HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 10, 2010, 09:07 AM
RTFM // copter damaged
warthox's Avatar
Joined Aug 2009
1,690 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kapteinkuk View Post
yes
ok cool, thanks
warthox is offline Find More Posts by warthox
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 10, 2010, 10:04 AM
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Ireland, County Dublin, Dublin
Joined Feb 2005
2,566 Posts
Thanks Niall and bob.titus.
No I have plenty of sources to get the CCW props from.
IceWind is online now Find More Posts by IceWind
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2010, 10:11 AM
No, it's the same plane ...
jjk77's Avatar
Deutschland, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Bochum
Joined Jul 2010
149 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceWind View Post
Thanks Niall and bob.titus.
No I have plenty of sources to get the CCW props from.
Did they mentioned http://www.cnc-modellsport.de/ ? As ireland is within the EU they will ship there very cheap.

I ordered the 8x4.5 "set" from them: http://www.cnc-modellsport.de/produc...oducts_id=1533

This is a pair consisting of one CW and one CCW prop.

greetings
Jens
jjk77 is offline Find More Posts by jjk77
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2010, 10:39 AM
"Let's put a camera on that.."
spagoziak's Avatar
Twin Cities, MN
Joined Feb 2010
1,063 Posts
Great setup Patrick! So putting a vtx on an arm doesn't adversely affect the CG ? How will you orient your antenna for polarization? You won't be able to point it up with the props there .. so sideways on both ground station and craft?

That mount is awesome, I'll have to get one when money restores itself. That FY-20A really has my attention... I've got a copilot from fma direct that works great as long as the temp between ground and sky is different. That's not going to do well in a minnesota winter with all that snow.
spagoziak is offline Find More Posts by spagoziak
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2010, 10:49 AM
Registered User
NL
Joined Nov 2009
304 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by warthox View Post
u said that we can use 25k pots instead of the 10k pots. so can i use 2k pots too?
As KK said: yes. But you'll use about 2mA per pot more VCC-current. With a non-switching BEC that would consume about 0.07W more power from your battery. No problem!
rewolff is offline Find More Posts by rewolff
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2010, 10:51 AM
Registered User
NL
Joined Nov 2009
304 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjk77 View Post
Did they mentioned http://www.cnc-modellsport.de/ ? As ireland is within the EU they will ship there very cheap.
After ordering and paying (3 sets of 10x4.7 props), they came back to me with: "please pay another EUR 3", so shipping wasn't that cheap for me.
rewolff is offline Find More Posts by rewolff
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2010, 10:55 AM
Jakub J's Avatar
Krakow/POLAND
Joined Dec 2009
1,635 Posts
Max LiPo size???

Hi ALL

I'm working with TRI frame and have one question...

How big should be space for LiPo(s)?

I'm using usually 2200mAh LiPo - 105x35x25mm
or 3000mAh LiPo - 140x45x25mm.

45x30mm space will be enought?
Or you have plan flying with 5000mAh LiPo?

Thanks for sugestions...

Jakub
Jakub J is offline Find More Posts by Jakub J
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2010, 11:42 AM
Went to mow a meadow
frank48's Avatar
Joined Feb 2007
1,407 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kapteinkuk View Post
Then I think you have CCW (as seen from above) direction on your front motor

Arming/disarming time is about 0.5sec. Whatch your LED.
Spot on Kapt'n, and slightly tilted to the right

Thanks for the upgrade

Frank
frank48 is offline Find More Posts by frank48
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2010, 12:27 PM
Registered User
Austria, Vienna,
Joined Aug 2010
6 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by patricklupo View Post
Here's pictures and a component list of my cheapo KK quadcopter frame v3.0; video later. Total weight w/o battery is 550 grams and distance between motor shafts is 20.5". It flys very stable off 3S (finally) at 7.5 minutes off one 1500mAH 3S Mystery lipo, and 13 off two in parallel. The frame was designed to be modular so that it's cheap & easy to repair. When enabled, the FY-20A keeps it level and is good insurance in case I lose video.

100mm x 300mm x 1mm carbon fiber sheet (cut in half for base plate)
Midwest Basswood Strips 1/2 x 1/2 x 24" (arms)
5/8" Aluminum U-Channel (motor mounts)
Mystery 35g 1100kv outrunners
Turnigy Plush 10amp ESC's (concealed between CF sheets)
EPP0845 CW/CCW Props (tilted motors w/GWS 8x43 props no good)
KK firmware v4.5
Everything held together with 4-40 nylon screws and zip ties

Spag,

600TVL camera will be going underneath in a headtracker enabled HobbyKing tilt pod with lots of room to spare. T-Rex 600 Standard skids and pipes w/80mm clearance are on the way, to replace the Gaui 500 size skids currently installed. A NGHobbies 1280MHz 400mW video Tx will velcro on the back arm.
Hello Patrick and All,

I am new to these interesting tri/quadricopters and to this thread and read a good part of it.

My questions are:

In the case of a tricopter or a quadricopter "a la" KK equipped with a FY-20A, which controller with IC is required and which firmware: tricopter v 1.3, quadricopter v 4.5.

Are the usual gyros required since the FY-20A seems to have 3 gyros and two accelerometers?

You said in a later post that a tricopter gives a smoother ride than a quadri, better start with a Tri.

