SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jan 03, 2010, 09:43 PM
Joined Dec 2009
6 Posts
Discussion
Finish and Power for Dumas 1930 Chris Craft

Hello,

I am new to boats but have experience with RC cars and Micro Airplanes. About 5 months ago I started a kit my Dad gave me about 15 years ago. He had purchased it but never had the chance to build it before he passed away.

The kit is 1930 24' Chris-Craft Runabout Kit #1230. I have searched the forums and tried to research what kind of powertrain to put into this boat. I think that I know that the Dumas motors are old tech, and am looking for something with a little more punch. I have been running brushless motors in my RC cars and am looking to add as much performance to this boat as it will take. I am asking for some advice from some of the more experienced member of this forum.

My second question has to do with the finishing of the mahogany on this boat. I am mostly done with attaching the wood and have been researching the proper finish. I read the thread on fiber-glassing and have ordered the epoxy and the cloth. I have purchased a "red mahogany" stain (Minwax) but the test I did on scraps looked very dark and did not show the grain of the wood well. What stain is proper for this kit? Also I have been researching pictures of real Chris Crafts and it looks like they are usually two tone. Usually dark on the bottom and on the center strip on the bow and a lighter tone on the deck. What would be the color to use on these?

Thirdly what type of paint is used on the bottom. I have some Gel Coat I bought when I built a fiberglass car frame. Would this work for the bottom paint?

Thank you in advance for any help you can provide.
Mr. Kitty is offline Find More Posts by Mr. Kitty
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 04, 2010, 03:15 PM
Joined Dec 2009
1,748 Posts