SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by BRENDAN LUGO, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Nov 09, 2012, 02:34 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
39 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Socratous View Post
I'd like to see something akin to Spektrum's model match system, having the rx's bound to the selected model rather than just the tx. I stuck an electric glider in a tree with 15 minutes of arriving at the field one day (hour drive from home). I couldn't use any of the other planes I bought along with me because the stuck glider was still responding to controls.

That was that day of flying cut very short. It was still live the next day when the local council bought a crane down to rescue it for me! I would have had to have been flying a good few km away to avoid interference and running the motor into the branches and overloading the esc/lipo.
Rebind?

Mika
FlyerMika is offline Find More Posts by FlyerMika
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 09, 2012, 03:22 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2002
5,811 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyerMika View Post
Rebind? Mika
Yes, unreachable model sits quietly in Failsafe mode.

Advantages:
. Using scan function, best new ID-Setup is obtained for that particular flying site.
. Flying continues for the day.
Disadvantage (slight):
. All other transceivers & receivers need to be re-linked.

Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links
A.T. is offline Find More Posts by A.T.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 02:31 PM
Loose Sox Special Spec
LooseSox's Avatar
Australia, SA, Modbury North
Joined Feb 2012
1,467 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekletke View Post
i'd like to mention again, let's have full flap travel available with bfly mix and able to select control ie .th or slider.
Ek
+ 1
LooseSox is offline Find More Posts by LooseSox
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 02:56 PM
-----
Woodstock 1's Avatar
Ireland, County Kerry, Kerry
Joined Dec 2005
6,994 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekletke View Post
I'd like to mention again, let's have full flap travel available with bfly mix and able to select control ie .th or slider.
EK
These are both available to you already.

Servo offset is hidden in the CAMB.mix (don't ask me why): just keep on going through the menu, I think it's the 4th one, it's called "OST": you can off-set the neutral point of ailerons, flaps, and one other I think...

Bfly can be assigned to a stick or a slider AKAIK.

Chris
Woodstock 1 is offline Find More Posts by Woodstock 1
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 08:46 AM
Registered User
acesimmer's Avatar
United States, NV, Fernley
Joined Oct 2011
2,135 Posts
If the new A9 replacement is that horrid looking abortion in that post a page or two back. Well, count me out. I would be very happy to just have 12 - 16 channels and a couple of extra rotary knobs yet keep similar looks to the A9 The A9 feels like a good old fashioned radio. One of the rich guys at our club showed up with the hi end JR with a zillion features. It looked like the possible new A9 and was square and heavy. I tried it and felt it was just awful to look at and even worse feel to it. The guy actually sent it back and got one of those DX biggies.
acesimmer is offline Find More Posts by acesimmer
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 09:43 AM
You can't take the sky from me
copperbricks's Avatar
United States, OH, Cincinnati
Joined Aug 2011
1,081 Posts
So if we get a plane stuck beyond our reach, rebinding all of our other planes will fix it?
copperbricks is offline Find More Posts by copperbricks
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 11:00 AM
Sloping the Financial Cliff
fcbflyer's Avatar
USA, CA, Santee
Joined Oct 2007
2,470 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woodstock 1 View Post
These are both available to you already.

Servo offset is hidden in the CAMB.mix (don't ask me why): just keep on going through the menu, I think it's the 4th one, it's called "OST": you can off-set the neutral point of ailerons, flaps, and one other I think...

Bfly can be assigned to a stick or a slider AKAIK.

Chris
If you Look in the servo monitor screen you will see that max travel stops at 100%. You will need a custom p-mix to get it to 150%, which is in my book full travel.
fcbflyer is offline Find More Posts by fcbflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 01:49 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2002
5,811 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by copperbricks;23333955 [SIZE="1"
]So if we get a plane stuck beyond our reach, rebinding all of our other planes will fix it?[/SIZE]
"rebinding all of our other planes will fix it?"

To clarify post #812:

1. Yes by doing an ID-reset using scan function, user can continue to fly whilst "lost" model sits quietly in your preset failsafe settings.
. Hitec AFHSS ID-Setup (Bind) Spectra Module V3.01(0), Optima Transceiver 6, 7 & 9ch V2.02(0) & Minima Receivers - quick reference.
. Aurora A9 & Optima Fail-Safe Settings

2. No, it does not get the model back within reach.

Alan T.
A.T. is offline Find More Posts by A.T.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 07:07 PM
Registered User
Cosworthnz's Avatar
Joined May 2005
32 Posts
Rssi

RSSI value displayed on screen, or even just a warning if RSSI is getting marginal?

