HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 07, 2010, 09:10 PM
Mums the word.
man2000me's Avatar
St.Augustine, FL
Joined Sep 2009
2,061 Posts
Discussion
Go Pro HD HERO FPV

No I haven't got one...yet. Can this replace our cameras we are using now. I think I read somewhere that the final firmware release will include video out while recording, so I guess the fireware is updateable... So this must mean it has video out already. I know we can't transmit HD but the quality on the ground would be damn good and it would also be an on board hd recorder. I'd love to hear what your opinion's are.

FPV with dual Cameras, Go Pro HD (3 min 15 sec)


http://www.goprocamera.com/index.php...2&productid=33
man2000me is offline Find More Posts by man2000me
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 07, 2010, 09:12 PM
my karma ranover my dogma
galaxiex's Avatar
Edmonton,Canada Eh
Joined Jun 2007
7,572 Posts
I'm waiting until they *actually* release the firmware upgrade for video out while recording....

Even though it has supposedly been promised/confirmed by company reps... as far as I am concerned it's just "vaporware" right now.....
galaxiex is offline Find More Posts by galaxiex
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2010, 09:24 PM
Mums the word.
man2000me's Avatar
St.Augustine, FL
Joined Sep 2009
2,061 Posts
Its pretty heavy at 94 grams. But for HD and on board recording i'm sure it would be worth it. As I'm sure things will get lighter and better, but this would be the best for now I guess. Found another video with low light and kx 191 compare.

FPV from new location dual camera setup (9 min 4 sec)
man2000me is offline Find More Posts by man2000me
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2010, 09:25 PM
Registered User
Kmart's Avatar
United States, CO, Boulder
Joined Sep 2008
7,433 Posts
Maybe stack the cameras, so the angle is the same? Video looks great though!
Kmart is offline Find More Posts by Kmart
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2010, 09:28 PM
Mums the word.
man2000me's Avatar
St.Augustine, FL
Joined Sep 2009
2,061 Posts
I'm thinking just use the heroHD video out to the TX. Then you would not need two cameras. Wonder if it would affect the gps etc...
man2000me is offline Find More Posts by man2000me
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2010, 09:55 PM
vau
Registered User
UK
Joined Jan 2007
252 Posts
How much does it weigh with the battery taken out? The 94g figure includes an 1100mah lipo.
vau is offline Find More Posts by vau
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2010, 09:58 PM
Mums the word.
man2000me's Avatar
St.Augustine, FL
Joined Sep 2009
2,061 Posts
Not to much. Its an 1100mah 3.7 hardcased lipo. Looks something like the a cellphone battery.
man2000me is offline Find More Posts by man2000me
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2010, 11:46 PM
vau
Registered User
UK
Joined Jan 2007
252 Posts
OK, so perhaps around 70g if you removed the battery. Maybe a little less.
vau is offline Find More Posts by vau
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2010, 11:50 PM
Mums the word.
man2000me's Avatar
St.Augustine, FL
Joined Sep 2009
2,061 Posts
i still think its worth the wieght. you could take the case off probably.
man2000me is offline Find More Posts by man2000me
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 08, 2010, 12:46 AM
Registered User
USA
Joined Feb 2008
209 Posts
I spoke with GoPro on the phone yesterday. Regarding the firmware with simultaneous HD recording and TV out, I was told they are aware of the desire and are working on it. I wasn't given a release date but I got the impression they are serious and plan to have something sooner rather then later. I'm loving this camera. I'm using one on my Cularis and the thing I really like is the wide field of view - 170 degrees. Some folks here have said they don't like the barrel distortion you get from that but I find it's a small trade off for the increased peripheral vision coming out of it that I hope to also see when I go FPV again. I don't know if the TV out will be the same FOV though at 4:3, but I'd expect not.

Here's a basic review of the camera I did when I first got it
http://vimeo.com/7996230


Also here's a thread over at the AP forum on a custom design by Power using the Hero: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1163405

Cool video from above design: http://whispershots.smugmug.com/Aeri...9_8xXCM/Medium
Capt'n Chris is offline Find More Posts by Capt'n Chris
Last edited by Capt'n Chris; Jan 08, 2010 at 01:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 08, 2010, 01:29 AM
Mums the word.
man2000me's Avatar
St.Augustine, FL
Joined Sep 2009
2,061 Posts
Can you fly using the camera FPV without recording?
man2000me is offline Find More Posts by man2000me
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 08, 2010, 01:54 AM
Registered User
USA
Joined Feb 2008
209 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by man2000me View Post
Can you fly using the camera FPV without recording?
I don't think so, but to be honest I don't know as I haven't tried it... But I don't think it puts out an a/v signal to the port unless it's playing back stored video.
Capt'n Chris is offline Find More Posts by Capt'n Chris
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 08, 2010, 02:06 AM
Mums the word.
man2000me's Avatar
St.Augustine, FL
Joined Sep 2009
2,061 Posts
in the manual it showed a tv out... i wasn't sure if it was a live out.
man2000me is offline Find More Posts by man2000me
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 08, 2010, 04:17 AM
Registered User
Pheonixflyer's Avatar
Near Byron Bay Australia
Joined Jul 2008
131 Posts
There are already other threads about the GoPro and according to Sys-Ak Composite out is already available by tricking the cam into outputting with the following procedure.. I havn't tried it out yet as I'm waiting for my gopro to arrive.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sys-Ak View Post
I have allready get that !LIVE! composit video out
It's a little tricky but you can clearly see that this feature is right there.
All you have to do is:
-Turn on the camera
-Make a short record
-Plug in the tv-out cable, of course it will start the playback of the last record
-Wait till the end of that playback
-Plug in the USB cable
-Enjoy the view
-After this, you can disconnect the USB

That's it. First time my computer didn't recognise the camera, but later it does, so I have to disable it's driver. Anyway, my card reader was mutch faster...

I think that there's a mechanical detection in the plug itself, and a state machine monitors it. If it detect the "plugging" it starts the playback mode, and if it detect the USB connection, it switches to USB mode. Since the USB didn't want to work (for some reason ) the state machine resets and didn't check if the tv-out cable is attached allready.
If my theory is correct, then all we need is a little mod of that plug, but someone have to open the camera housing to confirm this.
I ordered the camera for a friend, who didn't want this feature, so I didn't want to strip down hes brand new toy.
Pheonixflyer is offline Find More Posts by Pheonixflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 08, 2010, 09:34 AM
Mums the word.
man2000me's Avatar
St.Augustine, FL
Joined Sep 2009
2,061 Posts
Can anyone confirm this? -Capt- got a mission for ya. I guess you can't recorded at the same time for right now.
man2000me is offline Find More Posts by man2000me
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Go pro hd singlin Electric Sailplanes 4 Dec 11, 2009 01:33 AM
Discussion HD camera shootout. Aiptek GO HD versus the older Aiptek 720p randall1959 Aerial Photography 10 Nov 15, 2009 05:26 PM
For Sale Aiptek Go-HD w/2 batteries, cables, remote - great for FPV/ aerial video $100 shipped arkcom Non R/C Items (FS/W) 17 Sep 29, 2009 08:19 AM
Cool GoPro HD Hero Wide - 6.3 oz HD video camera nemo_uk Aerial Photography 5 Sep 27, 2009 10:40 AM
New Product GoPro HD Hero Wide - High Def Helmet Cam Canadian Geek Aerial Photography 7 Aug 01, 2009 01:27 PM