CA, Richmond
Joined Dec 2007
169 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by PatternFlyer View Post
about 15 ~ 30% depending on the weight and personal preference on Hacker outrunners
I run the Ice 100 @ 30%. It's not much braking IMO. I tried it @ 40% and it brakes much better but you get the dreaded "clunk" when you reapply power, so back to 30% I went and have left it there.

bp
HouseOf4Doors is offline Find More Posts by HouseOf4Doors
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 08, 2012, 08:08 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2003
51 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by R.A.P. View Post
I hope some one who is knowledgeable can help me with this A/C ?.........
Looks like maybe something from Fliton. They are out of business. You may have better luck asking on the pattern forum over at RCU. It would be helpful to know wingspan and length.
aerobear is offline Find More Posts by aerobear
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 09:59 PM
Registered Snoozer
Neil Morse's Avatar
San Francisco, CA, USA
Joined Jul 1999
6,140 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by R.A.P. View Post
I hope some one who is knowledgeable can help me with this A/C ? I got this as an estate liquidation It's a gorgeous plane well prepared but missing the bottom pan!
I have spent quite a bit of time looking for the Manufacture in hopes of
ordering a replacement pan but no luck.
I believe that is a Fliton Infinity 90. As has been posted, Fliton is no longer in business.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...12&postcount=1
Neil Morse is online now Find More Posts by Neil Morse
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2012, 10:05 PM
ONEHANDRC
gallfer's Avatar
United States, WI, Genoa City
Joined Dec 2007
626 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by R.A.P. View Post
I hope some one who is knowledgeable can help me with this A/C ? I got this as an estate liquidation It's a gorgeous plane well prepared but missing the bottom pan!
I have spent quite a bit of time looking for the Manufacture in hopes of
ordering a replacement pan but no luck.
Definitely a Fliton Infinity. I have one, nice flyer. the belly pan is very thin and will break easily, probably why it's gone.

Just noticed from the link, that's the one I own.
gallfer is online now Find More Posts by gallfer
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 12:46 AM
Registered User
Husafreak's Avatar
United States, CA, Livermore
Joined Oct 2004
762 Posts
Got the first 4 flights on the Osiris yesterday, what a blast! Pattern is cool again! I was working on the mixes and CG of both my 3DHS Slick 71" and the Osiris 62" and I never once had any urge to use high rates on the Osiris, it was groovy
Husafreak is offline Find More Posts by Husafreak
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 11:02 AM
Canard Driver
R.A.P.'s Avatar
san diego, ca.
Joined Nov 2002
428 Posts
3dhs62

Thanks to all for the ID on the Fliton Infinity the WS is 66".
sorry about the interuption to the thread.
Dick
R.A.P. is offline Find More Posts by R.A.P.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 11:42 AM
Registered User
Husafreak's Avatar
United States, CA, Livermore
Joined Oct 2004
762 Posts
Just tack up a block of blue foam, glass it, Spray it white, should be easy enough.
Husafreak is offline Find More Posts by Husafreak
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 03, 2012, 05:44 PM
Registered User
tho98027's Avatar
Joined Aug 2004
976 Posts
Hey fellas, I am contemplating getting a 62" Osiris. I was wondering if anyone has tried to fit the plane inside the rear cab of a four door crewcab pickup truck with the wings on. I had a 57" extra with wings and sideforce generators on which would fit in the rear seat of my tundra crewmax with ease. Just wondering if anyone has tried something similar with the 62" Osiris. This isn't a deal breaker, but I am curious to know if it's possible.
tho98027 is offline Find More Posts by tho98027
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2012, 09:26 AM
Team 3DHS / Team JR
Bivens's Avatar
United States, TN, Knoxville
Joined Apr 2010
4,511 Posts
I have a 2007 crewmax...and I think it MAY be possible....but I can't say I've tried for sure....I HAVE had it in there easily many times with wings off though.
Bivens is offline Find More Posts by Bivens
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 10:19 PM
Registered User
tho98027's Avatar
Joined Aug 2004
976 Posts
I finally purchased this bird, and I am getting very excited to get it in the air. I'm curious to see what all this pattern type flying is all about! Right now, I'm looking for a motor. I see the recommend setup is with a hacker a50-12s on 5s 5000 with a 16x10 prop. Can the hacker a50-12s handle a 16x10 on 6s 5000 lipo? I have 4x 5s 5000 packs and 4x 6s 5000 packs. I would like to be able to use both my 5s and 6s battery packs and not deal with a prop change every time I switch between 5s and 6s cell count. (I've got 8 usable batteries for this bird and I plan to take advantage of them all.) Another motor I am considering is the motrolfly 4320/500. Anyone have experience with either motor on 6s?
tho98027 is offline Find More Posts by tho98027
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 01:04 AM
Registered User
Frontenac, KS
Joined Jan 2003
320 Posts
I don't think it is a good idea going 6S on A50-12S.
With 5S & 16x10 or 15.25x12, my setup pulls somewhere around 70 amp or a little higher. Motor is rated 70amp peak. 6S will almost definitely burn the motor.

