Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by NoFlyZone, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Jun 25, 2010, 02:57 PM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
14,215 Posts
True, a glider... but what parameters ? what motor ?
renatoa is offline Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 25, 2010, 03:05 PM
Trolls more than he flys.
Gringostr's Avatar
USA, AZ, Queen Creek
Joined Sep 2009
1,880 Posts
are you looking for a high end motor? or a cheap motor? outrunner or inrunner?
Gringostr is offline Find More Posts by Gringostr
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2010, 03:15 PM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
14,215 Posts
average outrunner.
I found at HK a 620kv 50-12 that fit this prop, but doesn't fit in webocalc, that's why I am puzzled.
renatoa is offline Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2010, 03:44 PM
Trolls more than he flys.
Gringostr's Avatar
USA, AZ, Queen Creek
Joined Sep 2009
1,880 Posts
it doesnt have to fit webocalc. woc wont be perfect all the time.
Gringostr is offline Find More Posts by Gringostr
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2010, 03:47 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Jul 2006
22,991 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RENATOA View Post
average outrunner.
I found at HK a 620kv 50-12 that fit this prop, but doesn't fit in webocalc, that's why I am puzzled.
Hi Renatoa,

All calculator programs use what are called "Prop Constants". These constants define the characteristics of the prop. The way we get these constants is through sometimes exhaustive empirical testing of the props until they give up their constants. We can then use these constants in different calc programs, like MotOCalc, WebOCalc, etc.

If prop constants can't be found, then WebOCalc simply doesn't contain that particular prop. If prop constants are found, then WebOCalc may be telling you that the 13x10 prop you have is not right for the application you're trying to fit it to.
NoFlyZone is offline Find More Posts by NoFlyZone
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jul 02, 2010, 11:39 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2009
461 Posts
Excellent thread!

Is there anything similar out there (thread, tool, whatever) for choosing quadrotor motors and props?

Thanks
Roy
RoyLB is offline Find More Posts by RoyLB
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 02, 2010, 11:46 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Jul 2006
22,991 Posts
None that I'm aware of. Roy. Maybe the guys over in Power Systems can help?
NoFlyZone is offline Find More Posts by NoFlyZone
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jul 11, 2010, 07:07 PM
my karma ranover my dogma
galaxiex's Avatar
Edmonton,Canada Eh
Joined Jun 2007
7,566 Posts
Hi Chuck!

I am trying to select a power system for my little LongEZ380. (not maidened yet)

Here's what I got so far...

AUW 33oz.
Wing area 251 sq.in.
2100mah 3 cell

Now the problem comes in with the parts I already have on hand...

I have this motor...
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=2106

...but it's only rated for 1000kv.

I would like to use a GWS 9X5 3 blade prop.

Web-O-Calc doesn't seem to have 3 blade props so how would I adjust the numbers?

Here's a screen shot of the closest I could get...

....and a few pics of the plane.

Looks like I may need a higher Kv motor...

Your thoughts?

Thanks!
galaxiex is offline Find More Posts by galaxiex
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2010, 04:28 AM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
14,215 Posts
Compute for 2 blades and subtract 1 from diameter or pitch.
In your case, 8*5 or 9*4 three blades should be fine.
But not this lame gws prop, get a Master Airscrew...
renatoa is offline Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 12:08 PM
um.. yeah, I can make that fly
Carlos230023's Avatar
United Kingdom, Milton Keynes
Joined Jun 2007
3,626 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyLB View Post
Excellent thread!

Is there anything similar out there (thread, tool, whatever) for choosing quadrotor motors and props?

Thanks
Roy
Hi roy, Im in the process of building a quad, I dont know of any particular tool but ask any of the guys in this thread;

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...60552&page=585

Theres alot of experienced members in there.

great thread noflyzone! Bringing knowledge to the uninformed masses!

CJ
Carlos230023 is offline Find More Posts by Carlos230023
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2010, 11:28 PM
Registered User
icarus46's Avatar
Joined Apr 2010
280 Posts
This thread is amazing! Thank you kindly nofly for taking the time and patience for a fantastic lesson. It's really helped me figure the power plant for my next plane. I cant say it enough, TY, TY, TY! What a guy!
icarus46 is offline Find More Posts by icarus46
Last edited by icarus46; Jul 26, 2010 at 07:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2010, 11:41 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Jul 2006
22,991 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by icarus46 View Post
This thread is amazing! Thank you kindly nofly for taking the time and patience for with fantastic lesson. It's really helped me figure the power plant for my next plane. I cant say it enough, TY, TY, TY! What a guy!
Hi icarus,

Thank you so much for the kind words! You just made my day for me...

Chuck
NoFlyZone is offline Find More Posts by NoFlyZone
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Aug 04, 2010, 02:01 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2009
22 Posts
I agree with all the great things said about the wonderful info provided in this thread. Now I wonder if there is a word processing expert here who can cut, copy, and paste the posts into a step by step process? I'd even like to print this out if it could be distilled. Anyway thanks again.

Vince
vkmet is offline Find More Posts by vkmet
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2010, 02:05 AM
Registered User
Manila
Joined Apr 2010
23 Posts
I just finished reading the thread from post #1. Thank you Chuck and flieslikeabeagle! Very smooth read, as if the knowledge just flows into the reader, no humps or dips that usually distract and discourage newbies like me.

Is there anything I should look out for when calculating the setup for my bipe? Do I just add the two wing areas, or do I have to account for some draft/turbulence/inefficiency of one wing? The wings overlap to an extent.

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=8785
OB1 Kenobi is offline Find More Posts by OB1 Kenobi
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2010, 03:37 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Jul 2006
22,991 Posts
Hi OB1,

Nope, there's nothing to take into account for our bipe, like overlap or setback, etc. Just plug the numbers in and use it like any other plane.

And thank you for the nice comments!!!

Chuck
NoFlyZone is offline Find More Posts by NoFlyZone
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Reply

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Prop selection Dannyrevs Electric Plane Talk 5 Feb 20, 2010 12:32 PM
Discussion Seeking Good E Prop Selection mt_100 Hot Online Deals 12 Oct 14, 2009 08:36 PM
Cool Handy 3M adhesive selection guide djacob7 Foamies (Scratchbuilt) 1 Sep 03, 2009 12:47 PM
Discussion Foamy building beginners guide. jbat35 Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 1 Aug 29, 2009 10:52 PM
Discussion Mountain Models Lucky ACE prop selection mumblety-peg Parkflyers 4 Aug 27, 2009 09:51 AM