That's all from now, Thanks
jrous is offline Find More Posts by jrous
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2010, 12:32 PM
RTFM // copter damaged
warthox's Avatar
Joined Aug 2009
1,690 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakub J View Post
Hi ALL

I'm working with TRI frame and have one question...

How big should be space for LiPo(s)?

I'm using usually 2200mAh LiPo - 105x35x25mm
or 3000mAh LiPo - 140x45x25mm.

45x30mm space will be enought?
Or you have plan flying with 5000mAh LiPo?

Thanks for sugestions...

Jakub
hi jakub,

i think a max of 3s3000 for a middle sized frame. 25-35cm motor to center.
i use 3s2600 and 3s3000.

btw. i got your frame today. very fast delivery! from friday to tuesday.
very clean parts; everything u need is in the kit. even the velcro for the battery! thanks

the first pics







markus
warthox is offline Find More Posts by warthox
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2010, 12:33 PM
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Ireland, County Dublin, Dublin
Joined Feb 2005
2,566 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjk77 View Post
Did they mentioned http://www.cnc-modellsport.de/ ? As ireland is within the EU they will ship there very cheap.

I ordered the 8x4.5 "set" from them: http://www.cnc-modellsport.decnc-mod...oducts_id=1533

This is a pair consisting of one CW and one CCW prop.

greetings
Jens
Too late! Thanks for the info I'll add that to the list.
In the mean time I went for lipode.de.

himodel.es was on hollidays and on the countries list they would only allow to choose between Spain, Portugal and the United States.

I payed 14 for sending the props here... damm expensive I must say I'll check cnc-modelsports.de next time to compare the shipping price.

Cheers.
IceWind is online now Find More Posts by IceWind
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2010, 01:26 PM
RTFM // copter damaged
warthox's Avatar
Joined Aug 2009
1,690 Posts
i tested the flight time again with a 3s2600 till the quad falls to the ground

14:35min
2396mah reloaded

=> 9,9A /4 = 2,475A/motor

emax 2822 with epp 8x4.5

quad weight is 527gr without batterie

in future u will find all infos about my kk multicopter on my page
warthox is offline Find More Posts by warthox
Last edited by warthox; Aug 11, 2010 at 03:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2010, 02:20 PM
OCD
Wright's Avatar
King, NC
Joined Aug 2000
460 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by warthox View Post
i

in future u will find all infos about my kk multicopter on my page
Hey Warthox, In your videos I noticed when you do rolls and loops they are always along a motor axis since you are flying in + mode. Can you do what I call an inside or outside snap for an airplane? So for an inside left snap I'd pull full up and left roll with full left rudder. Does this make any sense?

Not sure if you know but your quad videos were talked about on the ATTF pod cast
Wright is online now Find More Posts by Wright
Last edited by Wright; Aug 10, 2010 at 09:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2010, 02:45 PM
Speed Nut
Joined Jan 2010
479 Posts
Hello guys ,
I am also getting those noises from the motors, it's like static noise in a cell-phone.

I have read of a user on this thread who reprogrammed the HK ss series esc to allow higher refresh rates, has anyone tried the hack themselves?

You can hear the static noise in this video if you pay attention.

Also if I put my transmitter antenna very close to the kk board, the escs will reinitialyze, has anyone found a problem like this? I am using 72mhz transmitter and futaba rx.
Another problem I am getting is only in the yard behind my house and close to homes with Ham radios and antennas. Even a 2.4 ghz patch antenna that's 30-40 meters from the tricopter but pointed to the tricopter will make it flip over. If I fly in the fields away from town no problems.

This though does not happen if I fly a plane next to my house or other houses with ham transmitters and patch wi-fi antennas. Same radio and rx used and no problem what so ever for up to 3 kilometers.

When I am using the tri I am getting this problem with nearby antennas.

Any thoughts?

flight of the tricopter2.avi (7 min 25 sec)
MarcAntonio is offline Find More Posts by MarcAntonio
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2010, 02:51 PM
Registered User
Argentina, San Luis
Joined Feb 2006
36 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kapteinkuk View Post
I also have those clicking sounds. My guess is that ESC has a bigger workload with measuring the 180Hz input than 50Hz, and therefore misses the timing on firing up the right motorcoils.

When programming the chip, the EEPROM also gets erased. The reversing settings are stored there and gets erased. This kan be fixed by setting the EESAVE fuse.
Hi:

1st.- So... if theres no difference, medium time setting will be better than high, or not ?

2nd.- Aha... that was it. Actually I programmed a new one with the last, with the idea of a quick change. The problem showed up when changed I change one for another.

During the last fly, ( and it was the last of the day) I went up and Too far...lost position , heading, whaterer... after some seconds of panic, landed ( not exactly soft ) about 600 mt away. Wisted arms, and broken plastic case. Lucky me !!!!

No flying today !
Lewta is offline Find More Posts by Lewta
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Quadrotor brushless controller airbotix Multirotor Talk 63 Aug 06, 2010 11:15 AM
Discussion ALPO -Aerobatic Low Parts count Original design. Brian Courtice Foamies (Scratchbuilt) 8 Sep 21, 2009 03:57 AM
Discussion Any tips for my first flight with a low wing plane? Warthog_Fan Fuel Plane Talk 4 Sep 06, 2009 07:53 AM
Help! Need help with Low-cost QuadRotor Hero.sl Coaxial Helicopters 5 Jun 28, 2009 02:26 AM
Question Searching Simple Controller for Free Flight flymax Power Systems 8 Jan 07, 2006 10:07 AM