HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 19, 2010, 03:48 AM
xxxxxxxxxxxxx
JUERGEN_'s Avatar
Deutschland
Joined Nov 2009
660 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kapteinkuk View Post
I will take a look at the Arduino thingy
very good


is actually only a XTAL for 20cent
and free for rs232 debug.
Code:
;-*- Quadrocopter (Quadrotor) Controller V3 -*-
;-*-     All Code And Hardware Design       -*-
;-*-      By Rolf R Bakke,  Feb 2010        -*-
.....
;rcall ShowChannels
;rcall ShowGyros
...


interest would be the same with BOOT LOADER.


no problem with FUSES - http://www.chip45.com/AVR-ATmega-Mic...55eb23d42bbff3
BOOT LOADER - http://www.chip45.com/info/chip45boot2.html


jürgen
JUERGEN_ is offline Find More Posts by JUERGEN_
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 19, 2010, 05:22 AM
Registered User
Cleveland, Ohio
Joined Jan 2006
209 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kapteinkuk View Post
That is the thread that gave me the odd channel reading idea. UAVX and UAVP uses it. It is a genious idea

"Gaps between the pulses may be a problem for UAVX and UAVP depending on their width. The assumed width of the even numbered channels is from the trailing edge of the odd pulse to the leading edge of the next odd pulse."

Kapteinkuk, very neat project and I am seriously thinking about building it. But I have a question about the width, of say pulse two (pitch?).

When I move the pitch transmitter stick forward/reverse, pulse two will vary according to the amount I move the stick. It sounds like your program is making the pulse width the same, no matter how much forward or reverse I have in my transmitter. Since the controller is not reading channel two (pitch), how does it know to create channel two based on my stick movement?

I'm sure I misunderstand because we need to control pitch with our transmitter stick. For example, the controller creates the pulse two for forward stick (to put the quad in forward motion), but I am really adding reverse stick (to slow it down or come to a stop).

Same thing on channel four, or rudder, I give it left rudder, but the controller assumes no rudder.

If your measuring between the trailing edge of one odd channel to the leading edge of the next odd channel, how does the controller know to create my actual stick movements?

I guess my basic question is that if the program is not reading pitch (channel 2) or rudder (channel 4), how does the program know how I am moving the transmitter stick on those two channels?
jbfoamy is offline Find More Posts by jbfoamy
Last edited by jbfoamy; Mar 19, 2010 at 05:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2010, 06:36 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2010
59 Posts
The VCC came from the LM317,am I right?
Must I connect all the speedcontrollers to the +5 V?
They give 5 V each from the bec of the speedcontroller= 4 x 5V = 20V ???????
Or should I connect just one speedcontroller t the +5 V ?

can anyone answer my questions please ?


Thanks Lowie
lowie is offline Find More Posts by lowie
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2010, 08:29 AM
xxxxxxxxxxxxx
JUERGEN_'s Avatar
Deutschland
Joined Nov 2009
660 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowie View Post
Must I connect all the speedcontrollers to the +5 V? ..
in the schematic are the same values associated



jürgen
JUERGEN_ is offline Find More Posts by JUERGEN_
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2010, 08:44 AM
CNC Guitar
cyborgcnc's Avatar
New York, NY
Joined Feb 2010
339 Posts
Lowie,

Your questions were answered already by Kaptain..read the thread...Geesh...

-YES, the Vcc Comes from the voltage regulator, LM317. This is the filtered regulated voltage.

-ALL of the Speed controllers can be connected together, and since they are PARALLEL and NOT is Series, they will STILL give you 5V. IF they were is series, (WHICH THEY ARE NOT) they would have given you 20. So take all the RED wires, and ALL the BLACK wires of the speed controllers, and connect them together, then put that to the 5V in the schematic. let me know if you need me to explain this further....

Does this answer your questions?
cyborgcnc is offline Find More Posts by cyborgcnc
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2010, 10:07 AM
Registered User
VA
Joined Nov 2009
2,627 Posts
Follow the schematic closely. ESCs have regulators on them and supply the board with 5v which is connected in parallel so the voltage is still 5v. 5v is fed to the rc filter where it is filtered and then is labeled VCC to power the micro. VCC is fed to the the LM317 to give the lower regulated voltage to supply the on chip A/D converters and gyro gain pots. The two resistors connected to LM317 are used to set what the reference voltage will be.
pug398 is offline Find More Posts by pug398
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2010, 11:31 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2010
59 Posts
Now,I need now further explanation.
I had not noticed that they were Parallel
lowie is offline Find More Posts by lowie
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2010, 04:19 PM
Registered User
Cleveland, Ohio
Joined Jan 2006
209 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfoamy View Post
Kapteinkuk, very neat project and I am seriously thinking about building it. But I have a question about the width, of say pulse two (pitch?).

