Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 03, 2012, 02:02 AM
Alex Hoekstra's Avatar
Hurdegaryp Netherlands
Joined Feb 2007
384 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone View Post
I need to replace a servo in the wing Of my T2, whats the best way to do this? Top window, bottom, or leading edge. On my Stobels leading egde worked great, looks like it's glued to both skins.
Donnie
Servo of the T2 is placed behind the main spar so leadingedge won't work.
A hadge through the bottom is probably the best.
Alex Hoekstra is offline Find More Posts by Alex Hoekstra
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 05, 2012, 05:30 PM
Registered User
JonyEpsilon's Avatar
London, UK
Joined Jan 2009
581 Posts
I ended up cutting a hatch top and bottom to replace a servo in mine. I was unable to get the RDS coupler to come loosed from the servo shaft, so kept the top part of the old servo, with the body of the new one. I wasn't able to manipulate the servo out while attached to the RDS shaft with only a single hatch. Worked well in the end, and the wing repair came out ok, but not perfect.


Jony


Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone View Post
I need to replace a servo in the wing Of my T2, whats the best way to do this? Top window, bottom, or leading edge. On my Stobels leading egde worked great, looks like it's glued to both skins.
Donnie
JonyEpsilon is offline Find More Posts by JonyEpsilon
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 08, 2012, 11:21 PM
Team ATX Pilot
dbone's Avatar
Phx. Az.
Joined Nov 2004
1,311 Posts
thanks guys I got the servo out through the bottom only. Now Alex do I have to use the metal gear servo or will the SCD work? which one did you install"stock"?
Donnie
dbone is online now Find More Posts by dbone
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 09, 2012, 01:54 AM
Alex Hoekstra's Avatar
Hurdegaryp Netherlands
Joined Feb 2007
384 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone View Post
thanks guys i got the servo out through the bottom only. Now alex do i have to use the metal gear servo or will the scd work? Which one did you install"stock"?
Donnie
amd
Alex Hoekstra is offline Find More Posts by Alex Hoekstra
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 04:59 PM
Registered User
robert14's Avatar
Emmen, Netherlands
Joined Aug 2008
305 Posts
Had a breakdown on one of my RDS servo's.. Sometimes when I had full flaps down one aileron didn't come up again. But lately the problems got worse. Even when steering normal this occured as seen in this video:

Twister II RDS Problem.. (0 min 38 sec)


I took the servo out of the wing. The casing was cracked at the point where there is a little steel wire to hold the servogears in place. Because I'm leaving to france wednesday and I didn't have a replacement servo on stock I decided to repair the servo.

I glued the case back together with CA, after that put dyneema wire (non strech fishing wire) around it and secured it with ca. Damn, it even worked. glued the servo back in and everything is back to normal for now. At least I can use it as a backup plane for the next eurotour contest in france







robert14 is offline Find More Posts by robert14
Last edited by robert14; Jun 22, 2012 at 03:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 05:07 PM
Team Hong Kong F3K
ThomasLee's Avatar
Hong Kong
Joined Sep 2010
2,991 Posts
Good job on the repair! If it can be repaired, no need to replace! Good luck in France.
ThomasLee is online now Find More Posts by ThomasLee
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Neos Layups
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 03:36 PM
Registered User
robert14's Avatar
Emmen, Netherlands
Joined Aug 2008
305 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomasLee View Post
Good job on the repair! If it can be repaired, no need to replace! Good luck in France.
Thanks,, I'm already happy the rds is working again. Good luck in france? Won't need it, I'll end low in the rankings anyway
robert14 is offline Find More Posts by robert14
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 04:36 PM
Registered User
Watervliet, Mich.
Joined Sep 2003
1,438 Posts
hi guys,
i'm just getting started building one of these.
i seen this in the instruction on Atlanta Hobbies website.
it says;

the fin has a asymmetric airfoil, and needs to be mounted 0.6 degrees out of line
(for right handed flyers nose to the right)

what does this mean to do, or how do i mount it then ?

thx,
dave
dhauch is offline Find More Posts by dhauch
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 04:57 PM
Bob W
Rock Hill, SC
Joined Jul 2003
921 Posts
Hey Dave,
Ref attached picture of jig. Looking from the top of the fin/boom it's installed at an angle to the boom center. For a RH thrower the leading edge will be favoring the right wing. For LH thrower the opposite applies. Its very slight but purposeful.
Bob
tigroot is offline Find More Posts by tigroot
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 05:25 PM
Registered User
Watervliet, Mich.
Joined Sep 2003
1,438 Posts
hey, thx bob.
that makes sense now, because of the airfoil the LE will be off to the one side a tad.
but the fin is still straight, correct ?

pics are always a bonus. i appreciate you taking the time.

dave
dhauch is offline Find More Posts by dhauch
Last edited by dhauch; May 27, 2012 at 05:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2012, 10:10 PM
Bob W
Rock Hill, SC
Joined Jul 2003
921 Posts
Correct. Hinge line square w/boom, fin perpendicular.
Bob
tigroot is offline Find More Posts by tigroot
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools