HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 31, 2009, 09:28 AM
Registered User
abennett's Avatar
Belmont, MA, USA
Joined Apr 2001
53 Posts
Discussion
FSOne on Windows 7

Hi all,

I've migrated to Windows 7 and now I'm moving my apps into it. I got RealFlight to install and execute with no issues. FSOne, however, loaded just fine, but when I try to run it I see a small window briefly appear, then switch to a flash of a full screen window, then the app quits with no message.

I've tried Compatibility mode but it doesn't have any effect.

Any suggestions?
abennett is offline Find More Posts by abennett
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 02, 2009, 01:37 PM
Crash=change of flying medium
bluesky123's Avatar
Boulder, CO
Joined May 2002
1,358 Posts
It would be helpful if you provide more information about your system, most importantly:
- version of Windows 7, 32- or 64-bit
- video card and version of video drivers

I run FS One in Windows 7 with NVidia 8800GS card and the latest NVidia drivers Windows 7 installed (i.e., I haven't gone to NVidia site to download drivers myself). FS One works great, but I do have other software (most notably, Windows Media Center), which works not as reliably as in Vista 64. I attribute the differences to different drivers for video and TV cards, so, I'm waiting for hardware manufacturer to publish better Win7 drivers...

Boris
bluesky123 is offline Find More Posts by bluesky123
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 02, 2009, 06:29 PM
Registered User
abennett's Avatar
Belmont, MA, USA
Joined Apr 2001
53 Posts
Windows 7 Ultimate, 64 bit. 8 GB RAM, Quad Core CPU at 3 GHz.

Running dual NVIDIA GeForce 8800 Ultra video cards, with driver version 8.15.11.8593, dated 5/14/09

It ran just fine in Vista 64-bit.

I think I'll try installing it in my kid's computer. He's got Windows 7 home basic 32 bit. I'll post my results!

-Drew
abennett is offline Find More Posts by abennett
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 02, 2009, 08:58 PM
Registered User
abennett's Avatar
Belmont, MA, USA
Joined Apr 2001
53 Posts
Success!

Device driver was bad. Upgrade fixed it.
abennett is offline Find More Posts by abennett
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2010, 09:33 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2008
7 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by abennett View Post
Success!

Device driver was bad. Upgrade fixed it.
I'm having the same problem running FS One with Windows 7 Ultimate. Was the driver you updated for the video card, or FS One's USB driver?

Thanks, Mike
Painless is offline Find More Posts by Painless
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2010, 09:49 PM
Registered User
abennett's Avatar
Belmont, MA, USA
Joined Apr 2001
53 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Painless View Post
I'm having the same problem running FS One with Windows 7 Ultimate. Was the driver you updated for the video card, or FS One's USB driver?

Thanks, Mike
It was the video card's driver. Once I updated that, everything worked.
abennett is offline Find More Posts by abennett
Reply With Quote
Old May 02, 2010, 07:50 PM
Registered User
United States, NJ, Mt Holly
Joined Mar 2009
174 Posts
I just installed my Dad's FSOne on his Windows 7 laptop. The flight is really slow on the new laptop and all the planes seem easy to fly. The old PC was 8 years old and barely met the min req. Any ideas how to get it to fly right on the new computer?
Sea Monkey is offline Find More Posts by Sea Monkey
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Windows 7 and Castle link software Raydee Castle Creations 11 Nov 25, 2009 08:12 AM
Discussion Aerofly runs on iMac with Windows 7 product release daddysard Simulators 1 Oct 31, 2009 11:00 AM
Discussion Windows 7 compatible ? 4*60 Xtreme Power Systems 1 Oct 06, 2009 10:33 AM