Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Nov 13, 2009, 12:06 PM
Woodland, CA
Joined Nov 2009
66 Posts
Discussion
Fascinated by quadrocopters - can I design one?

Hi,

I'm new to this forum, after having stumbled across the mikrocopter and then the quadrocopter universe just a few weeks ago. Utterly fascinating!

Here's my situation. I'm an experienced embedded programmer looking for a challenge. I don't have any RC experience other than about 6 months back in the 80s trying to fly (and mostly repair) an early RC gas helicopter, no gyros. I see that the RC universe has advanced greatly in the years since then, and I want to play again. And for me playing would be as much designing and programming such a beast as flying it. On the scale of crazy, where does that idea rate?

As I said, I'm an experienced embedded programmer, familiar with, among others, the ARM and AVR families of devices. I gather that the tasks involved in rolling my own electronics would be, at the most basic level:

- Receive and decode servo signals from the RX.
- Combine those signals with gyro information to calculate motor outputs.
- Generate motor outputs in a form that ESCs can understand.

Am I close? Clueless? Any and all comments welcome. Thanks.

Mike
snarflemike is offline Find More Posts by snarflemike
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 13, 2009, 03:54 PM
Cranky old fart
Germantown, WI.
Joined Oct 2007
21,413 Posts
It's a bit more involved than that, but you are on the right track. I would recommend this topic for your review; fascinating reading: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1093510
Balr14 is offline Find More Posts by Balr14
Old Nov 13, 2009, 04:38 PM
Hoofddorp, Netherlands
Joined Sep 2004
3,917 Posts