HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 30, 2009, 07:19 AM
V
Registered User
V's Avatar
USA
Joined Mar 2009
392 Posts
Question
Hitech Aurora 9 pin-out of the trainer connector and the module plug in connector ???

I want to purchase the Scherrer LRS system for FPV ( First Person View ) and i need to know the :
pin-out of the trainer connector and the module plug in connector
-Ground, Power switched from the on/off switch, and PPM signal out.
If anybody here knows the answer I will be really grateful or if anybody has any suggestions on how I could find the answer that would be great !!!
Thanks!!!
V is offline Find More Posts by V
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 30, 2009, 01:54 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2002
5,811 Posts
Aurora and Optic Sport Trainer / SIM connection.

Quote:
Originally Posted by olteancr View Post
I want to purchase the Scherrer LRS system for FPV ( First Person View ) and i need to know the :
pin-out of the trainer connector and the module plug in connector
-Ground, Power switched from the on/off switch, and PPM signal out.
If anybody here knows the answer I will be really grateful or if anybody has any suggestions on how I could find the answer that would be great !!!
Thanks!!!
"Trainer (Buddy box) cables - DIY " under
"Buddy Boxes. Servo Leads. Flight Simulator & Interface." at:
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links

A 3.2mm Stereo plug is used in Buddy / Trainer / Slave / Data Transfer mode,
however, it is not a standard stereo cable as it is cross wired Tip <> Ring.
A 3.2mm Mono plug is used with Simulator Interface Modules

“1. Aurora as Slave TX: PPM output is from Tip of Aurora Stereo plug into PIN 3 of Master TX DIN (Eclipse/Optic/Futaba etc).
2. Aurora as Master TX: Student TX DIN (Eclipse/Optic/Futaba etc) PPM output from DIN Pin 2 to Ring of Stereo plug. (No RF from slave as Pins 4&5 are joined.)
3. Aurora (Master TX) Mono plug: PPM out ex Tip with no RF from antenna.
Refer also Aurora - Simulator function Set-up

Regards
Alan T.
[PS: Stereo plugs pictured below should read 3.2mm] not 3.5 mm
A.T. is offline Find More Posts by A.T.
Last edited by A.T.; Feb 19, 2011 at 03:10 PM. Reason: Add PS re typo of plug size on picture
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 01, 2009, 01:31 AM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
15,415 Posts
The module pinout is the same as for any previous Futaba / Hitec module:

looking at the back of the transmitter, antenna pointing away from you, flip for looking at the module

left side
1 - PPM
2 - switched battery positive
3 - RF good (pulled low through a transister when signal is present at the final amp)
4 - ground
5 - RF out - antenna
right side
renatoa is online now Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 01, 2009, 03:19 AM
Registered User
thomasscherrer's Avatar
Danmark, Hovedstaden, Ballerup
Joined May 2007
3,221 Posts
PEFFECT Ranatoa, this is exactly what he needs, thanks

so you add a 1k resistor from pin 3 to pin 4, this will make the futaba think you still have RF module

use
pin 1 PPM to the LRS PPM black wire
pin 2 power to the LRS red wire
pin 4 ground to LRS shield of cable

to be sure you are looking at it right, turn it on and measure carefully pin 2 and 4 and see you have positive voltage
then you know it is ok. the LRS and/or futaba will be damaged if you reverse the polarity
thomasscherrer is offline Find More Posts by thomasscherrer
Last edited by thomasscherrer; Dec 01, 2009 at 03:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 01, 2009, 03:44 AM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
15,415 Posts
Once again, be warned that, thanks to Futaba ! bad ! design, power pins 2 and 4 are simetrical placed and, if reversed, will fry the Tx RF module, or, the LRS
renatoa is online now Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 01, 2009, 09:51 AM
V
Registered User
V's Avatar
USA
Joined Mar 2009
392 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RENATOA View Post
Once again, be warned that, thanks to Futaba ! bad ! design, power pins 2 and 4 are simetrical placed and, if reversed, will fry the Tx RF module, or, the LRS

Hey thanks a lot for the help !!!
Do you have any pics or a diagram maybe that would make feel more comfortable messing with that stuff !!!
I'm no pro. at electronics and this kinda seems straight forward but still Im not sure about and I've never done anything like this before and I'm afraid that I might fry my new radio !!!
Thanks again
V is offline Find More Posts by V
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 01, 2009, 10:44 AM
Registered User
thomasscherrer's Avatar
Danmark, Hovedstaden, Ballerup
Joined May 2007
3,221 Posts
>Once again, be warned that, thanks to Futaba ! bad ! design

well they did not think about people "stealing" power and PPM from that connector
it was designed only for their own TX modules, and it is impossible to swap them arround,
unless you use a very big hammer or saw first :-)

