HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 02, 2010, 09:58 PM
Registered User
noppita's Avatar
Joined Jul 2009
2,189 Posts
good infor about wmp

Thank you for your info. i will look into your information and see if i can make it work but i have one question.

when you said "All was good until i connected it to the gyro vcc"

did you mean " out " connection on the kk board? because on kk board, there are 3 connection which are vcc, out signal, and ground. You need to connect kk board (out) to wmp roll, pitch, yaw ---------> not from vcc?

please clarify this.




Quote:
Originally Posted by foamman1 View Post
I don't know if this helps, but i am also using the wmp. I have been playing around with it in my shop for about a week now. I thought that i had it all figured out pitch roll and yaw.I had it hooked to a 4 cell flight pack (5.0v+/-). I also used a jumper on the voltage regulator as per thanh tran's pics. I found the output pins, I was getting 1.34v or so from all three outputs. All was good until i connected it to the gyro vcc. I could only get the yaw to work. The roll and pitch would not work. I disconnected wmp from the gyro vcc and connected it directly to its own power source while gyro outputs were still connected to the kk control board. Powered it up every thing is going crazy. gyro outputs were still at 1.34+/-. It was strange like any one axis was controlling the others, any way I made the gryo board power connection to the pos and grnd to the motor side of the kk board and presto it works. I think that the v regulator on the wmp is causing a conflict with the v regulator on the kk board. when i had the gyro board connected to the gyro vcc the voltage was only 2.2v. When there is nothing connected to the gyro vcc the voltage is about 4.65v the best i can remember.So it looks like i will have to set gyro vcc to 3v and bypass the wmp on board voltage regulator.
noppita is offline Find More Posts by noppita
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 02, 2010, 10:23 PM
Registered User
louisiana
Joined Jan 2004
25 Posts
Yes, i did connect the roll pitch and yaw to the gyro out, but the wmp needs only one power source and ground. I tried to use one of the gyro vcc. It did not work for me as it only showed about 2 v with the wmp connected. With out the wmp connected gyro vcc is about 4.65. My be some will chime in as to why the voltage drops from 4.65 to 2.2 when i connect the wmp to the kk control.I will try to post some pics maybe in the morning if i can get my camera to take some decent pics.
foamman1 is offline Find More Posts by foamman1
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 02, 2010, 11:05 PM
Registered User
noppita's Avatar
Joined Jul 2009
2,189 Posts
ok, i understand now, you connect roll, pitch, yaw from wmp to kk board out signal and connect positive and ground to vcc --------> did not work because volt drop to 2.2 v.

this is what i did: i connected positive and ground from wmp to kk board external power supply for 5 v. (my board has 5 v. ready) and i measured 5.02 v. and i connect roll, pitch and yaw to kk board out signal. but no response from gyro when i connected everything up. so i think that wmp roll, pitch and yaw output on wmp is wrong. i do not know which location on wmp to connect.

Quote:
Originally Posted by foamman1 View Post
Yes, i did connect the roll pitch and yaw to the gyro out, but the wmp needs only one power source and ground. I tried to use one of the gyro vcc. It did not work for me as it only showed about 2 v with the wmp connected. With out the wmp connected gyro vcc is about 4.65. My be some will chime in as to why the voltage drops from 4.65 to 2.2 when i connect the wmp to the kk control.I will try to post some pics maybe in the morning if i can get my camera to take some decent pics.
noppita is offline Find More Posts by noppita
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 03, 2010, 12:10 AM
That tree again!!!!
thanhTran's Avatar
Germantown, MD, US
Joined Sep 2004
6,642 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by foamman1 View Post
.... All was good until i connected it to the gyro vcc. I could only get the yaw to work. The roll and pitch would not work. I disconnected wmp from the gyro vcc and connected it directly to its own power source while gyro outputs were still connected to the kk control board. Powered it up every thing is going crazy. gyro outputs were still at 1.34+/-. It was strange like any one axis was controlling the others, any way I made the gryo board power connection to the pos and grnd to the motor side of the kk board and presto it works. I think that the v regulator on the wmp is causing a conflict with the v regulator on the kk board. when i had the gyro board connected to the gyro vcc the voltage was only 2.2v. When there is nothing connected to the gyro vcc the voltage is about 4.65v the best i can remember.So it looks like i will have to set gyro vcc to 3v and bypass the wmp on board voltage regulator.
You need to connect the +5v of the WMP to the middle pin of the motor connectors (either M1 to M6) or the middle pins of the RX connectors. The power consumption of the WiiM+ is pretty high compared to the HK gyros and thus you cannot connect it to the RVcc, or YVcc, or PVcc pads.

If you feel that one axis controls another, you might feel right. In that case, just swap the pitch & roll wires and that should help.


