HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
This thread is privately moderated by Troy, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Nov 10, 2009, 01:28 AM
Caution:Makes sharp left turns
United States, CA, Lake Forest
Joined Feb 1999
6,017 Posts
Cool
Project Dune Buggy (AKA Bonzai Buggy)

I have been rolling this idea around in my mind for a while but haven't had the chance to put foam and glue to the concept until recently. I am a big fan of flying things and have made many flying cars. I was getting ready for a trip out to the desert for some camping at Glammis and our good friends have an amazing sand rail (aka dune buggy). Having gone flying through the air 5-6 feet off the ground and being called back to earth by gravity, I have always been impressed with their suspension design and how much it saves my back. My other cars had suspension but it was more for preservation of the depron airframe and not so much for off roading... although they do pretty good on dirt and grass.

I studied the front suspension of my buddy's sand rail and was also inspired by Leadfeather's Mario Cart and a mod C/F did to one of my GTP cars a while back for light and easy rear suspension. I used the existing planform and parts from my GTP kits and scratch built the 4-link suspension using some 3/16" aluminum tubing, .060 carbon rod, piano wire, Dubro ball links, and some ABS plastic. The actual shock is aluminum tubing with a carbon tube inside with assorted pen springs for rebound. They work fantastic and the geometry is amazing to see in action. The rear suspension is a sudo trailing arm configuration using rubber bands for spring and tension.

The airframe itself is chopped and simplified, while the motor mount was raised to gain a little more ground clearance. I also had to move some servos and linkage around.