HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by feathermerchant, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Oct 22, 2010, 01:39 PM
Registered User
speedys4's Avatar
Oregon
Joined Jan 2009
31 Posts
I wonder if you can do this with iota brand power supply (connecting 2 in series to get 24v).
speedys4 is offline Find More Posts by speedys4
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 22, 2010, 03:58 PM
Registered User
Seattle
Joined Sep 2007
2,014 Posts
One thing that is very cool about the supplies from FeatherMerchant is that have active power factor correction. At least the 47a supplies do, I haven't tested the others. If your are running the supply off a generator, that will alow to get away with a smaller generator. Or multiple supplies off the same generator.

I don't believe the Iotas have APFC. Some models of Meanwells do, but they are significantly more expensive than FM supplies.
Gregor99 is offline Find More Posts by Gregor99
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Dual Powerlab Case Project
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 01, 2010, 05:44 PM
Team $CRILLA_VILLA
bajajrider's Avatar
sacramento, california
Joined Oct 2006
284 Posts
i need another power supply...ive had the 42amp from feathermerchant for over a year...thing just quit on me at the field a couple weeks ago....ive been pushing it as far as my hyperion duo will let it on 2 6s5000 packs,usually 6-6.5amps per battery...started using a cheapo 2stroke generator from harbor freight 3 months ago ..do you guys think i killed it from the generator? or from over loading the supply?

thanks, matt
bajajrider is offline Find More Posts by bajajrider
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 01, 2010, 05:58 PM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,318 Posts
If I may - I have used my clamp on meter to read amps from my 12V supply to my Hyperion Duo and read 26A when charging two 6S 5000 packs full out which is about 6.5A

If that's all you're doing it should not b a problem as far as load. Now the generator may be a different matter. The supply is rated for 120/240V operation so I doubt it is over voltage but if the output votage of the generator changes a lot it would cause the power supply to have to work to regulate the output. I don't know if that would affect its life or not.
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 01, 2010, 06:09 PM
Team $CRILLA_VILLA
bajajrider's Avatar
sacramento, california
Joined Oct 2006
284 Posts
think it was the genny, it'll load up quite a bit when trying to get max out of the charger...watching the charger v.input it goes from 10.8-12v...genny is only rated at 800w-900w max....it'll run at constant 12v with smaller packs at 1c charge rate all day.
bajajrider is offline Find More Posts by bajajrider
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 01, 2010, 06:23 PM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,318 Posts
Yikes. I wonder what te input Voltage was doing?
There is a fuse inside the case near the 120V input. You can pull it and test it.
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 01, 2010, 07:10 PM
Team $CRILLA_VILLA
bajajrider's Avatar
sacramento, california
Joined Oct 2006
284 Posts
thanks! i'll check that out....if its still dead i'll get a couple more from you.
bajajrider is offline Find More Posts by bajajrider
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 01, 2010, 10:31 PM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,318 Posts
K...
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2010, 12:04 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2009
2 Posts
Adjustable?

Are these supplies adjustable for output voltage? It would be nice to be able to crank one up to 13.8 or 14.2v for Ham Radio equipment, and to float across a large gel-cell. This setup would be ideal for emergency backup power for my station.
paynej1 is offline Find More Posts by paynej1
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2010, 04:58 PM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,318 Posts
Nope. In fact some of the output components are only raeted for 15V. These were built with one thing in mind and that is running a file server at 12V.
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2010, 07:07 PM
Registered User
Seattle
Joined Sep 2007
2,014 Posts
Interestingly I find the 47a versions increase output voltage to 13v under moderate load (25 amps).
Gregor99 is offline Find More Posts by Gregor99
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Dual Powerlab Case Project
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2010, 02:28 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2004
1 Posts
i just sent you an email.
do you have a 47A available?
senya,wilbur is offline Find More Posts by senya,wilbur
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2010, 06:14 PM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,318 Posts
Yup. Got plenty.
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2010, 11:01 AM
Registered User
TheBum's Avatar
McKinney, TX
Joined May 2007
1,393 Posts
In Gregor's setup, I assume that the cases would still have to be isolated since the DC negative is connected to the case. How hard would it be to remove that DC negative to case connection? It would all but eliminate the possibility of an accidental short.
TheBum is offline Find More Posts by TheBum
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2010, 06:49 PM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,318 Posts
That depends on the supply. It could be quite lengthy. The circuit boards are mounted to the chassis on metal standoffs which all could serve as grounds. Several grommets could be used to isolate the board. Do you want to buy a pair and experiment?
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale Used PC Power supplies converted for 12V DC chargers ddierking Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 3 Jan 13, 2010 08:14 AM
Sold ***POWERFUL*** 12V 30 Amps Power Supply SLIM & LIGHT mjbennett9 Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 3 Dec 07, 2009 11:39 AM
For Sale 12V Power supplies 30A $40 and 42A $50 for your chargers feathermerchant Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 1 Sep 03, 2009 08:07 PM
Discussion 2x 12v chargers in series with a 24v Power Supply? cmacclel Batteries and Chargers 3 Jan 21, 2008 01:39 PM
Can I put two 12v bench power supplies in series = 24v? rakm Batteries and Chargers 7 Nov 24, 2003 11:15 PM