First asked for in January 2010 its now almost 2013, is anyone listening?
Cosworthnz is offline Find More Posts by Cosworthnz
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 09:04 PM
Registered User
bingo17's Avatar
Auckland, NZ
Joined Sep 2009
375 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cosworthnz View Post

... is anyone listening?
Can't believe you actually expecting a response
bingo17 is offline Find More Posts by bingo17
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 03:43 PM
-----
Woodstock 1's Avatar
Ireland, County Kerry, Kerry
Joined Dec 2005
6,994 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fcbflyer View Post
If you Look in the servo monitor screen you will see that max travel stops at 100%. You will need a custom p-mix to get it to 150%, which is in my book full travel.
Notwithstanding what the monitor says, you fill find that flaps servos with an EPA of 140% each way will be at the mechanical limits of their travel (in other words, the flap "rates" seem to be set by default at the equivalent of what is 125% rates for the aileron, elevator and rudder servos).

Chris
Woodstock 1 is offline Find More Posts by Woodstock 1
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 07:37 PM
R.I.P
josh18's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Toowoomba
Joined Jan 2010
3,568 Posts
Sounds like this may fall on deaf ears, but why does the "adjust" functin for butterfly adjust all surfaces in their respective directions? Why doesn't it just adjust the elevator comp, like you actually want? This is the most frustrating thing Ive found about this radio and it would be a super easy fix for the programmers. Ive asked myself many a time why I didnt just get a 9X because of this oversight..
josh18 is offline Find More Posts by josh18
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 02, 2012, 01:19 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
39 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woodstock 1 View Post
These are both available to you already.

Servo offset is hidden in the CAMB.mix (don't ask me why): just keep on going through the menu, I think it's the 4th one, it's called "OST": you can off-set the neutral point of ailerons, flaps, and one other I think...

Bfly can be assigned to a stick or a slider AKAIK.

Chris
I haven't found a way to assign the "original" bfly mix from the menu to anything but the throttle stick, although that's exactly what I want. But understand others might not, and it would be trivial to add the selection. Also, whatever tricks I tried, I never got full deflection for the flaps, so what I ended up doing was to directly set the flaps to the throttle channel and only use the bfly mix for the ailerons.

With the Aurora, you usually find a way to do what you want, but often it requires doing it in a different way from what the programmers originally thought.

Mika
FlyerMika is offline Find More Posts by FlyerMika
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 03:45 PM
Registered User
USA, NY, Jamestown
Joined Jun 2000
2,910 Posts
Well, I heard an interesting statement about the A9 over on HeliFreak:

There isn't any more room on the current a9 for any more updates plus what more do u want. You got radio that has more then any 9 channel radio and even 12 channel ones. The new radio will have plenty of memory.


http://www.helifreak.com/showpost.ph...7&postcount=12

So, may well close this thread down. This radio will never reach its promised potential. Though its probably helped with development of the new radio due to be announced in a few months.
JoeR is offline Find More Posts by JoeR
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 04:08 PM
Crashing into the sky!
jackosmeister's Avatar
Auckland NZ
Joined Aug 2007
7,401 Posts
Wow, from a team Hitec guy too.

I guess that explains why it seems like Hitec have dropped the ball with the A9 for the last 2 years.

Quote:
You got radio that has more then any 9 channel radio and even 12 channel ones
- I disagree.

I wont be buying the next Hitec radio after the A9. The AFHSS system is great, the programming has been a severe let down though. So much potential, whos to say hitec wont do the same again?
jackosmeister is offline Find More Posts by jackosmeister
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question what's on your Christmas wish list ? brn-grose Alabama's Rocket City Renegades 26 Dec 11, 2009 11:58 PM
Discussion 2009 3DHS Wish List FlyCush 3D Flying 31 Oct 18, 2009 01:25 AM
Discussion Training Helicopter- wish list fpainter3 Electric Heli Talk 20 Oct 12, 2009 09:28 PM
Rave Phase 3 fan thread and future plane wish list :) SmoothCruizer Foamy EDFs 0 Feb 20, 2008 04:22 PM
Discussion Mamba Max ESC software wish list..... Marv829 Castle Creations 9 Jan 04, 2008 02:42 AM