When I move the pitch transmitter stick forward/reverse, pulse two will vary according to the amount I move the stick. It sounds like your program is making the pulse width the same, no matter how much forward or reverse I have in my transmitter. Since the controller is not reading channel two (pitch), how does it know to create channel two based on my stick movement?

I'm sure I misunderstand because we need to control pitch with our transmitter stick. For example, the controller creates the pulse two for forward stick (to put the quad in forward motion), but I am really adding reverse stick (to slow it down or come to a stop).

Same thing on channel four, or rudder, I give it left rudder, but the controller assumes no rudder.

If your measuring between the trailing edge of one odd channel to the leading edge of the next odd channel, how does the controller know to create my actual stick movements?

I guess my basic question is that if the program is not reading pitch (channel 2) or rudder (channel 4), how does the program know how I am moving the transmitter stick on those two channels?
Ok, I received an explanation from a EE RC enthusiast at work today. I now understand how this works and why it is so hard to explain. The bottom line is that it does work and you are able to calculate the variable width pulse between the odd channels.

Thanks again for the project!
jbfoamy is offline Find More Posts by jbfoamy
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2010, 03:00 AM
Jakub J's Avatar
Krakow/POLAND
Joined Dec 2009
1,692 Posts
Hi!

Thank you for this project again

Excuse my English...

I was made board design hand-made in CorelDraw
I hope without mistakes


I will cut it using my CNC and solder after weekend.

Jakub
Jakub J is offline Find More Posts by Jakub J
Site Sponsor
Last edited by Jakub J; Mar 20, 2010 at 10:29 AM. Reason: n/r
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2010, 06:49 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2010
59 Posts
I want use the gyro's from an old Alian jump jet.
The gyro in the jump jet are murata gyrostars I suppose?
What about the connections? Must I follow the schematic from the gyrostar datasheeds?Or just directly connect the Vout to the ATmega?

Kaptian,how do you connect your gyro's in the quadcopterV1 ? (pictures)
lowie is offline Find More Posts by lowie
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2010, 07:59 PM
Quad Whisperer
Joined Jul 2008
942 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakub J View Post
Hi!

Thank you for this project again

Excuse my English...

I was made board design hand-made in CorelDraw
I hope without mistakes

I will cut it using my CNC and solder after weekend.

Jakub

Cool
I'm going to make of making a SMD PCB.
kapteinkuk is offline Find More Posts by kapteinkuk
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2010, 08:06 PM
Quad Whisperer
Joined Jul 2008
942 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowie View Post
I want use the gyro's from an old Alian jump jet.
The gyro in the jump jet are murata gyrostars I suppose?
What about the connections? Must I follow the schematic from the gyrostar datasheeds?Or just directly connect the Vout to the ATmega?

Kaptian,how do you connect your gyro's in the quadcopterV1 ? (pictures)
Yes, they look like Muratas.
Just follow the pinout in the datasheet and connect it to the same connection names in the quadrocopter schema.
kapteinkuk is offline Find More Posts by kapteinkuk
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2010, 01:37 AM
Jakub J's Avatar
Krakow/POLAND
Joined Dec 2009
1,692 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kapteinkuk View Post
Cool
I'm going to make of making a SMD PCB.
For sale, or for you only?

Jakub
Jakub J is offline Find More Posts by Jakub J
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2010, 03:23 AM
xxxxxxxxxxxxx
JUERGEN_'s Avatar
Deutschland
Joined Nov 2009
660 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakub J View Post
...
I was made board design hand-made in CorelDraw
I hope without mistakes


I will cut it using my CNC and solder after weekend.
is my board design , as crossing ADUINO and AEROQUAD

AERODUINO-mini- PCB 50x50mm



for production at the local PCB manufacturer
as EAGLE-PCB - http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showa...mentid=2947174

further assembly variants here - http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...5#post13793425


jürgen
JUERGEN_ is offline Find More Posts by JUERGEN_
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2010, 04:55 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2010
59 Posts
Kaptian,

I will use schematic V1 for connecting the muratas.But can I combine it with the schematic and the program from the V2 ?(use the potentiometers + the LM317 to gian the roll,pich and yaw )


Thanks Lowie
lowie is offline Find More Posts by lowie
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Quadrotor brushless controller airbotix Multirotor Talk 63 Aug 06, 2010 11:15 AM
Discussion ALPO -Aerobatic Low Parts count Original design. Brian Courtice Foamies (Scratchbuilt) 8 Sep 21, 2009 03:57 AM
Discussion Any tips for my first flight with a low wing plane? Warthog_Fan Fuel Plane Talk 4 Sep 06, 2009 07:53 AM
Help! Need help with Low-cost QuadRotor Hero.sl Coaxial Helicopters 5 Jun 28, 2009 02:26 AM
Question Searching Simple Controller for Free Flight flymax Power Systems 8 Jan 07, 2006 10:07 AM