HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 23, 2012, 03:05 PM
Registered User
seeingeyegod's Avatar
United States, OR, Portland
Joined Jan 2008
1,808 Posts
Okay so I have a really basic question. I have a PZ UM Corsair, that contains the AR6400 "brick", correct? Can it be attached a to a brushless ESC somehow or can I only use it with the brushed motor that came with the Corsair?
seeingeyegod is offline Find More Posts by seeingeyegod
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 23, 2012, 03:09 PM
Registered User
BryanEW710's Avatar
United States, OH, Cincinnati
Joined Sep 2010
1,648 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by seeingeyegod View Post
Okay so I have a really basic question. I have a PZ UM Corsair, that contains the AR6400 "brick", correct? Can it be attached a to a brushless ESC somehow or can I only use it with the brushed motor that came with the Corsair?
Yes. Check this thread for more info.
BryanEW710 is offline Find More Posts by BryanEW710
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2012, 03:41 PM
Power Wheels Guru
UNGN's Avatar
Southlake, TX
Joined Jan 2008
7,327 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by seeingeyegod View Post
Okay so I have a really basic question. I have a PZ UM Corsair, that contains the AR6400 "brick", correct? Can it be attached a to a brushless ESC somehow or can I only use it with the brushed motor that came with the Corsair?
You can even use the Brick with a 2S Brushless ESC, by powering the brick thru the BEC of the ESC and using a diode to drop the 5.0v's from the BEC down to about 4.2V.

A Brushless Corsair on 2S will have much better performance than one on 1S. Most 1S brushless motors will not perform as well as the original brushed motor.
UNGN is offline Find More Posts by UNGN
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2012, 07:33 PM
"Free" in Christ!
Free's Avatar
United States, CA, SF
Joined Jan 2012
864 Posts
That would take a decent amount of time, effort, and money right? But seems doable.

Free
Free is offline Find More Posts by Free
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2012, 07:38 PM
Registered User
seeingeyegod's Avatar
United States, OR, Portland
Joined Jan 2008
1,808 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanEW710 View Post
Yes. Check this thread for more info.
thanks
seeingeyegod is offline Find More Posts by seeingeyegod
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 06:31 AM
Power Wheels Guru
UNGN's Avatar
Southlake, TX
Joined Jan 2008
7,327 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Free View Post
That would take a decent amount of time, effort, and money right? But seems doable.

Free
What, a 2S Corsair?

It'll take a 1 dollar diode, a $14 ESC, a $7 motor, a $1 prop, $.05 of heat shrink, some battery extensions from HK, some scrap plastic for a firewall and some screws you have laying around.

For tools you'll need a soldering iron/solder and some epoxy to install the firewall in the plane.
UNGN is offline Find More Posts by UNGN
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 10:26 AM
"Free" in Christ!
Free's Avatar
United States, CA, SF
Joined Jan 2012
864 Posts
You have a point, what motor/speed control would you use, would you have to swap wires like this?

Free
Free is offline Find More Posts by Free
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 11:02 AM
Dr John
pmpjohn's Avatar
Lake Placid, Florida
Joined Dec 2001
2,712 Posts
The easy way but not the cheapest way is to swap out the Rx board and motor from a beast. I did this on a Polecat and now have a Polebeast.

John
pmpjohn is offline Find More Posts by pmpjohn
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 11:07 AM
Registered User
BryanEW710's Avatar
United States, OH, Cincinnati
Joined Sep 2010
1,648 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmpjohn View Post
The easy way but not the cheapest way is to swap out the Rx board and motor from a beast. I did this on a Polecat and now have a Polebeast.

John
Good idea!
BryanEW710 is offline Find More Posts by BryanEW710
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 07:31 PM
Registered User
dbacon's Avatar
Shelby Twp, MI
Joined May 2006
1,966 Posts
A 2 cell LiPo could go as high as 8.4 volts fully charged. A diode drops 0.7 volt, leaving 7.7 V to the Rx, isn't that too high?
dbacon is offline Find More Posts by dbacon
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 07:41 PM
Registered User
GIFLYRC's Avatar
INDEPENDENTLY POOR in OHIO
Joined Dec 2001
1,028 Posts
The power for the reciever is taken from the BEC output of the ESC and is typically 5vdc which is dropped to 4.3vdc by the diode---Just right to power the brick!

Roger aka GIFLYRC
GIFLYRC is online now Find More Posts by GIFLYRC
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 07:59 PM
Richard Cox
Thousand Oaks, CA
Joined Dec 2003
663 Posts
The AR6400LBL has a built-in brushless controller.
Also used in the Stryker 27Q.
Richard Cox is offline Find More Posts by Richard Cox
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 09:07 PM
Fly it like you STOL it!
Endlesslag's Avatar
United States, FL, Daytona Beach
Joined Jan 2011
4,046 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Cox View Post
The AR6400LBL has a built-in brushless controller.
Also used in the Stryker 27Q.
But its limited to 3a output. Not usually an issue but can be limiting sometimes. The as3x brick is 5a, so better.
Adding a seperate ESC gives a bit more flexibility.
Endlesslag is online now Find More Posts by Endlesslag
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 09:42 PM
Registered User
seeingeyegod's Avatar
United States, OR, Portland
Joined Jan 2008
1,808 Posts
The paper models are new to me. I just experimented with one of the three free downloads you get from fiddlers green and am badly putting together a cessna 172. Obviously this one is not ideal for putting a brick in, too weak made out of paper. What would be the best way to incorporate the graphics and design of a fiddlers green model into a structure/size that can support the ar6400? Would it be possible to just scale one up ever so slightly and make a rudimentary foam structure to support the paper exterior? Hmmm.
seeingeyegod is offline Find More Posts by seeingeyegod
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 10:39 PM
"Free" in Christ!
Free's Avatar
United States, CA, SF
Joined Jan 2012
864 Posts
I would skip the paper and copy the design on to foam, you could make it profile. If I

am understanding you correctly that is what I would do.

Free
Free is offline Find More Posts by Free
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pictures: When planes were able to show off, at air shows Patrick Plawner Life, The Universe, and Politics 126 Mar 26, 2013 06:30 AM
Cool Show off your Parkzone Micro P-51!!! P-51C Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 938 Nov 20, 2012 06:49 PM
Discussion Show us those planes you really need to replace! JimTMich Parkflyers 8 Apr 26, 2012 11:05 AM
Discussion Show off those home made camera gimbals! ben1101 Aerial Photography 2 Jul 22, 2009 07:11 PM