Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 10, 2010, 10:45 AM
Registered User
Germany
Joined Jul 2003
899 Posts
Motor mount
G.Hanssmann is offline Find More Posts by G.Hanssmann
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 10, 2010, 11:19 AM
Failure is an option !
austin13's Avatar
Marseille - France
Joined Nov 2007
71 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by yakhakker View Post
Austin 13 Is your alu tube or solid shaft that you are using please?
solid. well I guess it is an alloy to be acurate. it was cut out of a CIBIE antenna that luckily was 4mm in diameter
austin13 is offline Find More Posts by austin13
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2010, 02:10 PM
still trying to get it right
yakhakker's Avatar
benelux
Joined Feb 2009
680 Posts
Austin 13 many thanks I have sent you a pm
yakhakker is offline Find More Posts by yakhakker
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2010, 02:18 PM
iCharger 106B user
Lab, Slovak Republic
Joined Jun 2008
400 Posts
why don't you ask it here?
alex.guzun is offline Find More Posts by alex.guzun
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2010, 02:24 PM
Registered User
hobie14's Avatar
Western Europe 52.7° N 8.9° W
Joined Jul 2007
2,618 Posts
G.Hanssmann ...... is it possible to mount the servo in the moulded recess on the belly side of the wing and simply cut a slot to allow the servo arm to be repositioned to allow the linkage to operate on top of the wing ? .....

From your photo on post # 302 I'm guessing it was easier for you to recut only because you were repositioning previously glued servos ....?

hobie14 is offline Find More Posts by hobie14
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2010, 03:46 PM
Registered User
Jurgen Heilig's Avatar
53859 Niederkassel, Germany
Joined Sep 2000
18,757 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hobie14 View Post
...
From your photo on post # 302 I'm guessing it was easier for you to recut only because you were repositioning previously glued servos ....?

In order to move your linkages on top, you need to get the servo flush with the uppper surface.

Jürgen
Jurgen Heilig is offline Find More Posts by Jurgen Heilig
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: InterModellBau 2014
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2010, 04:04 PM
Registered User
hobie14's Avatar
Western Europe 52.7° N 8.9° W
Joined Jul 2007
2,618 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurgen Heilig View Post
In order to move your linkages on top, you need to get the servo flush with the uppper surface.

Jürgen
Ok ..... thanks for that Jurgen ....

Oh, and a bit of news ....... you need to be sitting down quietly to read this bit for sure .....

I had a call today from our local RC store ..... you rem the one who has my Xeno and another 5 units on order for a long long time .....

well ........

after all this time he decided to tell me .......

.
.
.

They arrived this morning !!!!!!!

I should be able to collect mine(complete with tuneing kit) on Saturday .....
hobie14 is offline Find More Posts by hobie14
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2010, 04:59 PM
Multirotors blow
georgebinns's Avatar
Peterborough, England
Joined Dec 2006
894 Posts
Engine vibration?

Here is a short clip from the un-edited video of my maiden flight with the Xeno. You can see clearly that there is a lot of vibration from the engine. I'm hoping it's just an out of balance prop - not sure how to balance a folding prop - any ideas? I hope it's not an inherent problem with the shaft drive as I'm going to use it for FPV flying. Anyone else had vibration problems?

Maiden flight 12012010.mp4 (1 min 32 sec)
georgebinns is offline Find More Posts by georgebinns
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2010, 12:29 AM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
14,281 Posts
Waviness is from CMOS sensor.
Search for "rolling shutter" and you will get a lot about this effect.
renatoa is offline Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2010, 01:52 AM
Registered User
Jurgen Heilig's Avatar
53859 Niederkassel, Germany
Joined Sep 2000
18,757 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgebinns View Post
...
not sure how to balance a folding prop - any ideas? ...
I usually remove any kind of imperfections first and weigh the blades. If there is a significant difference in weight, I buy some spare blades and group them by weight, which usually is good enough.

Alternatively you can put them on a center piece, where you can tighten the blades so they can't move. With the blades aligned like a fixed prop, you can use a standard prop balancer.

Dynamic ballancing: Add some thin tape to the back of one blade. If vibration gets worse, remove it and add tape to the other blade.

When assembling your drive system, did you check whether your drive shaft hit the motor adapter when inserting through the rear ball bearing? Did you test run your drive system without the prop/spinner assembly?

Jürgen
Jurgen Heilig is offline Find More Posts by Jurgen Heilig
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: InterModellBau 2014
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2010, 03:40 AM
Multirotors blow
georgebinns's Avatar
Peterborough, England
Joined Dec 2006
894 Posts
Thanks for the good advice Jurgen. i will try to obtain some additional blades - anyone know what make they are or a good alternative that will fit?

I didn't test the system at all prior to final assembly - to be honest I struggled to assemble the drive unit as the instructions were very poor. I ended up trying to insert the bearing after I had glued the structure together! NOT a good idea as it is a very tight fit in the support housing - I won't do that next time
So from your answer I am assuming that you have not noticed any vibration on your model? Does yours sound different from mine?
georgebinns is offline Find More Posts by georgebinns
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2010, 03:49 AM
Multirotors blow
georgebinns's Avatar
Peterborough, England
Joined Dec 2006
894 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RENATOA View Post
Waviness is from CMOS sensor.
Search for "rolling shutter" and you will get a lot about this effect.
Thanks for the info Renatoa. I'm aware of the rolling shutter issue but in this case it is being caused by the excessive vibration of the camera. If you look at the periods where the motor is not running the picture is fine. To be fair to the spy cam I only stuck it on the front with some velcro!
georgebinns is offline Find More Posts by georgebinns
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2010, 04:00 AM
Registered User
Jurgen Heilig's Avatar
53859 Niederkassel, Germany
Joined Sep 2000
18,757 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgebinns View Post
...
the instructions were very poor. I ended up trying to insert the bearing after I had glued the structure together! NOT a good idea as it is a very tight fit in the support housing - I won't do that next time
...
The instructions tell you to insert the ball bearing prior to further assembly. I also posted the same advise:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/attac...mentid=2928737

Jürgen
Jurgen Heilig is offline Find More Posts by Jurgen Heilig
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: InterModellBau 2014
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2010, 04:01 AM
Multirotors blow
georgebinns's Avatar
Peterborough, England
Joined Dec 2006
894 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurgen Heilig View Post
In order to move your linkages on top, you need to get the servo flush with the uppper surface.

Jürgen
I did mine slightly differently. I used the existing position for the servo, put the horn on towards the top of the wing and cut out a hole large enough for the arm to move freely back and forward inside the wing foam. Once that was done, I used a small round file to cut a grove from the arm to the control surface horn to allow free movement of the operating linkage through it's full range. When you have it all connected and working correctly you can fit the fairing - it will cover up the grove and the hole - job done!

George
georgebinns is offline Find More Posts by georgebinns
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Multiplex Xeno checkup Flying Wings 129 Apr 10, 2010 08:47 AM
Yippee! New Multiplex Models 2009: MERLIN and XENO Doubletap Slope 12 Feb 26, 2010 10:31 PM
Discussion XENO, New to Multiplex??? sparkie624 Hitec/Multiplex USA 4 May 27, 2009 06:16 PM
Discussion Multiplex Xeno as FPV JakAck FPV Talk 7 Mar 09, 2009 06:40 PM
New Product Multiplex Xeno soundcheque Flying Wings 2 Mar 03, 2009 09:25 PM