SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 26, 2012, 02:10 PM
Proud RC Addict
United States, UT, American Fork
Joined Nov 2009
1,560 Posts
I've triple checked the wiring. I'm stumped at this point.

When you turn the module in to binding mode, do you just hold the button until the light flashes and then let it up? Mine never flashes.

From what you said about changing the modulation, that suggests that the module won't go into binding mode if it isn't getting a PPM signal it understands. Unfortunately I don't have equipment to test what signal is coming out of the module and out of my collector pin. :/ Maybe I'll have to borrow something somewhere. It isn't that complicated of a circuit though. Seems unlikely I got a bad transistor. I tested all the connections with an ohm meter.

PPM -> 4.62 -> Base
Base -> 21.5 -> ground
PPM-> ~26.5 -> emitter
dennisjm is offline Find More Posts by dennisjm
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 26, 2012, 02:25 PM
Awsome 2.5D Pilot.
bigbobed's Avatar
Foxfire Village, NC
Joined Nov 2003
1,481 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mulicheng View Post
I've triple checked the wiring. I'm stumped at this point.

When you turn the module in to binding mode, do you just hold the button until the light flashes and then let it up? Mine never flashes.

From what you said about changing the modulation, that suggests that the module won't go into binding mode if it isn't getting a PPM signal it understands. Unfortunately I don't have equipment to test what signal is coming out of the module and out of my collector pin. :/ Maybe I'll have to borrow something somewhere. It isn't that complicated of a circuit though. Seems unlikely I got a bad transistor. I tested all the connections with an ohm meter.

PPM -> 4.62 -> Base
Base -> 21.5 -> ground
PPM-> ~26.5 -> emitter
Where are you getting the ppm pulse from?
bigbobed is offline Find More Posts by bigbobed
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 02:29 PM
Proud RC Addict
United States, UT, American Fork
Joined Nov 2009
1,560 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbobed View Post
Where are you getting the ppm pulse from?
Used the references for A9 pinout mentioned earlier
Looking at the back of the aurora with pins on the lower left
Pins 5 4 3 2 1
with
5 = PPM
4 = Vbat
3 = Ground
2/1 Unused
dennisjm is offline Find More Posts by dennisjm
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 02:35 PM
Awsome 2.5D Pilot.
bigbobed's Avatar
Foxfire Village, NC
Joined Nov 2003
1,481 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mulicheng View Post
Used the references for A9 pinout mentioned earlier
Looking at the back of the aurora with pins on the lower left
Pins 5 4 3 2 1
with
5 = PPM
4 = Vbat
3 = Ground
2/1 Unused
Did you change the modulation to ppm/p?
bigbobed is offline Find More Posts by bigbobed
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 02:43 PM
Proud RC Addict
United States, UT, American Fork
Joined Nov 2009
1,560 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbobed View Post
Did you change the modulation to ppm/p?
yep.
dennisjm is offline Find More Posts by dennisjm
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 02:49 PM
Proud RC Addict
United States, UT, American Fork
Joined Nov 2009
1,560 Posts
And for completeness
Looking at the back of the dm8 module with the pins on the top

