HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 06, 2010, 09:09 PM
Registered User
earlwb's Avatar
USA, TX, Grapevine
Joined Dec 2008
11,822 Posts
Discussion
Getting a Compaq HP DL580 Proliant Server Power Supply to Work

I got it to work and details are posted down in messge number 11.

I recently bought couple of these power supplies and it turned out they were different than what I expected. So I am trying to figure out how they would work stand alone. I haven't got them going yet. If anyone has any ideas or hints as to what is needed to get it to fire up, please let us know.
These are to be used as a 800w 55ampere 12v power supply for my LiPo chargers.
Thanks







earlwb is online now Find More Posts by earlwb
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by earlwb; Jan 07, 2010 at 07:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 06, 2010, 09:11 PM
Registered User
earlwb's Avatar
USA, TX, Grapevine
Joined Dec 2008
11,822 Posts






earlwb is online now Find More Posts by earlwb
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My Low Wing plane
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2010, 09:13 PM
Registered User
earlwb's Avatar
USA, TX, Grapevine
Joined Dec 2008
11,822 Posts
So far in my studies of the power supply, the wide spaced prongs on the left side appear to be the AC mains power input.
Plugging in the AC power wires carefully on those pins did not result in any explosions, but nothing happened so far. The four prongs right next to it all measure zero ohms when I connect a ohmmeter to the chassis and each prong.
earlwb is online now Find More Posts by earlwb
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by earlwb; Jan 07, 2010 at 05:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2010, 09:19 PM
Registered User
earlwb's Avatar
USA, TX, Grapevine
Joined Dec 2008
11,822 Posts
I had referenced these power supplies in a different thread located here: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1005309 where JJ604 showed how to get a different power supply to work.

If anybody is interested in the power supply mentioned in this thread there are here www.trademoon.com business has around 100 of the DL580 HP Proliant 800w power supplies in stock. These are the refurbished ones.
http://www.trademoon.com/Product58670.aspx
They want $10 US for each one with around $17.00 UPS ground shipping CONUS.
earlwb is online now Find More Posts by earlwb
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by earlwb; Jan 06, 2010 at 09:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2010, 09:21 PM
Southern Pride
everydayflyer's Avatar
Haralson County GA. USA
Joined Oct 2004
34,361 Posts
As you have started a thread for these perhaps my limited data my help. See post here

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...4#post13998054

I believe that AC should be Blk. White ,Green as #3 (third from left)is earth(case) ground .

Charles
everydayflyer is offline Find More Posts by everydayflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2010, 09:30 PM
kit
Registered User
USA
Joined Oct 2001
695 Posts
earl,
You may want to remove those links for the backplanes as they are obviously NOT for the $10 power supplies that are the subject of this thread. They have different sockets on them than what the supplies in this thread have.
kit is offline Find More Posts by kit
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2010, 09:36 PM
Registered User
earlwb's Avatar
USA, TX, Grapevine
Joined Dec 2008
11,822 Posts
Good point, thanks.
earlwb is online now Find More Posts by earlwb
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My Low Wing plane
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2010, 09:38 PM
Registered User
earlwb's Avatar
USA, TX, Grapevine
Joined Dec 2008
11,822 Posts
everydayflyer numbered the pins from his message and pics here:

Control pins left to right , top to bottom
1-6
7-12
13-18
19-24

top row 4,5 ground
second row 10,12 ground
third row 15,17,18 ground
fourth row (bottom) 20 ground

Charles


earlwb is online now Find More Posts by earlwb
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My Low Wing plane
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2010, 10:13 PM
Registered User
earlwb's Avatar
USA, TX, Grapevine
Joined Dec 2008
11,822 Posts
Yes you are correct everydayflyer.
I wired it up like you stated, and low and behold! The green LED is blinking on and off.
I assume Green would mean good, the other LED below it is probably the red error LED.
So now there is only to figure out how to get it out of standby mode.



earlwb is online now Find More Posts by earlwb
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My Low Wing plane
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2010, 10:18 PM
kit
Registered User
USA
Joined Oct 2001
695 Posts
Fix the pic in post #3
kit is offline Find More Posts by kit
Last edited by kit; Jan 07, 2010 at 09:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2010, 06:59 AM
Registered User
earlwb's Avatar
USA, TX, Grapevine
Joined Dec 2008
11,822 Posts
I fixed the picture kit, thanks.

OK I GOT IT TO WORK!!! YAY!

I had to sleep on it. Then I started remembering things from back when these were the state of the art in servers, etc. The recessed pin is the common denominator in the Compaq power supplies back then. Generally the pin adjacent to the enable pin is the power on/off pin. The other pins are for status signals and indicators.

If you look at the little pins in between the big prongs. You will see a recessed pin, that is shorter than the others. This is the enable pin, it needs to be grounded. Now the next pin just to the right of it is the power on/off pin. Grounding the power on/on pin turns the power suppy on (the green LED will stay on and not blink). When the power supply first comes on, the fan will come on fast and then after a few seconds slow down to half speed (which is still a bit noisy though).

Referencing this pic from everydayflyer and the large pins as numbered in the pic below.

CAUTION- the three wires have 115vAC on them, you need to exercise extreme care.

1 - black AC power (note I only tested this with 115vAC power from the mains)
2 - White AC power
3 - Green AC power ground/common
4 - Ground
5 - Ground
6 - Ground
7 - Ground
- (the -12v is on one of the little pins in the middle)
8 - 5.0 volts
9 - 12 volts
10-12 volts
11-12 volts
12- 3.3 volts
13- 3.3 volts

The little pins in the middle
The short recessed pin lower right corner is the enable pin
The pin immediately to the left of the recessed pin is the power on/off pin
If we number the recessed pin as 1 and the power on/off pin as 2, the fifth pin down the line is ground pin.

So you can wire a small on/off switch to pin 2 to ground and that will let you turn it on and off.
Pin one is grounded to enable the power supply to turn on.



earlwb is online now Find More Posts by earlwb
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by earlwb; Jan 20, 2010 at 06:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2010, 08:23 AM
kit
Registered User
USA
Joined Oct 2001
695 Posts
So these 3 pins with the red arrows are the ones you're talking about?

kit is offline Find More Posts by kit
Last edited by kit; Jan 07, 2010 at 12:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2010, 08:46 AM
Southern Pride
everydayflyer's Avatar
Haralson County GA. USA
Joined Oct 2004
34,361 Posts
Hp Server Power Supply 800watts. 12V at 55Amps

Congratulations earlwb you beat me to it. Mine has been running for about an hour with a measly 5.5A load on it while I have been checking it out and updating drawing.


Added 30 and 40 amp. load test.




Charles
everydayflyer is offline Find More Posts by everydayflyer
Last edited by everydayflyer; Jan 29, 2010 at 06:05 AM. Reason: added load graph Added grounding info
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2010, 11:10 AM
Registered User
earlwb's Avatar
USA, TX, Grapevine
Joined Dec 2008
11,822 Posts
Yes that is correct, those are the three pins. The first lower right corner pin is shorter than the other pins.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kit View Post
So these 3 pins with the red arrows are the ones you're talking about?

earlwb is online now Find More Posts by earlwb
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My Low Wing plane
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2010, 11:22 AM
Registered User
So. Cal.
Joined Oct 2004
7,446 Posts
Nice work guys.

Would be curious to know what kind of voltage (at output terminals) these hold at say, a ~50 amp load?

I imagine that Charles is diligently putting his through the paces...

Mark
mrforsyth is online now Find More Posts by mrforsyth
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Any info on Compaq ESP108 as a Power Supply jj604 DIY Electronics 22 Apr 17, 2012 05:00 PM
Pin out for Compaq PS4060 power supply? cwdance1 Batteries and Chargers 5 Oct 13, 2011 07:55 PM
Question Got a 12VDC 13A OP Server Power Supply, but only 5VDC OP? LexTalionis Batteries and Chargers 4 Aug 17, 2004 08:48 PM
F/S Compaq Proliant 800 Server--CLOSED bankitguy Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Dec 08, 2002 08:43 PM