HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 07, 2009, 12:01 PM
Joined Aug 2008
19 Posts
Discussion
Washout for sport/pattern plane?

Hello, everyone.

I'm quite new in original RC airplane design, however, this looks like challenging and extremely interesting lesson to learn.

One and half year ago I have scratch-built 1,6 m Extra 300S with 15 cc 2 stroke glow engine. It was real pleasure to construct it, but my flying skills were to rough at that time, and I crashed the plane after approximately 2 months of trying and learning. One of the reasons why it happened was the unstable character of the plane in abrupt maneuvres. I felt flying it like balancing the crystal ball over the glass table. Now, as I gained the experience, I would like to build this project again, but also make some improvements.

One of the possible improvements is to add the washout to the wings, so the interrution of the airflow over the airfoil would not start at the wingtips. I know about the geometrical and aerodynamical washout, and already put the last in to my new project (airfoil is starting with NACA 0013 at the root and ends with NACA 0015 at the wingtip).

The question is wether I should include also the geometric washout, turning the wingtip down at some angle? If this would be the trainer design, the answer probably would be "yes". How about pattern plane? Geometrical washout obviously would improve the stability in "head up" position, but will probably worsen the inverted flight characteristics. Whad you guys are thinking about this?
Taktas is offline Find More Posts by Taktas
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 07, 2009, 12:45 PM
An itch?. Scratch build.
South Wales U.K.
Joined Mar 2003
12,891 Posts
Washout isn't particularly good on a pattern plane if you intend doing inverted flying as well. You end up with wash-in when inverted.
eflightray is offline Find More Posts by eflightray
Old Dec 07, 2009, 01:41 PM
Grumpy old git.. Who me?
Aberdeen
Joined Mar 2006
11,214 Posts
Taktas,