Thanh
thanhTran is offline Find More Posts by thanhTran
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 03, 2010, 01:28 AM
Jakub J's Avatar
Krakow/POLAND
Joined Dec 2009
1,743 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by titeuf007 View Post
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=6684341150
why not a frame with that...
on top of that it s very cheap less than 20usd
hehe it is photo camera tripoid, not TRI frame

J.
Jakub J is offline Find More Posts by Jakub J
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 03, 2010, 01:28 AM
Registered User
noppita's Avatar
Joined Jul 2009
2,189 Posts
thanTran


did you look at my wmp photo? any idea
noppita is offline Find More Posts by noppita
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 03, 2010, 03:03 AM
manuLRK
Belgium
Joined Sep 2004
1,533 Posts
Vref theory

Thanks!
Quote:
Originally Posted by alll View Post
Hi (dt8666, Mike Barton, thanhTran,...)

I was looking posts for Vref theory.

Summary how to set Vref based on the gyro specs?

Sensitivity
Voff Zero-rate level
...

thanks,
manuLRK

This is what I found so far:
Voltage calculator
http://www.reuk.co.uk/LM317-Voltage-Calculator.htm

[PHP]
R9\R10 150 180 220 240 270 330 370 390 470
68 1.82 1.72 1.64 1.60 1.56 1.51 1.48 1.47 1.43
82 1.93 1.82 1.72 1.68 1.63 1.56 1.53 1.51 1.47
100 2.08 1.94 1.82 1.77 1.71 1.63 1.59 1.57 1.52
120 2.25 2.08 1.93 1.88 1.81 1.70 1.66 1.63 1.57
150 2.50 2.29 2.10 2.03 1.94 1.82 1.76 1.73 1.65
180 2.75 2.50 2.27 2.19 2.08 1.93 1.86 1.83 1.73
220 3.08 2.78 2.50 2.40 2.27 2.08 1.99 1.96 1.84
240 3.25 2.92 2.61 2.50 2.36 2.16 2.06 2.02 1.89
[/PHP]
Quote:
Originally Posted by thanhTran View Post
You need to find the gyro spec, seeing the number of degrees per second (assume 2500 for the Wii gyro), and then seeing the default voltage (0 angular velocity), and the number of milivolt per degree per sec. The max voltage the gyro will produce will be:

max_V = default_voltage + ("degrees per second" * "millivolts per degree per sec")/1000

Example for Wii M+ (original version which uses IDG600 which I assume similar to IDG650):

1.3 + (2000 * 0.5)/1000 = 1.3 + 1 = 2.3v

Choose the Vref voltage generated by the LM317 close to or a little higher than the max_V number you find above which is from 2.3 - 2.5v.
Quote:
Originally Posted by thanhTran View Post
The Vref & ADC are explained here


Here is how I write my code. I assume KK code also does this:
(Note that the code doesn't know anything about the Vref here. It only knows the values it reads from the ADC pins)

First, when the code is first power up with the quad stays still, it measures the gyro voltage. This is the neutral gyro voltage at zero rotation. The value the code sees is just a number ranged from 0 - 1023 (for 10 bit ADC) or 0 - 4095 (12 bit ADC). This neutral value is matching with the 1.3v that we can measure the at the gyro output when it's sitting still.

Then during flight, the code keeps reading the voltage from the gyro, and subtract it with the neutral value to see how fast rotation the gyro senses.

Then the code uses this difference, multiplies it with the gyro gain, then it use this value to decide how much to reduce or increase the power that goes to the motor.

-Thanh
alll is offline Find More Posts by alll
Last edited by alll; Nov 03, 2010 at 07:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 03, 2010, 03:15 AM
Registered User
noppita's Avatar
Joined Jul 2009
2,189 Posts
manulrk

can you take a look at my wmp layout that i just purchased. the layout is different from all shown. how do i identify the output singal for roll pitch yaw.
noppita is offline Find More Posts by noppita
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 03, 2010, 03:21 AM
That tree again!!!!
thanhTran's Avatar
Germantown, MD, US
Joined Sep 2004
6,642 Posts
WiiMP original connection

Hi Jussi et all
Here is a hi-res photo of the original WiiMP connection.


U2 in the picture is a regulator. It creates 5v. In the original version of the WiiMP that I have, I have to add that jumper to enable the power. Only after having this wire did I get 3v on the output. Verify this voltage if you don't see any response to your motion when measuring voltage on the analog outputs.

The analog output pads are: T1 (yaw), T2 (pitch), and T3 (roll)
Beware, these pads are very fragile. I almost broke one of the pads off.


-Thanh

EDIT: somehow RCgroups compress the JEPG too much. Here is a better photo:
http://simple-flight-controller.goog...9_IMG_7882.JPG
thanhTran is offline Find More Posts by thanhTran
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 03, 2010, 03:26 AM
manuLRK
Belgium
Joined Sep 2004
1,533 Posts
Look here, same conclusion on gyro VCC,
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=6574
manuLRK

