HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 26, 2010, 06:24 AM
Austin, TX, 78746
Joined Nov 2008
292 Posts
Here is the inrunner motor that I want to put in my Alps:

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=9448

Dimension: 52mm x 36mm, 66mm(with shaft)
Weight: 141g (kv1350) (not including connectors)
Diameter of shaft:5mm
Length of front shaft:13mm
Lamination thickness: .2mm

Spec.
Battery: 3-4 Cell 4S/14.8V
RPM: 1350kv
Max current: 40A
No load current: 2.1A
Internal resistance: 75.2ohm

Data:
3S 11.1V
Prop: APC7x4, APC10x4.7
Max Current: 16.6A, 37A
Pull: 720g, 1260g
4S 14.8V
Prop: APC7x4
Max Current: 29A
Pull: 1100g
ESC: 60A
Battery Type: 3-4S Only

It may be too heavy but someone put it in a Blizzard and got some incredible speed.
donaldrtaylor is offline Find More Posts by donaldrtaylor
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 02, 2010, 09:34 PM
WAA-08 THANK FRANK!
JimNM's Avatar
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Joined Jun 2002
7,133 Posts
Don - I worry that that motor will not be enough to move the ALPS very well. YABLONSKY used similar motor (posted above) and over amped it to the point that there was a serious meltdown and crash.

FWIW - here are a few blurry cel phone pictures of the front end of mine. I got a lot done today, and I'm only lacking the aileron pushrods and wing bolts before I can fly. I hope to get it out on Friday a.m.

Gotta git'er done

10x6 prop
3025-08 Hyperion Motor
3s 2200 20c lipo
45 amp esc
3x HS 81
JimNM is offline Find More Posts by JimNM
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2010, 10:57 PM
Austin, TX, 78746
Joined Nov 2008
292 Posts
[QUOTE=JimNM;14492695]Don - I worry that that motor will not be enough to move the ALPS very well. YABLONSKY used similar motor (posted above) and over amped it to the point that there was a serious meltdown and crash.

Jim,
I read about the melt down that Yablonsky had with his motor. I have run his turnigy motor on an easystar and a Stryker. I agree it does not have enough torque for a 9 inch prop that I plan to use on my ALPS BUT the motor I am planning to use has a lot more torque I will be using a 50 amp ESC I got the idea off of the Blizzard Blog here: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=279
This is what the guy said about the motor I have chosen for my Alps:

"My Blizzard top speed measured with a radar gun as well as with a Eagle tree logger has been on average 109 mph.

I changed my motor from a Himax to a HK Turnigy 540S V-Spec Inrunner w/ Impeller which gives me about 700 watts at WOT. I am running on a 4S battery and many times outperfom the guys on the field with their full composite hotliners running with NEU motors having well over $1000 in the air. With less than 2 lbs weight I get about 370 watts per lbs which is very impressive. All of this with an investment of $250.

Try it, the motor fits exactly in the Blizzard nose including the mounting holes, you will love it!"

This motor is not your typical inrunner--. It is described as high torque. I'm going to try it as I already have it. If it does not work, I will go with an out runner. we'll see. My Alps arrives tomorrow.
I will be doing wing and fuse mods for a while to add some strength. I will keep you posted on my progress.
Don
donaldrtaylor is offline Find More Posts by donaldrtaylor
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2010, 11:03 PM
Permaculture de NEW Technology
Rondog's Avatar
Southern Socialist Republic of Commiefornia
Joined Dec 2002
1,256 Posts
Will it fit? From what I understand it is a 540 size motor which may be too fat?
Rondog is offline Find More Posts by Rondog
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2010, 11:08 PM
Austin, TX, 78746
Joined Nov 2008
292 Posts
very tight
donaldrtaylor is offline Find More Posts by donaldrtaylor
Last edited by donaldrtaylor; Mar 02, 2010 at 11:34 PM. Reason: double post
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2010, 11:15 PM
Austin, TX, 78746
Joined Nov 2008
292 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rondog View Post
Will it fit? From what I understand it is a 540 size motor which may be too fat?
It's gonna be close-- The spec's say it is 36mm in diameter and someone measure the nose of the Alps at 38mm
donaldrtaylor is offline Find More Posts by donaldrtaylor
Last edited by donaldrtaylor; Mar 02, 2010 at 11:33 PM. Reason: double post
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2010, 11:21 PM
Permaculture de NEW Technology
Rondog's Avatar
Southern Socialist Republic of Commiefornia
Joined Dec 2002
1,256 Posts
Cool! Should go like a bat out of hell with that motor!
Rondog is offline Find More Posts by Rondog
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2010, 11:22 PM
Permaculture de NEW Technology
Rondog's Avatar
Southern Socialist Republic of Commiefornia
Joined Dec 2002
1,256 Posts
Can't wait to see some first flights and video!
Rondog is offline Find More Posts by Rondog
Last edited by Rondog; Mar 03, 2010 at 10:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2010, 11:23 PM
Austin, TX, 78746
Joined Nov 2008
292 Posts
Picture of Turnigy 540S V-Spec Inrunner w/ Impeller 1350kv

