SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Nov 01, 2009, 11:08 AM
Joined Apr 2008
44 Posts
Discussion
My 1/72 Revell build - Gato Class USS Cobia

Hello everyone.

I am new to radio control subs. So I thought I would start a thread on my build from the start.

I got hold of a Revell 1/72 scale Sub kit on the cheap. I have decided to make it a static diver and I am planning to build as much from scratch as I can.
I know it would be easier to buy the WTC already built, but I like the challenge!

Spent a few evenings researching the USS Cobia. The sub the kit is 'loosely' based upon.

I have not decided whether to cut the hull in half to have full tub diameter available (really don't fancy that approach), or just to cut the top open and have narrower access.
The top access option is much less work, but may lead to problems getting enough ballast tank inside.

I have spent the afternoon re-shaping the bow torpedo doors into the square 'Balao' type doors and opening them up.
The spoon moulded kit torpedo doors are not correct for the Cobia.
They will open and close on a servo and space allowing... fire.
I am currently part way through fabricating a bow torpedo tube framework.

Anyone know any information on the rear torpedo tubes?

I am going to use as much of the kit as I possibly can. I would love to build a lovely set of etched brass decks but you can seriously batter some cash when you start doing that.

Going to cram as much 'working' equipment and features as I can on this sub, so that is why my ballast tank will need to be a pretty good size.
I basically going for as big as possible, and then dialling it in later.

Does anyone know how she ran? I am assuming the 4x diesel engines ran when she was on the surface and these ran the generators which charged a battery bank.
Then she ran on batteries when submerged.

Should keep me busy for a while!
Steve
Steve2381 is offline Find More Posts by Steve2381
to remove ads between posts