HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 19, 2009, 03:39 PM
AEM
Bay Area, CA
Joined Sep 2009
978 Posts
Question
What is a Good, All-Around, Light Weight Video Cam for an Electric Sailplane?

I am looking of an easy-to-use, good quality, and very lightweight video camera that I can mount to a lightweight thermaling sailplane. I have no experience with these devices and would like to keep things simple. I don't want to spend more than about $150. I have a PC and not a Mac, for whatever that's worth. I've been thinking of just going with one of the "gum" cams or keychain cams. What I'd really like would be an even smaller camera than these two, with no audio (to make smaller), and with a swiveling lense. Any ideas?

Thanks,
AEM
AEMontoya is offline Find More Posts by AEMontoya
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by AEMontoya; Dec 19, 2009 at 05:32 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 20, 2009, 08:20 AM
Certified Codger
NE Texas
Joined Jan 2008
557 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AEMontoya View Post
I am looking of an easy-to-use, good quality, and very lightweight video camera that I can mount to a lightweight thermaling sailplane. I have no experience with these devices and would like to keep things simple. I don't want to spend more than about $150. I have a PC and not a Mac, for whatever that's worth. I've been thinking of just going with one of the "gum" cams or keychain cams. What I'd really like would be an even smaller camera than these two, with no audio (to make smaller), and with a swiveling lense. Any ideas?

Thanks,
AEM
SMALLER than a keychain camera? Wow! I'd like to see that myself. As for swiveling, you could just mount a keychain camera on the arm of a micro servo and swivel the whole camera.

John
wingspann is offline Find More Posts by wingspann
Old Dec 20, 2009, 10:54 AM
It flew...nearly!
Norway
Joined Apr 2006
1,941 Posts
The gum cams seem to be good for the price. Footage might become somewhat montonous if you're thermaling for a long time