This is what it looks like. It weighs 140 grams.
donaldrtaylor is offline Find More Posts by donaldrtaylor
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2010, 05:27 AM
WAA-08 THANK FRANK!
JimNM's Avatar
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Joined Jun 2002
7,133 Posts
Best wishes - and happy flights . There is not much to do in assembeling the ALPS. I have been away from home for 3 of the last 6 months, so my buildig queue is a little backed up.

Fly. Be happy.
JimNM
JimNM is offline Find More Posts by JimNM
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2010, 01:22 PM
Registered User
feefo's Avatar
Staffs, UK
Joined Apr 2009
3,535 Posts
I'd have thought that the fit shouldn't be a problem. It's the wires on an outrunner that make fitting a 35mm the problem. On the inrunner the wires come out of the back. And weight wise, I always seem to need to add lead in the nose with outrunners, this may solve the problem
feefo is offline Find More Posts by feefo
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2010, 06:27 PM
Austin, TX, 78746
Joined Nov 2008
292 Posts
Alps arrived today

Here are a couple of photos of the fuse for my new Alps. Plenty of room for the large inrunner I plan to use.
The fuse is very solid and won't need much reinforcment;but the canopy is the flimsiest that i have ever seen. Will need to figure something out on how to beef it up. Suggestions anyone. Maybe fiberglass and carbon fiber strips on the inside
The wings and control surfaces are solid and smooth. The linkage for the elevator is a little weird and i will use flexible cable instead. Still thinking about how I will reinforce the wings and maybe the horizontal stab. Overall its better than I expected.
Don
donaldrtaylor is offline Find More Posts by donaldrtaylor
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2010, 06:32 PM
Austin, TX, 78746
Joined Nov 2008
292 Posts
oops the pics

here they are:
donaldrtaylor is offline Find More Posts by donaldrtaylor
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2010, 07:04 PM
WAA-08 THANK FRANK!
JimNM's Avatar
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Joined Jun 2002
7,133 Posts
I used the pushrod from the kit. I had to trim about 2" off to make it fit right. I have a few cosmetic jobs left - like the aileron servo covers and the spinner to nose gap. Although, right now I have a flight ready ALPS. The CG is a silly 1-2mm rearward with the battery all the way back and without the canopy. For the shakedown flights, I'll red-neck it and just use some tape to fix the canopy in place. I'm sure that the HS81s are larger than need be - but I had them in stock

You will want to hit the aileron hinge with a warm covering iron while flexed full downward. My hinges were quite tight (better than loose, right??) I used a quick link and a z-bend on the ailerons rather than the plastic clevises. Come Friday, I'll be down to the act of commiting aviation with this little beauty.

Fly, be happy
JimNM
JimNM is offline Find More Posts by JimNM
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 04, 2010, 09:54 AM
Registered User
Yablonsky's Avatar
Aliso Viejo, CA
Joined Sep 2009
538 Posts
What I did for the canopy...where the screws are supposed to go...I put small magnets. 4 on the inside of the fuse and 4 on the outside of the canopy. My canopy snaps into place and with the 4 small magnets, it shouldnt come flying off. as long as the front has no gaps....which it doesn't. I'll post some pics later.
Yablonsky is offline Find More Posts by Yablonsky
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Flying Dream ASH-26 Highfly! Sailplane Talk 3 Nov 11, 2009 09:28 PM
Question Flying Dream T-28 Trojan flyandi Scale ARF/RTF 1 Oct 02, 2009 03:47 PM
Discussion CB100 first impression ehirobo Micro Helis 14 Sep 15, 2009 09:21 PM
Bad first time chatroom impression. Captain Ed Site Chat 44 Aug 12, 2003 07:43 PM
Wattage Super Decathalon first impression............... jk Parkflyers 2 Jun 11, 2003 01:53 PM