HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by feathermerchant, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Jan 24, 2013, 03:33 PM
Rotor Head
backburner1955's Avatar
United States, CA, Fresno
Joined Jun 2010
11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by feathermerchant View Post
I do not have any links but I think heat shrink tubing is available in large diameters. Maybe it is some kind of vinyl wrap. Anyone know?
You can search for lay flat PVC Heat Shrink on Ebay. I have purchased 5", 6" and 8" in Black and Clear. 8" is the size that will go around both power supplies. 5" will go around 1 power supply to isolate it, then 8" around both.

Prices are about $10 to $12 for 6ft shipped free from China.
backburner1955 is offline Find More Posts by backburner1955
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 24, 2013, 03:39 PM
Rotor Head
backburner1955's Avatar
United States, CA, Fresno
Joined Jun 2010
11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by feathermerchant View Post
Here's what I did. Isolate the screws, and then scrape the green off the etch to expose the copper and add the jumper. The jumper is 24ga solid copper.
I sold one 24V setup with one power supply isolated this way. It is just too much work considering how many 47A 24V setups I sell.
So, which screws did you isolate?
backburner1955 is offline Find More Posts by backburner1955
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 04:16 PM
Rotor Head
backburner1955's Avatar
United States, CA, Fresno
Joined Jun 2010
11 Posts
Here is my current case setup.







backburner1955 is offline Find More Posts by backburner1955
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 04:56 AM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,341 Posts
That setup is impressive, backburner....

On the 42A I can't remember. I thought I posted pictures of that too. I think it was both mounting screws on the DC output end. I think you need washers above and below the circuit board.
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 11:17 AM
Registered User
dpelletier's Avatar
USA, MA, Maynard
Joined Jul 2010
111 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by backburner1955 View Post
Here is my current case setup.



Wow! What do you plug that into, a nuclear power plant?!?
dpelletier is offline Find More Posts by dpelletier
Last edited by dpelletier; Jan 25, 2013 at 03:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 11:40 AM
Registered User
United States, MN
Joined Feb 2011
4,352 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by feathermerchant View Post
That setup is impressive, backburner....

On the 42A I can't remember. I thought I posted pictures of that too. I think it was both mounting screws on the DC output end. I think you need washers above and below the circuit board.
It is both screws, 99% sure I only put them on the bottom. On the top I think they just rest on the plastic of the connector. Here's the post with your photos on how to mod:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=431
grimbeaver is offline Find More Posts by grimbeaver
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 02:07 PM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,341 Posts
Thanks beaver.

(I always wanted to say that)
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 11:42 PM
Registered User
livinma1's Avatar
United States, GA, Lawrenceville
Joined Jun 2003
7,565 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by backburner1955 View Post
Here is my current case setup.
Nice buddy.. Which case is that ? I had a pelican 1450 and thought it was too small for what I wanted to do.
livinma1 is offline Find More Posts by livinma1
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2013, 07:17 PM
Registered User
United States, TX, Pearland
Joined Nov 2008
116 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotdog1 View Post
just got mine in super fast

Quick question how would i add a on/ off switch to this ? install between the two solder points on the small pins?

So do I need to jump the small pins like in this pic so the power supply will give output. I have 2 power supplies that I plan on using separately at 12v but after soldering as per pictures in page 1 of the thread I get no output from either 1.
The fan comes on on both after plugging in power cord but not output. After seeing this picture maybe that's what I'm missing so they actually put out power.
aceinthesky is online now Find More Posts by aceinthesky
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2013, 09:25 PM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,341 Posts
That jumper causes the fan to spin up to full speed and the 12V output to become active.
Do you have a link to the picture?
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2013, 12:40 PM
Seth adams
Western kentucky
Joined Oct 2009
1 Posts
A quick question

First I have to say, if you get to this site but still on the fence to order or not, DO IT, absolutly great service, & fast shipping!

Now on to the question, I got my 12v/42a PS today, and at the risk of sounding stupid. I can see where to put the + & - connections into the power supply, but what type of connector is that coming out ? What do I need on my chargers power leads to plug into the power supply?

I guess I didn't realize there was no +&- wires coming out, I'm afraid gator clips would be open and also prolly touch and short!

Thx for any said help! ,
Seth
Seth1846 is offline Find More Posts by Seth1846
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2013, 04:46 PM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,341 Posts
I have used alligator clips before. Be careful. I use tinned flattened wire pushed into the connector and soldered. It's here in my blog somewhere.
You can also wedge a 4mm female bullet connector between the terminals and solder them in. There are pics of that here too.
Some use heavy duty male automotive spade connectors.
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 10:51 AM
Registered User
United States, MN
Joined Feb 2011
4,352 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by feathermerchant View Post
Some use heavy duty male automotive spade connectors.
I just went to my local Menards and got some spade crimp (I soldered) connectors. The yellow ones that were rated 10-12 awg size.

I have also soldered them when setting up 24v setup. I used a lot of flux, but tinning and flattening as he said probably works well too.
grimbeaver is offline Find More Posts by grimbeaver
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 12:30 PM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,341 Posts
Do you have any pics? Did you solder them to the supply or just plug them in?
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 12:35 PM
Registered User
United States, MN
Joined Feb 2011
4,352 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by feathermerchant View Post
Do you have any pics? Did you solder them to the supply or just plug them in?
I would have to take some picks. To clarify I soldered the spade on the wire instead of crimping it. I did not solder the spade to the supply.

On a DPS-500CB 24v setup to link the two together I drilled holes in the top of the plastic connector, spread the blades apart on the connector and pushed a 12 awg wire through the hole. Then squeezed the blades together, applied some liquid flux and flowed a good amount of solder on.
grimbeaver is offline Find More Posts by grimbeaver
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale Used PC Power supplies converted for 12V DC chargers ddierking Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 3 Jan 13, 2010 08:14 AM
Sold ***POWERFUL*** 12V 30 Amps Power Supply SLIM & LIGHT mjbennett9 Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 3 Dec 07, 2009 11:39 AM
For Sale 12V Power supplies 30A $40 and 42A $50 for your chargers feathermerchant Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 1 Sep 03, 2009 08:07 PM
Discussion 2x 12v chargers in series with a 24v Power Supply? cmacclel Batteries and Chargers 3 Jan 21, 2008 01:39 PM
Can I put two 12v bench power supplies in series = 24v? rakm Batteries and Chargers 7 Nov 24, 2003 11:15 PM