Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 02, 2010, 04:40 AM
SSM
Voluntary Assumption of Risk
SSM's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Canterbury
Joined Nov 2003
1,220 Posts
Scott,

IMHO, you can't look past the 9c (I have the 9CHP).

I shouldn't show you this but I will.

Simon
SSM is offline Find More Posts by SSM
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 02, 2010, 05:01 AM
Registered Crasher
Bilox's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2008
1,093 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSM View Post
Scott,

IMHO, you can't look past the 9c (I have the 9CHP).

I shouldn't show you this but I will.

Simon
hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm,
Thanks!
I'll have to check it out, the only thing is I'm one of those mode 2 guy's!

Cheers

Scott
Bilox is online now Find More Posts by Bilox
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2010, 05:18 AM
SSM
Voluntary Assumption of Risk
SSM's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Canterbury
Joined Nov 2003
1,220 Posts


Can't you swap these between mode 1 and mode 2 fairly easily?

Because I started out on 1 (and later 2) channel converted free-flighters, I fly mode 1 [at least I think I do - elevator on left stick (+ rudder), ailerons (+ throttle) on the right stick ??].

Simon
SSM is offline Find More Posts by SSM
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2010, 05:23 AM
Registered Crasher
Bilox's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2008
1,093 Posts
yea that's right, (I think on some you can!)
I'm throttle/rudder on the left and aileron/elevator on the right! (I think)
Bilox is online now Find More Posts by Bilox
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2010, 06:11 AM
The Flying Circus
ommadawn's Avatar
Adelaide South Australia
Joined Sep 2007
3,811 Posts
I bought the 9C specifically for H/T, but after trying it, I think HT is overrated.
The 9C is an excellent radio, it is infinitely configurable and will do whatever you want.
I guess if you really want HT, its the way to go but its a feature I hardly use.
I have had 2 track R2s and now have a Flytron HT.
ommadawn is online now Find More Posts by ommadawn
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2010, 06:15 AM
Aint nothing like a Mongrel!!
The_Mongrel's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Yass
Joined Dec 2007
7,655 Posts
The 9CAP seems to be the weapon of choice - you just need to find one!!

EDIT - Hmm should have read the last few posts!! FOUND ONE!! hehehehe
The_Mongrel is offline Find More Posts by The_Mongrel
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2010, 06:19 AM
Registered Crasher
Bilox's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2008
1,093 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Mongrel View Post
The 9CAP seems to be the weapon of choice - you just need to find one!!
Yea it's the finding part that will be fun!
Bilox is online now Find More Posts by Bilox
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2010, 05:39 PM
SSM
Voluntary Assumption of Risk
SSM's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Canterbury
Joined Nov 2003
1,220 Posts
Hmmm .... I wonder whose question that is on the ebay listing, about whether the 9CAP for sale is mode1 or mode 2 ... some wiley CAT maybe??

Simon
SSM is offline Find More Posts by SSM
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2010, 08:10 PM
A few Models is not enough Hon
GadgetEric's Avatar
Australia, WA, Noranda
Joined Mar 2007
173 Posts
Hi Guys
Bit of info on the 9C and mode changes. I have 3 of these and they are exellent radios. I just bought a 10c as well because it was cheap and the following info on mode changes goes for them as well. As yet I have not been able to fly one out of range using the PCM Dual Conversion receivers. I also have a Spectrum module in one and that is exellent too.

In the menu you can change the mode 1,2,3, or 4 the menu item is called stick mode. You also remove the back cover and take the throttle ratchet off and put it on the other stick and just one spring and arm on the gimble swap from one gimble to the other very easy and only takes 10minutes I have even done them at the field so I can fly mode 1 and have a student on mode 2 or 3 or 4. The manual discribes this as well so it is a accepted user mod not a tec job.

Hope this helps all you guys who have never had the pleasure of using one of these great radios
GadgetEric is offline Find More Posts by GadgetEric
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2010, 10:54 PM
Registered Crasher
Bilox's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2008
1,093 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSM View Post
Hmmm .... I wonder whose question that is on the ebay listing, about whether the 9CAP for sale is mode1 or mode 2 ... some wiley CAT maybe??

Simon
I know who it is!
Bilox is online now Find More Posts by Bilox
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2010, 10:55 PM
Registered Crasher
Bilox's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2008
1,093 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GadgetEric View Post
Hi Guys
Bit of info on the 9C and mode changes. I have 3 of these and they are exellent radios. I just bought a 10c as well because it was cheap and the following info on mode changes goes for them as well. As yet I have not been able to fly one out of range using the PCM Dual Conversion receivers. I also have a Spectrum module in one and that is exellent too.

In the menu you can change the mode 1,2,3, or 4 the menu item is called stick mode. You also remove the back cover and take the throttle ratchet off and put it on the other stick and just one spring and arm on the gimble swap from one gimble to the other very easy and only takes 10minutes I have even done them at the field so I can fly mode 1 and have a student on mode 2 or 3 or 4. The manual discribes this as well so it is a accepted user mod not a tec job.

Hope this helps all you guys who have never had the pleasure of using one of these great radios

Great, Thanks for the info!
Bilox is online now Find More Posts by Bilox
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2010, 02:27 AM
The Flying Circus
ommadawn's Avatar
Adelaide South Australia
Joined Sep 2007
3,811 Posts
I just wish the mixing menu wasnt so confusing
ommadawn is online now Find More Posts by ommadawn
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2010, 02:47 AM
Aint nothing like a Mongrel!!
The_Mongrel's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Yass
Joined Dec 2007
7,655 Posts
Speaking of radios... does anyone have any experience with the Hitec gear?

I am looking for new 36m radio to use with my FPV Tricopter, and was thinking about the Optic6. Does anyone have any experience with this gear?

Cheers
-J
The_Mongrel is offline Find More Posts by The_Mongrel
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2010, 03:50 AM
I love FPV!
Cralis's Avatar
Eastern side of Australia
Joined Jan 2007
4,650 Posts
I had a Hitec Eclipse 7, and it was fine. basic... but it worked on my Trex450 and my Raptor 50 helicopters just fine. Hope that helps. It was very basic though. When I got my DX7, I was very happy...
Cralis is offline Find More Posts by Cralis
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2010, 03:57 AM
Aint nothing like a Mongrel!!
The_Mongrel's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Yass
Joined Dec 2007
7,655 Posts
Thanks Cralis. I have a DX7, but I want to fly 2.4g with a 36m radio on my Tricopter - I did think of getting a JR radio, but can't find a cheap enough one, and I can get an Optic6 at a good price - but just dont know what they are like.

Cheers
-J
The_Mongrel is offline Find More Posts by The_Mongrel
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion FPV Car and Other Fun FPV Projects Thread: Crash9 FPV Talk 6481 Today 09:17 AM
Build Log Easy Fly Glider ST330 (Easy Glider Clone) FPV Build Thread SoMoney FPV Talk 493 Nov 12, 2012 03:08 PM
Discussion FPV Beginners Reference Mega Thread... rc_ron FPV Talk 167 Mar 24, 2012 07:31 AM
Cool Aussie XBOX Live thread ozzi supercub Australia 7 Oct 22, 2009 01:42 PM
Discussion FPV WARS (Thread for FPV "B" Movies) ch1 FPV Talk 8 Sep 16, 2009 05:37 PM