Here is the requested schematic

ask in your club for mating connectors and help with solderings, and voltage measuring double check
then it is all fine.
thomasscherrer is offline Find More Posts by thomasscherrer
Last edited by thomasscherrer; Dec 01, 2009 at 10:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 01, 2009, 10:59 AM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
15,415 Posts
Warning #2: he is talking here about an Aurora, not Futaba !
This newer radio no more issues PPM on the known pinout !!! It has other 5 pins, instead original 5 of Futaba, pictured here:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=196
The left picture is new Hitec 2.4GHz Tx module pinout.
The middle is the pinout in an older Hitec radio, or Futaba.
The right picture is the new Aurora pinout, not hacked yet, nobody knows the pinout, but Hitec guys clearly stated there is no PPM on these pins !!!
So he must get PPM for LRS from the trainer plug, not from the back module !
renatoa is online now Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 01, 2009, 05:59 PM
V
Registered User
V's Avatar
USA
Joined Mar 2009
392 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RENATOA View Post
Warning #2: he is talking here about an Aurora, not Futaba !
This newer radio no more issues PPM on the known pinout !!! It has other 5 pins, instead original 5 of Futaba, pictured here:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=196
The left picture is new Hitec 2.4GHz Tx module pinout.
The middle is the pinout in an older Hitec radio, or Futaba.
The right picture is the new Aurora pinout, not hacked yet, nobody knows the pinout, but Hitec guys clearly stated there is no PPM on these pins !!!
So he must get PPM for LRS from the trainer plug, not from the back module !
Hey Renato !! Thanks for your reply !!!
I think there has to be PPM from the pins because when i unplug the 2.4 Ghz module on the screen appears PPM instead of AFHSS which is the system that is used when the 2.4 module is plugged in !!
In the Hitech Aurora 9 manual it also says that i says it 72 MHz PPM modulation with the SPECTRA PRO Synthesizer Module !!!
And how could I get the PPM from the trainer port just solder the wires to 3.5 jack !!
Thanks buddy
V is offline Find More Posts by V
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 01, 2009, 06:59 PM
V
Registered User
V's Avatar
USA
Joined Mar 2009
392 Posts
V is offline Find More Posts by V
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 01, 2009, 07:27 PM
V
Registered User
V's Avatar
USA
Joined Mar 2009
392 Posts
This is what Mike Mayberry reply back to me when I asked him about the Hitech Aurora 9 !!!

pin 1 pll
pin 2 antenna
pin 3 ground
pin 4 RF+ (power)
pin 5 signal (ppm)

So i guess that the "power" and "ground" pins they are different than before !!
Any input guys ??
Thanks
V is offline Find More Posts by V
Last edited by V; Dec 02, 2009 at 08:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 01, 2009, 08:27 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2002
5,811 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by olteancr View Post
Hey Renato !! Thanks for your reply !!!
<snip>And how could I get the PPM from the trainer port just solder the wires to 3.5 jack !!
Thanks buddy
Aurora: Trainer / Buddy system Master & Slave function Set-up.
TX 2 TX = buddy box compatibility problems between different brands of transmitters
was provided in Post #2 refer pictures in both links.
Those not skilled to read the pictures, should not attempt to do own wiring.

Regards
Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links
A.T. is offline Find More Posts by A.T.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 01, 2009, 08:52 PM
V
Registered User
V's Avatar
USA
Joined Mar 2009
392 Posts
I never said I'm a pro at this stuff !!!
Actually I don't know anything about this stuff I've never done any wiring or anything on a radio before I just fly regular Rc airplanes !!
So if you have a way or a product that can help me wire the Thomas Scherrer LRS to my radio or connect it to my radio I'll be happy to take at !!
I looked at your links and I saw the "Buddy system Master " , can you please break it down for me how I could connect Thomas thorough that wire to my radio !!
And how that functions ?
If it could solve my problem I will be more than happy to purchase that, than to have to wire something myself inside my radio !!

Quote:
Originally Posted by A.T. View Post
Aurora: Trainer / Buddy system Master & Slave function Set-up.
TX 2 TX = buddy box compatibility problems between different brands of transmitters
was provided in Post #2 refer pictures in both links.
Those not skilled to read the pictures, should not attempt to do own wiring.

Regards
Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links
V is offline Find More Posts by V
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 02, 2009, 07:17 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2002
5,811 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by olteancr View Post
I never said I'm a pro at this stuff !!!
Actually I don't know anything about this stuff I've never done any wiring or anything on a radio before I just fly regular Rc airplanes !!
So if you have a way or a product that can help me wire the Thomas Scherrer LRS to my radio or connect it to my radio I'll be happy to take at !!
I looked at your links and I saw the "Buddy system Master " , can you please break it down for me how I could connect Thomas thorough that wire to my radio !!And how that functions ?If it could solve my problem I will be more than happy to purchase that, than to have to wire something myself inside my radio !!
post #2 updated with pictures.

Alan T.
A.T. is offline Find More Posts by A.T.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 02, 2009, 09:00 PM
V
Registered User
V's Avatar
USA
Joined Mar 2009
392 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by A.T. View Post
post #2 updated with pictures.

Alan T.
Thanks for update !
Here's what I got after a couple of hours of research on google and on your links. Like I said this might seem pretty straight forward if you know what your doing but me I have never done anything like this and Im completely to this stuff.

When I'll be using the LRS my radio will be the Master Tx and the mono plug will be plugged in my trainer port.

Question : Do I have to cut out one of the 3.5 mm stereo plugs from the wire and solder the mono plug in its place ??

Im looking forward to your reply !!
Like I said this might seem stupid but I don't have a background wiring electronics and stuff like this so Im trying to learn as much as I can.
V is offline Find More Posts by V
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! 9 pin D-Sub connector source? hbielich Thermal 15 Nov 10, 2009 08:41 AM
Discussion Hitec Aurora 9 Trainer Link jedorme Hitec/Multiplex USA 1 Aug 24, 2009 11:36 PM
Discussion Jim -XPS module for new Hitec Aurora 9 ?? Howard L Xtreme Power Systems 4 Apr 21, 2009 01:06 AM
Sold Futaba Trainer Cord Micro to Micro Plug SQUARE PIN rajesh5024 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Apr 10, 2009 04:47 PM
Photos of Multiplex 6 pin connector plug installs? surfimp Slope 14 Aug 08, 2005 11:12 PM