HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 01, 2012, 07:36 PM
fast
fmkit's Avatar
ISRAEL
Joined Aug 2007
2,583 Posts
my SkyFun got no centerplane/fins
just installed police-like lights
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uhkjgMUNubo
fmkit is online now Find More Posts by fmkit
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 08, 2012, 03:24 AM
Glow 😡 no no no
Australia, SA, Evanston Park
Joined Mar 2010
4,652 Posts
Hi I flew my skyfun today with this motor http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ner_630w_.html and a apce copy 5x5 pulling 40 amps static on 3s, after all the build up i was disappointed to put it mildly, but after reading some of this thread i will give it another go.
aeromaniac is offline Find More Posts by aeromaniac
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2012, 03:40 AM
Wats the worst that can happen
TheCure's Avatar
Canada, BC, Surrey
Joined Jan 2009
503 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeromaniac View Post
Hi I flew my skyfun today with this motor http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ner_630w_.html and a apce copy 5x5 pulling 40 amps static on 3s, after all the build up i was disappointed to put it mildly, but after reading some of this thread i will give it another go.

why not try 4s? they seem to do fine around 60A according to the changesun thread.
I'll know in a few days when i test the same motor w/ changesun.
TheCure is offline Find More Posts by TheCure
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My Mods to My RC Electronics
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2012, 03:42 AM
Glow 😡 no no no
Australia, SA, Evanston Park
Joined Mar 2010
4,652 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCure View Post
why not try 4s? they seem to do fine around 60A according to the changesun thread.
I'll know in a few days when i test the same motor w/ changesun.
Lol the smallest 4s I have is 3700mah rhino, lol I do have a 80amps 3s esc in it.
aeromaniac is offline Find More Posts by aeromaniac
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2012, 07:38 AM
Retired in NC
Rich in ILM's Avatar
USA, NC, Wilmington
Joined Sep 2010
2,030 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeromaniac View Post
Lol the smallest 4s I have is 3700mah rhino, lol I do have a 80amps 3s esc in it.
Get a couple of 4s 2200's.
Power is increased by the square of the voltage.
Rich in ILM is offline Find More Posts by Rich in ILM
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 11:00 AM
Per Ardua ad Astra
Esprit 88's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, London
Joined Jan 2005
398 Posts
Hi Guys

I'm thinking of upgrading my Skyfun to a 4S system. At the moment I'm using 3S 2200 packs with a 40A Esc and a Turnigy 2836-2350 6"x4" prop.

I was going to try 4S 2500 with a 60A Esc the same motor with a Graupner Speed Cam 5.5"x5.5" prop.

Anyone tried this or knows the Amp draw? Is the hand launch more difficult with the extra weight and smaller prop?

Thanks
Esprit 88 is offline Find More Posts by Esprit 88
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 01:33 PM
ICrashRCs
United States, TN, Memphis
Joined Jun 2011
1,196 Posts
60a ESC is correct.
I would run a APC 6 x4 sport prop.
I prefer 4s 1800s (40c). They are almost the same as a 3s 2200 and you can run either battery without any change or worries.

I have this setup in a Stryker and it's sweet on either 3s or 4s. Plug in the battery of your choice and fly it.
IFlyRCs is offline Find More Posts by IFlyRCs
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2012, 01:27 PM
Registered User
THESANDMAN's Avatar
United States, NY, New York
Joined Oct 2010
1,640 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Esprit 88 View Post
Hi Guys

I'm thinking of upgrading my Skyfun to a 4S system. At the moment I'm using 3S 2200 packs with a 40A Esc and a Turnigy 2836-2350 6"x4" prop.

I was going to try 4S 2500 with a 60A Esc the same motor with a Graupner Speed Cam 5.5"x5.5" prop.

Anyone tried this or knows the Amp draw? Is the hand launch more difficult with the extra weight and smaller prop?

