Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by feathermerchant, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Apr 17, 2011, 11:41 AM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,341 Posts
You should be able to do that. Remember that the 1500W or so that you are drawing from your 12V outlet is about 1500/120=12.5A. Most household circuits are rated for 15A and may have several outlets/lights on them.
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 17, 2011, 12:05 PM
Pushing the envelope
Nicoflyer's Avatar
Valatie, N.Y.
Joined Jan 2006
408 Posts
I'll be running this off a 2000 watt Honda generator.
So to do this is it alright to use 2 sets of your PS that are put in series and then put the two outputs in parallel?
Nicoflyer is offline Find More Posts by Nicoflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2011, 02:04 PM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,341 Posts
I think so. Make sure your 120V circuit can handle it. It may be different than the 240V circuit.
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2011, 03:09 PM
Pushing the envelope
Nicoflyer's Avatar
Valatie, N.Y.
Joined Jan 2006
408 Posts
Have you tried putting 2 in parallel?
I know that you cant put 2 switching bec in parallel,because if they see each other they will not work and eventually burn up.
Do you think that I should put isolation diodes on the + line out from each PS?
Nicoflyer is offline Find More Posts by Nicoflyer
Last edited by Nicoflyer; Apr 17, 2011 at 04:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2011, 04:46 AM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,341 Posts
No I have not but these are designed to work in parallel in a file server so they should work OK. I think others have.
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2011, 08:51 AM
Registered User
Land O' Lakes, FL
Joined Aug 2003
894 Posts
I used the automotive connectors to wire up my power supplies but they would not hold well. Tried different brands. After much frustration, I used my hot glue gun to 'flood' the terminals with the connectors in place. No more problem!
sailr is offline Find More Posts by sailr
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2011, 08:58 AM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
6,150 Posts
You can also just squeeze them with pliers. The contact is made by the edge of the bent over bit and you can squeeze the gap narrower so they grip tightly.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sailr View Post
I used the automotive connectors to wire up my power supplies but they would not hold well. Tried different brands. After much frustration, I used my hot glue gun to 'flood' the terminals with the connectors in place. No more problem!
jj604 is online now Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2011, 09:14 AM
Registered User
Land O' Lakes, FL
Joined Aug 2003
894 Posts
Tried squeezing them with pliers. No good. I have 10 guage wires to the connectors so there is a pretty good load on them. If you're using small wires, they would probably be OK.
sailr is offline Find More Posts by sailr
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2011, 02:41 PM
Registered User
Seattle
Joined Sep 2007
2,115 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicoflyer View Post
I know I may be pushing it here, but I'd like to know if its possible to put 4 PS together to make a 24 volt @ 94 amps. The reason is the new PL-8 are good for 1344 watts and I'm charing 4- 6s 5000 in parallel and with the 2 PS put in series which makes them good for 1128 watts.
I can charge them a 30 amps max, I'd like to charge them at 40 amps which is 2c.
To get the full 1344 watts (40 amps) I'd need 1344 watts plus 20%.

Thanks, Angelo
The Powerlab8 wattage rating of 1344 is based on 8s. For a 6s pack the max wattage is 1008 at 40 amps. Add in charger efficiency of 90% and you need 1120 watts to max out the PL8 charing 6s@40 amps. The 47a supplies are good for 575 watts, each and I know if one person that has successully pushed it past that (but for how long,?????). So two 47a supplies will give you 1150 watts. Also remember that the wattage peaks occur near the end of the charge and don't last all that long. The charge will start at about 90% of peak wattage and granually increase as the cells reach 4.2v.
Gregor99 is online now Find More Posts by Gregor99
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Dual Powerlab Case Project
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2011, 06:43 PM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,341 Posts
I've sold several pairs to those with Power Labs and so far I have not heard of any problems.
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2011, 01:24 AM
Registered User
Pasadena, CA
Joined Mar 2007
437 Posts
is the 24v PSU still available?
how long will it take to ship to California?
Brutikus is online now Find More Posts by Brutikus
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2011, 04:51 AM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,341 Posts
Yes. I have plenty of stock. I ship USPS priority so a couple of days.
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 05:54 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2011
4 Posts
Hi mate,

I've just sent you an email (as suggested on your website) to request a quote for a power supply to be shipped to Australia.

It is for a iCharger 3010b and I'm new to the whole charger / PS business.

Thanks in advance.

Rgds.
wolven is offline Find More Posts by wolven
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 06:14 PM
Registered User
dswitkin's Avatar
United States, CA, SF
Joined Sep 2007
1,372 Posts
I talked to two guys at a fun fly today who had figured out how to have two 12V supplies in series with both of them grounded, and able to touch each other. There's some trick with keeping the A/C side grounded while ungrounding the D/C from the cases. Is anyone familiar with this technique, or have a diagram of how/why it works?

Daniel
dswitkin is offline Find More Posts by dswitkin
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 09:58 PM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
6,150 Posts
There's a whole thread on it . Look here

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1369612

Also some more info in the 12V 100A supply thread in the most recent posts.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1005309

Around post 678



Quote:
Originally Posted by dswitkin View Post
I talked to two guys at a fun fly today who had figured out how to have two 12V supplies in series with both of them grounded, and able to touch each other. There's some trick with keeping the A/C side grounded while ungrounding the D/C from the cases. Is anyone familiar with this technique, or have a diagram of how/why it works?

Daniel
jj604 is online now Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale Used PC Power supplies converted for 12V DC chargers ddierking Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 3 Jan 13, 2010 08:14 AM
Sold ***POWERFUL*** 12V 30 Amps Power Supply SLIM & LIGHT mjbennett9 Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 3 Dec 07, 2009 11:39 AM
For Sale 12V Power supplies 30A $40 and 42A $50 for your chargers feathermerchant Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 1 Sep 03, 2009 08:07 PM
Discussion 2x 12v chargers in series with a 24v Power Supply? cmacclel Batteries and Chargers 3 Jan 21, 2008 01:39 PM
Can I put two 12v bench power supplies in series = 24v? rakm Batteries and Chargers 7 Nov 24, 2003 11:15 PM