SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
View Poll Results: If you are reading this thread are you an IOM owner
Yes 26 49.06%
No 27 50.94%
Voters: 53. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 05, 2011, 02:25 AM
Registered User
ToniGe23's Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Jun 2005
853 Posts
you need to look ahead as you probably know hitting marks slows you down!
ToniGe23 is offline Find More Posts by ToniGe23
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 05, 2011, 08:39 AM
Registered User
USA, LA, Mandeville
Joined Feb 2005
886 Posts
There could be an exception, if the SI's state that the starting line is a Closed Gate during the race. At that point, the two marks DO become part of the course and you cannot touch them. If you sail between them, you have to retrace your path and pass on the outside of them. This is seldom used these days though!
hew565 is offline Find More Posts by hew565
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2011, 10:12 AM
I love being the underdog!!!
Romano Ramirez's Avatar
Bermuda
Joined Jan 2011
123 Posts
I like all that!

I like all this rule stuff! I have cemented those situations in my mind.
Romano Ramirez is offline Find More Posts by Romano Ramirez
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Looking for the "terminator"
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2011, 10:59 AM
Registered User
jims123's Avatar
USA, CA, San Diego 92120
Joined Oct 2007
3,088 Posts
Tony,
perhaps IOM's are more stable, but in 12 to 15+ gusts ODOMs fishtail and nose dive a bit losing control and that's what happened just as I zoom past this mark. The dinky Marks i set simply deflect, but it's catching their mooring line that REALLY adds a lot of DRAG..

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToniGe23 View Post
you need to look ahead as you probably know hitting marks slows you down!
jims123 is offline Find More Posts by jims123
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2011, 11:24 AM
Registered User
jims123's Avatar
USA, CA, San Diego 92120
Joined Oct 2007
3,088 Posts
Recovery from an over early Situation?

I like it discussing it too.. and am VERY new at this.. but saw something interesting (to me) last weekend..there was no Protest so I' guess it might be Ok to barge like this but I wonder:

A boat was moving fast down the line on a on a STBD reach (almost parallel to the starting Line) and there was no boat to declare he was Barging, and just after the starting gun, he got instantly cited by Sail number by the RAce Director (RD) who yelled "xx Over Early"

So, this skipper then quickly cut BACK across to the leeward side of the start line for a less than a second, and he yells back to the RD that he's now "xx Clear" .. and proceeds with the race without taking a penalty turn.. RD kinda shook his head but did not verbally acknowledge with a " xx now Clear".. so I wonder if this was a legal starting maneuver?

Or, is it something that a competitor in that race could have protested and won? (i was simply a bystander watching)

Any Takers on this one? Regards, JimS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Romano Ramirez View Post
I like all this rule stuff! I have cemented those situations in my mind.
jims123 is offline Find More Posts by jims123
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2011, 11:47 AM
Registered User
ToniGe23's Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Jun 2005
853 Posts
JimS, he did the right thing going back to the line he does not have to do a turn just get back over again but the RD should have told him he was clear not let HIM yell to the RD, another skipper could have protested that he did not go back over the line.

I used to get very close to boeys but I now give them enough room for a number of reasons. a, as mentioned your could catch the rope or chain holding the boey. b, there is a dead spot of wind behind the boey if they are large enough to momentary lose power in the sails.
ToniGe23 is offline Find More Posts by ToniGe23
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2011, 11:50 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2006
582 Posts
Depends on the SI's. Most regatta's I have attended have an around the end rule in effect 1 min before the start. In that case you would have to go around the end to start, but I believe it has to be added to the SI's to be in effect.
If it is not in place, then you could be on the course side of the line at the start,then cross to the start side and start. Sometimes called a dip start.
slotracer577 is offline Find More Posts by slotracer577
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2011, 12:03 PM
Registered User
jims123's Avatar
USA, CA, San Diego 92120
Joined Oct 2007
3,088 Posts
Wow.. " a dip start" .. learn something new every day..
we never get into much dept on the rules pre-start .. and I never heard of an "around-the-end" rule .. but that seems logical and a lot safer

and Tony, rgr all.. I agree it's the RD / alias SI that should pass the "Clear" acknowledgment, not the offender.. the whole thing was amazing to watch .. and pretty risky business.. Thank you Both.. JimS

Quote:
Originally Posted by slotracer577 View Post
Depends on the SI's. Most regatta's I have attended have an around the end rule in effect 1 min before the start. In that case you would have to go around the end to start, but I believe it has to be added to the SI's to be in effect.
If it is not in place, then you could be on the course side of the line at the start,then cross to the start side and start. Sometimes called a dip start.
jims123 is offline Find More Posts by jims123
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2011, 12:13 PM
Don't lie to my dog.
Gregg28's Avatar
United States, DE, Wilmington
Joined Jun 2005
3,075 Posts
He did clear himself. But, interestingly enough, the race committee does not actually identify which boat is over early. That is only a courtesy.

