HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 29, 2011, 01:26 AM
Registered Crasher
Bilox's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2008
1,087 Posts
Cool, yeah I want to mount a button into the front panel of my GS.
I'll do some investigating when mine gets here! Thanks.
Bilox is offline Find More Posts by Bilox
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 29, 2011, 06:09 AM
Multicopter/FPV/UAV/HAM
_helitron_'s Avatar
Austria, Stmk., Neudau
Joined Jun 2006
823 Posts
Just opened this button, it's a switch only and it connects the tip and the middle ring of the 4-polar plug.

Erwin
_helitron_ is offline Find More Posts by _helitron_
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2011, 09:52 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
131 Posts
Hello!
I received my FPV-Japan DVR last week from RMRC (Thanks Tim!).
I don't know if this has been covered, but I found a great benefit of this device. I have a Haier 10" LCD display that sometimes will black-screen and display No Signal when I have significant static. If I connect the LCD display to the FPV-Japan DVR's AV Out port, the static comes right through and the display doesn't black-screen. YMMV, but I'm seeing this behavior consistently. I don't notice a significant lag doing this either - but I'm not flying through trees or other low-flying stunts so I'm not a good judge (more testing is probably required).
You do have to enable the LCD out (which turns off the mini-display on the DVR), but the easiest way I found to do this is to use the LCD button on the remote supplied with the DVR.
Also - you do lose the port for which the big red button gets plugged into. I haven't had an issue using the side-switch instead.
Anyhow - thought I'd share this. I'm really enjoying this device.
nft343 is offline Find More Posts by nft343
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2011, 11:33 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2009
169 Posts
Hi Vantasstic. Where did you get the power plug (LINK) for the dvd burner.
I have the SD4 and I love it. I as well think of getting something smaller though.
I would like to enjoy it for a while and then sell it.
PistaJ is offline Find More Posts by PistaJ
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2011, 11:40 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2009
88 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nft343 View Post
the static comes right through and the display doesn't black-screen.
I was thinking to connect headplays to AV-output so SD4 can be a "filter" for HP to avoid bug with low rate video after static video signal.
AlcoNaft43 is offline Find More Posts by AlcoNaft43
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2011, 01:38 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Sep 2003
17,761 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by PistaJ View Post
Hi Vantasstic. Where did you get the power plug (LINK) for the dvd burner.
I have the SD4 and I love it. I as well think of getting something smaller though.
I would like to enjoy it for a while and then sell it.
I got my DVDirect power plug from Radio Shack. I'll have to look for a link and will post later. The DVDirect is MUCH larger than the SD4 though.
Vantasstic is offline Find More Posts by Vantasstic
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 29, 2011, 03:46 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2009
169 Posts
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...ction_DVD.html

This is what I need the power plug for. It will be the same I thing.
PistaJ is offline Find More Posts by PistaJ
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2011, 04:55 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Sep 2003
17,761 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by PistaJ View Post
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...ction_DVD.html

This is what I need the power plug for. It will be the same I thing.
Yeah, it looks the same. Have you already bought it? I'd sell my DVDirect for less than that. I just find my SD4 more convenient.
Vantasstic is offline Find More Posts by Vantasstic
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 29, 2011, 06:06 PM
Sam in Virginia
sverlander's Avatar
Hampton Virginia
Joined Jul 2005
597 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by PistaJ View Post
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...ction_DVD.html

This is what I need the power plug for. It will be the same I thing.
Here's my post with all the info on the power plug for the Sony VRDMC- DVDirect DVD recorder
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=140
AllElectronics.com

http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a...3.4-X-1/1.html

CO-AX POWER PLUG W/ CENTER PIN 5 X 3.4 X 1

Coax power plug with 1mm diameter center pin. Common replacements for laptop computer power supplies. 5mm o.d. x 3.4mm i.d.
sverlander is offline Find More Posts by sverlander
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2011, 07:53 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Sep 2003
17,761 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by PistaJ View Post
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...ction_DVD.html