I don't have the data with me anymore. I used to have both data log, but just deleted them a few days ago. Increasing voltage, means smaller prop to prevent damage to the motor (keep the amp low & only if the motor can handle 6S even with smaller prop).

Smaller prop will not do much if you plan on flying Pattern. Whichever class you want to fly, you need to slow down & get vertical power to do the manuevers. You will lose the necessary vertical power.

Stay with 5S 5000 if you plan on going A50-12S.

I've never tried using two different voltage packs on a single setup withou changing the prop. My guess is that one pack may have too much or too little.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tho98027 View Post
I finally purchased this bird, and I am getting very excited to get it in the air. I'm curious to see what all this pattern type flying is all about! Right now, I'm looking for a motor. I see the recommend setup is with a hacker a50-12s on 5s 5000 with a 16x10 prop. Can the hacker a50-12s handle a 16x10 on 6s 5000 lipo? I have 4x 5s 5000 packs and 4x 6s 5000 packs. I would like to be able to use both my 5s and 6s battery packs and not deal with a prop change every time I switch between 5s and 6s cell count. (I've got 8 usable batteries for this bird and I plan to take advantage of them all.) Another motor I am considering is the motrolfly 4320/500. Anyone have experience with either motor on 6s?
PatternFlyer is offline Find More Posts by PatternFlyer
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 07:40 AM
Team 3DHS / Team JR
Bivens's Avatar
United States, TN, Knoxville
Joined Apr 2010
4,511 Posts
I have ran mine on the hacker on 6s. Worked well for me! In fact, if you are interested, PM me...I have a pair of the Hackers for 6s setup, new-in-box. I'd make a nice deal on one of em....or both...

I've not got too many 6s planes now and these motors are not going to be used anytime soon.

I think they are both a50 V2's....but I'll double check.
Bivens is offline Find More Posts by Bivens
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 01:08 PM
Registered User
Frontenac, KS
Joined Jan 2003
320 Posts
Bivens,
On 16x10?
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1219682
Take a look at the link above for 6S on A50-12S


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bivens View Post
I have ran mine on the hacker on 6s. Worked well for me! In fact, if you are interested, PM me...I have a pair of the Hackers for 6s setup, new-in-box. I'd make a nice deal on one of em....or both...

I've not got too many 6s planes now and these motors are not going to be used anytime soon.

I think they are both a50 V2's....but I'll double check.
PatternFlyer is offline Find More Posts by PatternFlyer
Last edited by PatternFlyer; Dec 16, 2012 at 02:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 03:09 PM
Registered User
tho98027's Avatar
Joined Aug 2004
976 Posts
Could the hacker a50-12s handle 6s on 15x10? How is the performance of the hacker a50-12s on 5s with a 15x10? I'm starting to think I should just go with a motrolfly 4320/500. Their website says it can handle both 5s and 6s with a 15-16x10 prop. I'm also looking at a MEGA 41/30/6. I know that motor can handle some abuse. Weighs the same as the motorolfly. My brother has this MEGA motor in his 72" extra running an mejzlik 18x8E prop on 6s and pulls about 120 amps! Its a beast and has held up for almost 3 years now. Has a high kv of 490. It also pulls his extra around very well on 5s packs too. I just figured I would try and keep this ship light as possible due to trying use the heavier 6s 5000mh packs. Thats why I'm considering the lighter hacker. Part of me just wants to try the motrolfly too because everyone just raves about them so much.
tho98027 is offline Find More Posts by tho98027
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 05:18 PM
Registered User
stuntflyr's Avatar
Los Angeles
Joined Jun 2010
1,404 Posts
I run my Osiris 62 on a Hacker A-50 16S with ICE 100 and a 16x12 APC on 6S. It's a monster.
Early in the thread this power was recommended for some Advanced/Masters flying I think. Same as recommended for the Miss Wind 50 Biplane.
Chris...
stuntflyr is offline Find More Posts by stuntflyr
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whoops! Totaled pattern plane lucasavaitor Fuel Plane Talk 17 Dec 29, 2009 02:19 PM
Discussion Washout for sport/pattern plane? Taktas Modeling Science 22 Dec 24, 2009 07:31 AM
For Sale pattern plane john howard Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 4 Dec 11, 2009 07:48 AM
For Sale 3DHS Asprea Pattern Plane Andrew Jesky Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 3 Feb 21, 2009 09:51 PM
Discussion Talon 62 pattern plane plans fomieforme Foamies (Scratchbuilt) 4 Feb 14, 2007 12:42 PM