29.1 Individual Recall
When at a boat’s starting signal any part of her hull, crew or equipment
is on the course side of the starting line or she must comply
with rule 30.1, the race committee shall promptly display flag X with
one sound. The flag shall be displayed until all such boats are completely
on the pre-start side of the starting line or one of its extensions
and have complied with rule 30.1
if it applies, but no later than
four minutes after the starting signal or one minute before any later
starting signal, whichever is earlier. If rule 30.3 applies this rule does
not.
Gregg28 is offline Find More Posts by Gregg28
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2011, 04:48 PM
So. Cal. Glider
Costa Mesa
Joined Mar 2007
134 Posts
Gregg28...
You should read Appendix E - Radio-Controlled Boat Racing Rules.
Especially .. E3.8 Individual recall.

The rules for full size boats and "radio controlled" boats are sometimes different.
rcandgolf is offline Find More Posts by rcandgolf
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2011, 05:05 PM
Registered User
jims123's Avatar
USA, CA, San Diego 92120
Joined Oct 2007
3,088 Posts
I appreciate all your help..

I find reading the rules, understanding them, and later figuring out when and how to apply the right rule while in a real race with so much else going on is a very daunting challenge.. but is part of why i enjoy this sport so much..perhaps with time and experience these get clearer and more intuitive.. but I'm about 50 50 on the Quizzes here:

http://game.finckh.net/indexe.htm
and know there's much more i don't know than do.. JimS



Quote:
Originally Posted by rcandgolf View Post
Gregg28...
You should read Appendix E - Radio-Controlled Boat Racing Rules.
Especially .. E3.8 Individual recall.

The rules for full size boats and "radio controlled" boats are sometimes different.
jims123 is offline Find More Posts by jims123
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2011, 05:21 PM
Don't lie to my dog.
Gregg28's Avatar
United States, DE, Wilmington
Joined Jun 2005
3,075 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcandgolf View Post
Gregg28...
You should read Appendix E - Radio-Controlled Boat Racing Rules.
Especially .. E3.8 Individual recall.

The rules for full size boats and "radio controlled" boats are sometimes different.
Wow, I stand corrected.

E3.8 Individual Recall
In rule 29.1 replace all after ‘the race committee shall promptly’ with
‘twice hail “Recall (sail numbers)” ’.

29.1 Individual Recall
When at a boat’s starting signal any part of her hull, crew or equipment
is on the course side of the starting line or she must comply
with rule 30.1, the race committee shall promptly display flag X with
one sound. The flag shall be displayed until all such boats are completely
on the pre-start side of the starting line or one of its extensions
and have complied with rule 30.1 if it applies, but no later than
four minutes after the starting signal or one minute before any later
starting signal, whichever is earlier. If rule 30.3 applies this rule does
not.
Gregg28 is offline Find More Posts by Gregg28
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2011, 08:45 PM
Registered User
Dick L.'s Avatar
Minnesota, USA
Joined Aug 2002
2,207 Posts
Gregg - et all -

keep in mind you don't have a foredeck/bowman to call your location relative to starting line in R/C sailing - thus the guys managing the starts help keep control by calling sail numbers over early. Also, even in big boats, if you have some guys that are "hot shoes" there is a benefit to notifying the boats that are over early. I would rather round the ends than be a DSQ for over early call and not know it.

In large fleets that center of the line "sag" can be a nice place to be for a good starter (takes good boat control) and while they try to keep collisions to a minimum - I would prefer the race committee allow dip starts - but that's just me.
Dick L. is offline Find More Posts by Dick L.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2011, 09:50 PM
Silly Old Fart
CaptainBit's Avatar
New Zealand, Wellington, Masterton
Joined Mar 2006
219 Posts
Hey guys, here is a link to the latest version of the rules which includes Appendix E just for us....
Down load it and store it away. Print out part 2 which is the bit you want and also appendix E, study it and you will enjoy your racing so much more when you can`t be bullied.
CaptainBit is offline Find More Posts by CaptainBit
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 06, 2011, 12:11 PM
So. Cal. Glider
Costa Mesa
Joined Mar 2007
134 Posts
Normally at RC regattas the RD announces at the skippers meeting whether the 'I' flag is flying or not.
rcandgolf is offline Find More Posts by rcandgolf
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion X-3D Brushless Quadrocopter, general quadrocopter, x-ufo discussion tend2it Multirotor Talk 2529 Apr 26, 2008 07:45 PM
Discussion Kong Power Packs Info And General Discussion nitroshark Batteries and Chargers 10 Jan 12, 2008 11:33 PM
Discussion Kong Power Packs Info And General Discussion nitroshark Batteries and Chargers 32 Jan 03, 2008 03:02 PM
Discussion General Discussion PLD Australia 172 Nov 27, 2006 10:26 PM
General Discussion / Training Area zax Site Chat 0 Oct 03, 2001 01:48 PM