This is what I need the power plug for. It will be the same I thing.
The plug I got was from Radio Shack. Here's a link to the different plugs:
http://support.radioshack.com/suppor.../pwrgde-2H.htm
Mine has the Yellow strip and has a D on the plug...thus must be the Enercell Adaptaplug D, 5.5mm OD, 3.3mm ID, with .9mm pin. Hope that helps.
Vantasstic is offline Find More Posts by Vantasstic
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 30, 2011, 06:43 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2009
169 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sverlander View Post
Here's my post with all the info on the power plug for the Sony VRDMC- DVDirect DVD recorder
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=140
AllElectronics.com

http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a...3.4-X-1/1.html

CO-AX POWER PLUG W/ CENTER PIN 5 X 3.4 X 1

Coax power plug with 1mm diameter center pin. Common replacements for laptop computer power supplies. 5mm o.d. x 3.4mm i.d.
Well I hope they sell to Europe. It is so unpleasant I can not get the plug here.
As well it would be so easy to disassemble it and change the plug for some normal brand. Has anybody disassembled the unit? By looking at it I do not know where to start.
PistaJ is offline Find More Posts by PistaJ
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2011, 01:39 PM
Sam in Virginia
sverlander's Avatar
Hampton Virginia
Joined Jul 2005
597 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by PistaJ View Post
Well I hope they sell to Europe. It is so unpleasant I can not get the plug here.
As well it would be so easy to disassemble it and change the plug for some normal brand. Has anybody disassembled the unit? By looking at it I do not know where to start.
Here's an idea, if I had thought of this at the time I would have tried it myself. You have the factory power supply with the correct plug. The wire only has 2 wires inside. Cut the wire into and add a set of dean connectors so you can plug it back together to use the power supply and also make a matching wire to power the plug off a battery.
sverlander is offline Find More Posts by sverlander
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2011, 04:08 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2009
169 Posts
Hi nice idea. As I want to sell it later I did not want to do that. Instead I got totally insane and made my own plug. It took me 30 minutes and it works. This is pure madness do not laugh. I will either be able to get he plug later, or if I decide to keep it I will change the socket inside the recorder.
In case some of you are desperate as me, get inspired by the photographs.
A decent FPV flyer has all the parts necessary at their workshop.
PistaJ is offline Find More Posts by PistaJ
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2011, 04:40 PM
Sam in Virginia
sverlander's Avatar
Hampton Virginia
Joined Jul 2005
597 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by PistaJ View Post
Hi nice idea. As I want to sell it later I did not want to do that. Instead I got totally insane and made my own plug. It took me 30 minutes and it works. This is pure madness do not laugh. I will either be able to get he plug later, or if I decide to keep it I will change the socket inside the recorder.
In case some of you are desperate as me, get inspired by the photographs.
A decent FPV flyer has all the parts necessary at their workshop.
You sir are a true Master Craftsman
Well done
sverlander is offline Find More Posts by sverlander
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 01, 2011, 12:04 AM
FPV nut
traderdmb's Avatar
Sorrento, FL
Joined Nov 2010
702 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
Would someone of you guys willing resell the cheap one (Vupoint) to Europe. PM me with details if anyone's willing to help ...Don't know how the customs will react, probably I'll have to pay the import tax.

Also as I read if you take the video "through" the vupoint in puts it's osd on to it (can some one take a pic of how it looks) and you can then feed that signal to an lcd and eliminate it's bluescreen problems...So I would like to see just how big is that osd of the recorder.
You don't want the vupoint. It's garbage.
traderdmb is offline Find More Posts by traderdmb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Which portable video recording device? al_b FPV Talk 6 Feb 28, 2007 11:03 PM
Discussion Recycle any battery or portable electronic device. willhaney Batteries and Chargers 3 Dec 21, 2006 03:27 PM
Onboard Recording / Telemetry Device - Suggestions? LoopZilla Micro Helis 27 Jun 01, 2005 10:23 PM
Throttle usage recording device CloudyBright DIY Electronics 3 Dec 16, 2004 07:51 PM
Interesting Portable Photo Storage Device Randy Due Aerial Photography 12 Apr 11, 2004 03:29 AM