Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jan 10, 2010, 05:54 PM
"Still wet behind the ears"
Southeast TEXAS "the armpit of hell"
Joined Dec 2009
39 Posts
Question
Spektrum DX6i vs DX7... WHICH TO BUY????

I'm needing some info on these TX's. I'm just getting into the hobby and looking to buy a new TX soon. I'm trying to avoid having a bunch of TX's laying around later on down the road. Plus I don't want to waste hard earned dinero on stuff I won't use.

So my question is which TX is better for a new Heli pilot? It's my understanding that in order to do 3D that I have to have at least a 6ch TX. Correct me if I'm wrong. And this in turn means a 6ch RX???

I have researched all the info at Spektrums web site and others trying to compare the two. But what I'm really looking for is some "hands on" advice.

At this point I'm not sure if I will advance to doing hard core 3D anytime soon. I know that the DX7 is faster in communicating with the RX and has more model memory. I don't see how I could ever need more than the 10 model memory offered with the 6... that many birds may result in a divorce lawyer!!!

Thanks for any info ya'll can give.

Kick
KicknHeli is offline Find More Posts by KicknHeli
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 10, 2010, 07:21 PM
59 years of RC flying
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Feb 2006
16,001 Posts
1. Yes you absolutely need 6 channels in both Tx and Rx for CP helis (there are some 5 channel solutions but they are irrelevant in the longer term). We're not talking 3D here, just regular flying.

2. Either transmitter will do everything you need for the first year or two. You might seriously consider the DX6i as a starter transmitter and as your spare for when you get a DX7. We're not talking "a bunch of transmitters", just two.

3. The DX7 has more programming flexibility and is a more solid transmitter but is significantly more expensive. It's where you'll want to go eventually.