1 2 3 4 5
1 unused
2 ground
3 unused
4 Vbat
5 PPM

I must have got power/ground right because the light comes on right? Only thing left is if I wired something with the NPN wrong or just have a bad part somewhere.
dennisjm is offline Find More Posts by dennisjm
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 02:54 PM
Awsome 2.5D Pilot.
bigbobed's Avatar
Foxfire Village, NC
Joined Nov 2003
1,481 Posts
How are you connecting the pins on the Aurora to the module and where is the transistor?
bigbobed is offline Find More Posts by bigbobed
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 03:05 PM
Proud RC Addict
United States, UT, American Fork
Joined Nov 2009
1,560 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbobed View Post
How are you connecting the pins on the Aurora to the module and where is the transistor?
I plan on eventually making the module fit inside like it was made to fit. I think LowWatts did some like that. For now, I was just testing things making sure I got the process down. I used a servo connector for the 3 pins on the Aurora side. I just put the transistor and the resistors soldered into the servo wire about 3 or 4 inches from the connector. Then I plugged the servo wires individually into the slots on the DM8 module.
dennisjm is offline Find More Posts by dennisjm
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 03:11 PM
Awsome 2.5D Pilot.
bigbobed's Avatar
Foxfire Village, NC
Joined Nov 2003
1,481 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mulicheng View Post
I plan on eventually making the module fit inside like it was made to fit. I think LowWatts did some like that. For now, I was just testing things making sure I got the process down. I used a servo connector for the 3 pins on the Aurora side. I just put the transistor and the resistors soldered into the servo wire about 3 or 4 inches from the connector. Then I plugged the servo wires individually into the slots on the DM8 module.
The servo wire that has the ppm pulse should not plug into the module. It goes to the base of the transistor through a resistor. Solder a wire on the collector of the transistor and plug that wire into the modules ppm pin.
bigbobed is offline Find More Posts by bigbobed
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 03:20 PM
Proud RC Addict
United States, UT, American Fork
Joined Nov 2009
1,560 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbobed View Post
The servo wire that has the ppm pulse should not plug into the module. It goes to the base of the transistor through a resistor. Solder a wire on the collector of the transistor and plug that wire into the modules ppm pin.
That's the way I did it. I listed PPM on the dm8 pins below but really I mean that is what I plugged the collector input into.
dennisjm is offline Find More Posts by dennisjm
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 03:24 PM
Awsome 2.5D Pilot.
bigbobed's Avatar
Foxfire Village, NC
Joined Nov 2003
1,481 Posts
Well that only leaves two choices. A wiring error or a bad transistor. I've done three of these so I know it works.
bigbobed is offline Find More Posts by bigbobed
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 03:25 PM
Awsome 2.5D Pilot.
bigbobed's Avatar
Foxfire Village, NC
Joined Nov 2003
1,481 Posts
I guess there's a third option. Bad DM8. A scope would be a big help.
bigbobed is offline Find More Posts by bigbobed
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 03:32 PM
Awsome 2.5D Pilot.
bigbobed's Avatar
Foxfire Village, NC
Joined Nov 2003
1,481 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mulicheng View Post
I've triple checked the wiring. I'm stumped at this point.

When you turn the module in to binding mode, do you just hold the button until the light flashes and then let it up? Mine never flashes.

From what you said about changing the modulation, that suggests that the module won't go into binding mode if it isn't getting a PPM signal it understands. Unfortunately I don't have equipment to test what signal is coming out of the module and out of my collector pin. :/ Maybe I'll have to borrow something somewhere. It isn't that complicated of a circuit though. Seems unlikely I got a bad transistor. I tested all the connections with an ohm meter.

PPM -> 4.62 -> Base
Base -> 21.5 -> ground
PPM-> ~26.5 -> emitter
Emitter should go to ground. What is the 26.5 ppm to ground? Should only be two resistors in the circuit.
bigbobed is offline Find More Posts by bigbobed
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 03:37 PM
Proud RC Addict
United States, UT, American Fork
Joined Nov 2009
1,560 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbobed View Post
Emitter should go to ground. What is the 26.5 ppm to ground? Should only be two resistors in the circuit.
That's correct. Emitter tied straight to ground. PPM -> emitter is through the 4.7k + 22k resisters.
dennisjm is offline Find More Posts by dennisjm
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 03:42 PM
Awsome 2.5D Pilot.
bigbobed's Avatar
Foxfire Village, NC
Joined Nov 2003
1,481 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mulicheng View Post
That's correct. Emitter tied straight to ground. PPM -> emitter is through the 4.7k + 22k resisters.
ppm to base through 4.7k. Base to ground through 22k.
bigbobed is offline Find More Posts by bigbobed
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion XPS module for Hitec Aurora 9? sbc Xtreme Power Systems 43 Sep 17, 2012 05:45 PM
Sold Multiplex Royal Pro 9 + Spektrum module jjmouris Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 4 Oct 29, 2009 05:37 PM
Discussion Jim -XPS module for new Hitec Aurora 9 ?? Howard L Xtreme Power Systems 4 Apr 21, 2009 01:06 AM
Discussion Futaba 14MZ spektrum module mod Xnaron Radios 6 Mar 07, 2009 07:09 PM
For Sale Spektrum 2.4ghz AIR MOD module for futaba transmitter xxcysxx Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 3 Jan 03, 2009 02:52 AM