HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 02, 2009, 09:29 PM
Sopwith Camel's Cousin
Between my tx and crashed aircraft
Joined Mar 2006
3,792 Posts
Discussion
Vapor and Sukhoi Brick: How Reliable, Durable and Easy to Maintain?

Hello,

I asked this question in the Indoor and Micro Models forums
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1136094

and somebody suggested that I try asking here.

I have no experience in the ~1 oz. ultra-micro scale.
I am wondering how the vapor/sukhoi bricks are in terms of reliability, durability and maintenance needed
when used in something like the ~1 oz. Parkzone ultra-micros.
That is, how much effort/trouble will it be to keep Parkzone
ultra micro electronics running.

In particular, I have heard of bricks that stop binding after awhile
(even after the Vapor green dot bricks came out),
servos that need their resistive strip periodically cleaned,
servos where the moving parts jam and/or strip (and need fixing or replacing)
and ESCs with blown FETs, etc.

My point of comparison are ~6 gram electronic parts
(GWS Pico and Blue Bird BMS306 servos, 4ch. Corona Rx (crystal),
no name ESCs).
I basically plug these together, and about the most I worry about
is that some servos will sometimes chatter between 2 adjacent positions.

Thank you.
flying-llama is offline Find More Posts by flying-llama
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 02, 2009, 10:00 PM
Time wounds all heels.
Phoenix, AZ
Joined Jul 2001
832 Posts
I have quite a bit of experience with these systems.

I have 4 different boards, an original Cessna and Citabria, a Vapor, an mCX, and a Sukhoi.

I have never had a servo fail, although i did manage to strip the rudder servo on my Cessna about 2 years ago. I ran a drop of oil on the threaded rod, a drop of CA into the slider, and then worked it around while the CA set. Worked fine ever since. The early run of boards had fairly poor threading on the rod and some were a bit easy to strip out.