Thanks
its a hit or miss with that motor and a 4s running a 6x4 prop the motor usually burn up after a few flights ,i had three of those motors. 1 motor , i got around 20 flights. the other two i got around 5 each, before they burned up . on a three cell they seem to last longer my friends been running that motor on a 3s for over a year . i guess if you baby it with small burst from time to time it will last . good luck with it
THESANDMAN is offline Find More Posts by THESANDMAN
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2012, 02:29 PM
Registered User
United States, SC, Greenville
Joined Jun 2011
252 Posts
I'm running that same setup (4s 2200 40c w/ 6x4 prop and 60A plush esc w/ Turnigy 2836-2350) and it hauls a$$, but the motor does come down kinda hot sometimes, so I know it's just a matter of time. Is there a better motor that would provide comparable results that might hold up better?
Norm62 is offline Find More Posts by Norm62
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2012, 03:00 PM
Retired in NC
Rich in ILM's Avatar
USA, NC, Wilmington
Joined Sep 2010
2,030 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norm62 View Post
I'm running that same setup (4s 2200 40c w/ 6x4 prop and 60A plush esc w/ Turnigy 2836-2350) and it hauls a$$, but the motor does come down kinda hot sometimes, so I know it's just a matter of time. Is there a better motor that would provide comparable results that might hold up better?
I had better luck with this motor and same setup. It may have been that I never was on full throttle for more than around 20 seconds. I still have the motor and had it on several Skyfuns.
Rich in ILM is offline Find More Posts by Rich in ILM
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2012, 04:22 PM
Registered User
KC10 CC's Avatar
United States, NJ
Joined Nov 2011
86 Posts
I've also run this setup with at least 50 flights. As Rich said keep the full throttle runs to short bursts.
KC10 CC is offline Find More Posts by KC10 CC
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2012, 04:32 PM
Registered User
United States, SC, Greenville
Joined Jun 2011
252 Posts
Thanks Rich and KC. Guess I'll pick up a couple spares if they come back in stock. Do you guys use the included prop adapter or have you changed it to something else?
Norm62 is offline Find More Posts by Norm62
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2012, 05:12 PM
Registered User
THESANDMAN's Avatar
United States, NY, New York
Joined Oct 2010
1,640 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norm62 View Post
Thanks Rich and KC. Guess I'll pick up a couple spares if they come back in stock. Do you guys use the included prop adapter or have you changed it to something else?
just my opinion but for the price of a couple plus shipping i recomend getting a better motor, one that you can basically run wot and with a change of a larger battery it will increase the speed
HET 2W25 will push over 1000 watts without breaking a sweat and its the price of a couple of those turnigy with shipping 69.00
THESANDMAN is offline Find More Posts by THESANDMAN
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2012, 07:01 AM
Registered User
malden86's Avatar
San Antonio, TX.
Joined Feb 2009
632 Posts
Could someone please give me the CG on this little bugger, I just got mine but no manual included. Thanks in advance.
malden86 is online now Find More Posts by malden86
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2012, 08:59 AM
Retired in NC
Rich in ILM's Avatar
USA, NC, Wilmington
Joined Sep 2010
2,030 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by malden86 View Post
Could someone please give me the CG on this little bugger, I just got mine but no manual included. Thanks in advance.
Start in the middle of the finger holes.
Rich in ILM is offline Find More Posts by Rich in ILM
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Vendo Rádio Hobby King 4ch + Receptor 6ch (2.4GHz) Amazon Brazil 0 Dec 02, 2009 07:52 AM
Discussion Hobby King 40mmx5mm folding spinners @ ~450 Watts? Owen Hedger Power Systems 3 Dec 01, 2009 02:46 PM
Discussion Hobby City/ Hobby King FPV setup- thoughts? Smokescreen38 FPV Talk 6 Oct 23, 2009 04:27 AM
Discussion Hobby King Hobby City MIG 15 7car7 Foamy EDFs 5 Oct 15, 2009 06:43 PM
Question hobby king speed controller question? qtturner1 Power Systems 3 Jul 08, 2009 11:17 PM