SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 21, 2010, 10:12 AM
Registered User
Talontsi96's Avatar
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Joined Jun 2004
1,624 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdi3d View Post
Talontsi96 - That is one sweet looking frame! - How was it to put together?

Mike
It needed a bunch of filing on the tabs but it went together quite nice and quick, I'm pretty happy...
Talontsi96 is offline Find More Posts by Talontsi96
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 21, 2010, 10:19 AM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,704 Posts
Jim, what is a safe way to cut CF Rods? I have some that I purchased but have not used for another project.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jesolins View Post
RR,
Just trying to share lessons learned from the school of hard knocks... It is the old Air Force Instructor Nav in me
Cheers,
Jim
rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2010, 10:28 AM
Tri-Quad-Hexa-Octo-copters!!
United States, TX, San Antonio
Joined Feb 2007
14,659 Posts
CF cutting and drilling dust precautions 101

RR,
Under water Seriously this stuff is nasty on the lungs and body. Cancerous! Use appropriate precautions always! I have heard that Askman of heli camera mount fame succumbed due to health problems from CF dust.
I wear a surgical mask and goggles to protect the air and eye pathway to the vascular system. I also use rubber gloves for the bigger jobs. A vacuum fitted with a hypoallergenic filter is a good precaution too.
Cheers,
Jim
Quote:
Originally Posted by reverendrichie View Post
Jim, what is a safe way to cut CF Rods? I have some that I purchased but have not used for another project.
jesolins is offline Find More Posts by jesolins
Last edited by jesolins; Jan 21, 2010 at 10:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2010, 10:35 AM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,704 Posts
Wow, for me, it is not worth the risk.

thank you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jesolins View Post
RR,
Under water Seriously this stuff is nasty on the lungs and body. Cancerous! Use appropriate precautions always! I have heard that Askman of heli camera mount fame succumed due to health problems from CF dust.
I wear a surgical mask and goggles to protect the air and eye pathway to the vascular system. I also use rubber gloves for the bigger jobs. A vacuum fitted with a hypoallergenic filter is a good precaution too.
Cheers,
Jim
rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2010, 11:19 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2009
198 Posts
How does the TGY SK Series 28-30 750Kv compare with the original motor listed. I've noticed several people have made that choice.
flyingdogfilms is offline Find More Posts by flyingdogfilms
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2010, 11:21 AM
Registered User
Ironbridge (UK)
Joined Jan 2009
3,966 Posts
very nice! whats the height hold thing you may try with it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by AZ ChopperCam View Post
started machining the frames for our ultra large Tricopter. 40" radius from center to motor shafts. 18"-22" props (not sure on that yet).

For size reference here are some shots of it next to a Futaba 10C radio and Panasonic HMC150 camera. The camera is about 15" long and is the one we intend to put on this rig if flight tests prove successful.

Will install two motors tomorrow and finish drawing up the yaw bearing assembly for the yaw motor. Planning to use some 25mm I.D. Needle bearings for that mechanism.
Joshbb is offline Find More Posts by Joshbb
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2010, 11:26 AM
Registered User
United States, AL, Foley
Joined Nov 2005
539 Posts
Nice work DJ! That red pool table is becoming famous as your picture backdrop.
CoastalTom is offline Find More Posts by CoastalTom
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2010, 11:28 AM
by Alary Design
Photoship One's Avatar
Mesa, AZ
Joined May 2002
1,813 Posts
I'm going to start a new topic for my Ultra Large Tricopter build. It's not entirely relevant in here.... I'll answer all your questions in that thread once I start it, Later today most likely.
Photoship One is offline Find More Posts by Photoship One
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2010, 11:42 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2009
198 Posts
Is that an HVX you've got mounted under there? Wow. Don't crash.


Quote:
Originally Posted by AZ ChopperCam View Post
started machining the frames for our ultra large Tricopter. 40" radius from center to motor shafts. 18"-22" props (not sure on that yet).

For size reference here are some shots of it next to a Futaba 10C radio and Panasonic HMC150 camera. The camera is about 15" long and is the one we intend to put on this rig if flight tests prove successful.

Will install two motors tomorrow and finish drawing up the yaw bearing assembly for the yaw motor. Planning to use some 25mm I.D. Needle bearings for that mechanism.
flyingdogfilms is offline Find More Posts by flyingdogfilms
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2010, 12:04 PM
A man with too many toys
United States
Joined Feb 2001
17,924 Posts
HK401B arming problem solved


I figured out how to make the Turnigy Push ESC’s work with the HK401B gyro every time. You just put a Dionysus Design glitch reducer between the HK401B and the ESC and it will arm every time. Apparently some gyros don’t output a valid signal when they are powering up that confuses some ESC’s.
http://www.dionysusdesign.com/produc...products_id/42
RC Man is online now Find More Posts by RC Man
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2010, 12:11 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,704 Posts
But you need three of them and at 10 bucks each, where is the savings over using the Telebee?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC Man View Post
HK401B arming problem solved


I figured out how to make the Turnigy Push ESC’s work with the HK401B gyro every time. You just put a Dionysus Design glitch reducer between the HK401B and the ESC and it will arm every time. Apparently some gyros don’t output a valid signal when they are powering up that confuses some ESC’s.
http://www.dionysusdesign.com/produc...products_id/42
rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2010, 12:21 PM
A man with too many toys
United States
Joined Feb 2001
17,924 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by reverendrichie View Post
But you need three of them and at 10 bucks each, where is the savings over using the Telebee?
I do like the HK401B better than the Telebee.

This was mainly for those who already have the HK401 gyros and have to weight until the gyros initialize then plug in the ESC’s. With the Glitch Reducer you just apply power to all and go fly.

The problem with the Telebee is that you can’t fly them in very cold weather. I sure with that they would have spent the extra buck to add a temperature compensation circuit – or perhaps they just use poor quality parts that won’t work reliably in the cold.


RC Man is online now Find More Posts by RC Man
Last edited by RC Man; Jan 21, 2010 at 03:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2010, 12:39 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,704 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC Man View Post
I do like the HL401B better than the Telebee.


Give this one a try next time, so far, I have no complains at all.

http://www.hobbypartz.com/60p-dy-1017.html
rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2010, 04:36 PM
Certified RPAS Instructor
The_Mongrel's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Yass
Joined Dec 2007
7,811 Posts
Thanks for the tips lads.

One thing I will mention is the motors that I bought (the ones from the original build) don't come with the nut you need to hold the prop on with GRR!!!

I will have to go out today and get some.

Cheers
-J
The_Mongrel is offline Find More Posts by The_Mongrel
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2010, 06:54 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,704 Posts
Safety FYI

Just a quick note about safety with these tricopters, what I noticed is, because we are not using the throttle channel but pitch to simulate throttle, the throttle cut does not function. If you are not aware of this already, what I would suggest is programming a flat 0,0,0,0 pitch curve for the Idle up so when the idle switch is turned on and you accidentally push the throttle, the copter will not spin up.
rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Yet another tricopter build. !!Updated parts list!! SebastianJ Multirotor Talk 2669 Dec 30, 2011 06:48 PM
Discussion What to do? Failed tricopter build! Razor_Racer Coaxial Helicopters 9 Mar 07, 2011 10:20 AM
Discussion Tricopter Build Razor_Racer Coaxial Helicopters 21 Feb 20, 2010 09:24 PM
Build Log Tricopter build SebastianJ VTOLs 1 Dec 22, 2008 05:34 PM
Discussion Trying to build a mechanically actuated tricopter, Help! stefalo Coaxial Helicopters 3 Jan 09, 2008 05:10 PM