Quote:
Originally Posted by foamman1 View Post
I don't know if this helps, but i am also using the wmp. I have been playing around with it in my shop for about a week now. I thought that i had it all figured out pitch roll and yaw.I had it hooked to a 4 cell flight pack (5.0v+/-). I also used a jumper on the voltage regulator as per thanh tran's pics. I found the output pins, I was getting 1.34v or so from all three outputs. All was good until i connected it to the gyro vcc. I could only get the yaw to work. The roll and pitch would not work. I disconnected wmp from the gyro vcc and connected it directly to its own power source while gyro outputs were still connected to the kk control board. Powered it up every thing is going crazy. gyro outputs were still at 1.34+/-. It was strange like any one axis was controlling the others, any way I made the gryo board power connection to the pos and grnd to the motor side of the kk board and presto it works. I think that the v regulator on the wmp is causing a conflict with the v regulator on the kk board. when i had the gyro board connected to the gyro vcc the voltage was only 2.2v. When there is nothing connected to the gyro vcc the voltage is about 4.65v the best i can remember.So it looks like i will have to set gyro vcc to 3v and bypass the wmp on board voltage regulator.
Quote:
Originally Posted by noppita View Post
Dear thanTran and all


i have attached the wmp layout that i purchased locally and the wmp board layout does not look like any of the wmp photo shown in this forum. Can someone help me out. I would like to know the connection point for roll, pitch, yaw gyro to be connected to kk board. and also red (+) and black (ground) connection to wmp board.
alll is offline Find More Posts by alll
Last edited by alll; Nov 03, 2010 at 07:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 03, 2010, 03:28 AM
That tree again!!!!
thanhTran's Avatar
Germantown, MD, US
Joined Sep 2004
6,642 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by noppita View Post
Dear thanTran and all


i have attached the wmp layout that i purchased locally and the wmp board layout does not look like any of the wmp photo shown in this forum. Can someone help me out. I would like to know the connection point for roll, pitch, yaw gyro to be connected to kk board. and also red (+) and black (ground) connection to wmp board.
Could you check to see if you have voltage on the lower right pin of the regulator U1 (measured between GND and that lower right pin), please?
thanhTran is offline Find More Posts by thanhTran
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 03, 2010, 04:06 AM
Registered User
POLAND/Warsaw
Joined Apr 2009
15 Posts
Hi!

I am going to build KKquadrocopter on SMD PCB v5. I have question about capacitor.

C1: 22 - 47uF (EIA 3528-21 / Kemet B) (From the HK401B gyro)
C2: 22 - 47uF (EIA 3528-21 / Kemet B) (From the HK401B gyro)
C3: 22 - 47uF (EIA 3528-21 / Kemet B) (From the HK401B gyro)
C4: 22 - 47uF (EIA 3528-21 / Kemet B) (From the HK401B gyro)
C5: 0.68uF (EIA 3528-21 / Kemet B)
C6: 0.68uF (EIA 3528-21 / Kemet B)

C7: 22 - 47uF (EIA 3528-21 / Kemet B) (From the HK401B gyro)
C8: 0.68uF (EIA 3528-21 / Kemet B)
C9: 22 - 47uF (EIA 3528-21 / Kemet B) (From the HK401B gyro)
C10: 2.2uF (EIA 3528-21 / Kemet B)
C11: 22 - 47uF (EIA 3528-21 / Kemet B) (From the HK401B gyro)

This is capacitors list from kkmulticopter site.
Can I replace these three capacitors 0.68uF with another 0.68uF capacitors (not thantalium) or for example with 1.0uF thantalium? I cant find 0.68uF SMD thantalium capacitors in my electronics parts store.
strejla_u is offline Find More Posts by strejla_u
Last edited by strejla_u; Nov 03, 2010 at 04:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 03, 2010, 05:17 AM
Registered User
noppita's Avatar
Joined Jul 2009
2,189 Posts
jakub's board is using 1 uf tantalum. i do not know if 1 uf will be ok on other kk board or not.
noppita is offline Find More Posts by noppita
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 03, 2010, 05:19 AM
Registered User
noppita's Avatar
Joined Jul 2009
2,189 Posts
i will connect positive and ground from kk board to wmp as shown on my photo and measure between ground and lower right pin on U1 and will let you know soon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thanhTran View Post
Could you check to see if you have voltage on the lower right pin of the regulator U1 (measured between GND and that lower right pin), please?
noppita is offline Find More Posts by noppita
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 03, 2010, 05:49 AM
Jakub J's Avatar
Krakow/POLAND
Joined Dec 2009
1,743 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by noppita View Post
jakub's board is using 1 uf tantalum. i do not know if 1 uf will be ok on other kk board or not.
Should be ok - this the same layout, just different PCBs.
I have one PCB from Niall in my TRI and working fine with
1uF tantalum capacitors.

Jakub
Jakub J is offline Find More Posts by Jakub J
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Quadrotor brushless controller airbotix Multirotor Talk 63 Aug 06, 2010 12:15 PM
Discussion ALPO -Aerobatic Low Parts count Original design. Brian Courtice Foamies (Scratchbuilt) 8 Sep 21, 2009 04:57 AM
Discussion Any tips for my first flight with a low wing plane? Warthog_Fan Fuel Plane Talk 4 Sep 06, 2009 08:53 AM
Help! Need help with Low-cost QuadRotor Hero.sl Coaxial Helicopters 5 Jun 28, 2009 03:26 AM
Question Searching Simple Controller for Free Flight flymax Power Systems 8 Jan 07, 2006 11:07 AM