Closed Thread
Old May 02, 2003, 02:30 AM
AllAloneInSpaceAndTime
Canada, ON, Guelph
Joined Apr 2003
2,387 Posts
My First Plane - GWS Tiger Moth - A Newbie's Story

Well hello all,

As you probably guessed from the title of the thread...... I am a newbie, and I'm building a GWS Tiger Moth. I know this is nothing new to most of you, but it is to me. And I really wanted my "own thread" to document my experience.

I recieved it today, (thanks again Etonic) and decided to go about this a little more slowly than some of you experienced builders. Just so I don't make any mistakes, also so I can incorporate some of the feedback I get on building it.

My Tiger Moth is unpainted. SOooooooo, I really don't want to have the regular yellow moth that most people have. I would really like to do something out of the ordinary. What do you think of a metallic purple/blue Moth with black trim? (I'm hoping someday to work up to WWII fighters that will have realistic paint jobs, so no complaining.)

One of the other things I was thinking, but isn't so out of the ordinary, is that I will be sanding the foam "bumps" out of the fuse. But I also plan on filling the seam along the fuse with lightweight spackle. Would this cause any issues with painting?

Anyway, enough for tonight. (this morning..... its 3:35am) I will be posting details on hardware soon. I just wanted to throw this thread into the mix to get it started. Later all.

Enemy
The Enemy is offline Find More Posts by The Enemy
to remove ads between posts
Old May 02, 2003, 08:27 AM
ODB VI September 2014
United States, OK, Weleetka
Joined Dec 2000
8,508 Posts
Lighter is better

On a lower powered model( at least in stock form) Like the GWS TigerMoth you want it to be light.
Don't go heavy on the paint. Metalic paints can be heavy and you won't see it in the air.