SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Dec 26, 2009, 09:36 PM
Joined Jul 2009
2 Posts
Discussion
4 CH Catalina Radio Remote Control Electric Twin Power RC Sea Plane

Well lets start it off like this. im new to the RC Aviation world, and would really like to buy this plane, http://www.nitroplanes.com/new204chkara.html ,but i dont know if i should buy the standard version with the normal battery and brush motor for $70.00, or the upgraded version with a lipo battery and brushless motor for 140.00, but it has no charger and ac adapter. I want ur opinions on it, and which one i should buy, and if possible if you guys can find me everything i need to get this plane up and running.

this is the standard version plane:

http://www.nitroplanes.com/new204chkara.html

Upgraded version of the plane:

http://www.nitroplanes.com/4chcawdubrpo.html
butrflyblade is offline Find More Posts by butrflyblade
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 26, 2009, 10:08 PM
Go fast, pull up.
United States, NY, Clarence Center
Joined Nov 2008
1,693 Posts
Just my two cents, and I'm sure there will be other opinions...BUT

If you're new, that probably means you 1.) don't have a lipo charger and 2.) you don't know how to use/maintain/store lipo batteries. NOTE: They are not safe if you don't know what you're doing. If you over charge, they catch fire. If you discharge to much, they die and get VERY hot.

I don't mean this to scare you away from lipos, as they are truly the best power/weight option. But it's not something you should START the hobby with.

Also, why this plane? It's twin engine, which will make it harder to control. If I were you, I'd start with a high wing trainer that's less than $100 bucks and will give you a flavor for flying before you decide if you want to jump in with both feet and go brushless/nitro/gas/etc.