HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 24, 2009, 03:57 AM
Joined Sep 2007
1,803 Posts
Discussion
Omni 3+ Mile FPV Quadcopter System

I would like to present an FPV base system optimized for Quadcopters that I have been working on for several months. The system uses standard off the shelf components. The key characteristics are:

1) Omin coverage range >3 miles when flying at High Altitudes. No antenna tracking.

2) Non line of sight Landing coverage (0.5 meter) up to 1 mile.

3) On screen RSSI for FPV Video RX levels (both channels of diversity).

4) On screen RSSI for Futaba FASST control system.

5) Indoor base station using outside antennas with Omni coverage.

Unlike gliders and airplanes, most Quadcopters do not have the speed or flying time to go great distances. They do have the ability to hover close to the ground providing unique video and photography opportunities. The low altitude, often with non line of sight conditions, presents a control and video signal challenge unlike the high flying planes.

Although an amateur radio license is required for my particular implementation, elements of the system (like the RSSI for Video & FASST) could be useful in other FPV systems. Here is an example of a Quadcopter 1.4 miles away being controlled from inside my home via video on a large screen TV:

Note the two bar graph in the lower left corner of the FPV video. That is showing the signal level in dB for the two diversity receivers. The scale is calibrated such that that a signal just above the 0 level mark is still flyable. You can see that at 1.4 miles there is at least 12 dB of margin. (I am VERY conservative in my calculations).

During the development of this system I made extensive use of a Longley Rice modeling program to predict the control and video range for my local area. Here is an example showing the expected coverage for Quadcopter landings in my area:

Of course the high altitude coverage is MUCH wider: