SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 28, 2010, 08:07 PM
USA: LakeGeorge, New York
USA
Joined May 2010
4,619 Posts
and.....another snow flying.....



Radian 2/21/2010 Frozen Lake Flyover (RC Passive FPV Aerial Video) - GoPro HD Hero Cam (10 min 54 sec)
rclab1 is offline Find More Posts by rclab1
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 05, 2010, 06:37 PM
FPV maniac
bah7566's Avatar
Colorado
Joined Sep 2007
587 Posts
Diamond 2500

I had my first FPV flight today with the Diamond 2500. Nothing real exciting but it flew well.
Hope you enjoy it,
Bruce

Diamond 2500 FPV 05 Dec 2010 2 (5 min 54 sec)
bah7566 is offline Find More Posts by bah7566
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2010, 06:48 PM
USA: LakeGeorge, New York
USA
Joined May 2010
4,619 Posts
bah7566
thanks for sharing that Bruce.....
....looking at your OSD, you only used no more
than ~41amps on WOT.....that is nice....
are you on stock powerSystem? 4s-4000mah?

....and while you were climbing in the first 1min, what
% throttle were you using? It wasn't vertical performance, but
a nice steady climb.....I don't know if you were giving it down elevator
while giving it some throttle?

also, I'm not too familiar with your OSD, I wanted to know
what your cruising "level" steady pace Speed was
with the power off and power on? what amp did you
have when just cruising at a steady level pace.

in the video, it showed a lot of power off, I know you cut the video
some, but I just wanted to know more info on the stock power system.

BananaHObby emailed me again, and said they will have
it in stock Dec.7th.....
rclab1 is offline Find More Posts by rclab1
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2010, 08:34 PM
FPV maniac
bah7566's Avatar
Colorado
Joined Sep 2007
587 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rclab1 View Post
bah7566
thanks for sharing that Bruce.....
....looking at your OSD, you only used no more
than ~41amps on WOT.....that is nice....
are you on stock powerSystem? 4s-4000mah?

Yes, stock power system, one 4S 5000mah and I have room for two

....and while you were climbing in the first 1min, what
% throttle were you using? It wasn't vertical performance, but
a nice steady climb.....I don't know if you were giving it down elevator
while giving it some throttle?

That was about 75% to 80% throttle on the climb out. I just wanted to be able to see the horizon a little on the climb. It's not vertical performance but pretty good I think.

also, I'm not too familiar with your OSD, I wanted to know
what your cruising "level" steady pace Speed was
with the power off and power on? what amp did you
have when just cruising at a steady level pace.

It cruises level at about 25 to 30mph at 12 to 15 amps. And about 20mph in a glide.

in the video, it showed a lot of power off, I know you cut the video
some, but I just wanted to know more info on the stock power system.

BananaHObby emailed me again, and said they will have
it in stock Dec.7th.....
I like the airplane but it is almost too large for my taste. I like to fly out of my back yard but I have to take this one to a flying site to fly it. I am considering trying to sell it if anyone is interested. I will have to build a custom box for it and would only ship it via Greyhound Bus. It's just too big for me to transport, but it sure is stable and flies very nice.

Bruce
bah7566 is offline Find More Posts by bah7566
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2010, 11:28 PM
Spearheading an Alliance
BravoGolf's Avatar
United States, CO, Aspen
Joined Oct 2010
794 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bah7566 View Post
I like the airplane but it is almost too large for my taste. I like to fly out of my back yard but I have to take this one to a flying site to fly it. I am considering trying to sell it if anyone is interested. I will have to build a custom box for it and would only ship it via Greyhound Bus. It's just too big for me to transport, but it sure is stable and flies very nice.

Bruce
Nice video thanks for sharing.

I may be interested in this plane. I'm in Aspen and judging by the terrain I'm guessing your in SW Colorado maybe? I have a brand new Sonic 185 from Nitro but have not flown it or put it together yet as I'm waiting on some authentic deans ultra plugs to swap over the battery and esc leads from the banana plugs. This is the glider I really wanted but because it was sold out the day I was going to order it, couldn't wait any longer and I picked up the sonic 185.

Anyway...let me know if you would entertain some sort of trade.
BravoGolf is offline Find More Posts by BravoGolf
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2010, 09:25 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
26 Posts
d2500 video

not FPV ??? ok, so i'll remove it.
hhheagle is offline Find More Posts by hhheagle
Last edited by hhheagle; Dec 06, 2010 at 12:15 PM. Reason: remove fraudulent post
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2010, 10:49 AM
USA: LakeGeorge, New York
USA
Joined May 2010
4,619 Posts
thats not FPV.... he put a SONY Bloggie video camcorder on the wing....
rclab1 is offline Find More Posts by rclab1
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2010, 10:54 AM
Registered User
BG Bengtsson's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Jul 2010
186 Posts
I was waiting for your comment!!
hhheagle! These guys, who really fly FPV they do not call a video camera on the plane for FPV.
It is just a camera on the plane...
FPV is when you fly the plane in real time with radio down link of the picture...
Am I not right rclab1???
/BG
BG Bengtsson is offline Find More Posts by BG Bengtsson
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2010, 01:02 PM
USA: LakeGeorge, New York
USA
Joined May 2010
4,619 Posts
BG Ben,
you are right....

bah7766 flies FPV.....he uses a Stock Diamond 2500.
check it out here:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1338096
rclab1 is offline Find More Posts by rclab1
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2010, 01:37 PM
Registered User
BG Bengtsson's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Jul 2010
186 Posts
That was ineresting to see!
He just opened the fuse and made extra compartments.
Nice. I have to learn more about FPV!
But picture resulotion is not so good...? Or is that on the recording only?
BG Bengtsson is offline Find More Posts by BG Bengtsson
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2010, 02:22 PM
USA: LakeGeorge, New York
USA
Joined May 2010
4,619 Posts
BG Ben,
once you fly FPV, you will be hooked!
guaranteed..... its soo easy to do, but the
excitement is there everytime you fly....
with a stock setup using 72mhz tx/rx ,
you can go for 2miles out ....and thats just with basic equip.

once I get mine setup, I'll show you how....its very simple to do.

you can use any plane, but a big glider is best to start with.
it just floats while you sight see .....
rclab1 is offline Find More Posts by rclab1
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2010, 03:17 PM
Registered User
pavn's Avatar
Czech Republic, Olomouc
Joined Sep 2010
584 Posts
I would like to try sometimes FPV. But rather would like to start with good or best possible visual quality. I like what GoPro HD camera could do. I know that with new firmware it can stream video directly to the video transmitter and simultaneously record the video to SD card for offline. Which is very nice. It is better than to have 2 cameras on one plane. I would like to get best experience possible, not to waste time on something with lower quality and then to upgrade. I would like to have quality FPV video and also quality recorded video and to save weight and battery power with just one camera for both.

Quote:
you can go for 2miles out ....and thats just with basic equip.
rclab1, do you think you can go 2 miles with original Art-Tech RC TX and RX for sure? Or is it recommended to use something else?
pavn is offline Find More Posts by pavn
Last edited by pavn; Dec 06, 2010 at 03:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2010, 04:07 PM
USA: LakeGeorge, New York
USA
Joined May 2010
4,619 Posts
pavn

on a stock (any brand) 2.4ghz RC control, you will not go
2miles.....

the videoTx on the plane will have a lot of RF noise, its a fact and it
reduces the distance of the RC control. It affects RC-2.4ghz systems
a lot more.....

going to a RC 72mhz is what everyone uses.
others pay up to 275 dollars to use there own control,
but a module is attached to change the freq of their RC control
to 433mhz. 433mhz can go out to 15-25 miles !!!!!

you will lose video before RC control.....

that is amazing!

Video usually goes out to 3miles....some have gone out
with their Video up to 5-15miles....depends on where
you live and depend if you live in the city or suburb, or country.....

its a whole new experience in flying once you've done FPV.

;-)
rclab1 is offline Find More Posts by rclab1
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2010, 04:49 PM
FPV maniac
bah7566's Avatar
Colorado
Joined Sep 2007
587 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pavn View Post
I would like to try sometimes FPV. But rather would like to start with good or best possible visual quality. I like what GoPro HD camera could do. I know that with new firmware it can stream video directly to the video transmitter and simultaneously record the video to SD card for offline. Which is very nice. It is better than to have 2 cameras on one plane. I would like to get best experience possible, not to waste time on something with lower quality and then to upgrade. I would like to have quality FPV video and also quality recorded video and to save weight and battery power with just one camera for both.
If you use a GoPro for the video camera to fly with that is fine but normal video TX equipment will not transmit the video signal in HD. You will not see HD in the goggles nor will you record HD on your ground station.
It will however record HD to the SD card for a great video after the fact.
If you connect the GoPro to your video system in any way, you create more issues with RF interference depending on what frequency your operating system is on. This is why you see people having two cameras on the airplane. One cheap camera to fly with and the GoPro to record HD video on the SD card. This way the GoPro is not hardwired to any systems on board the airplane.
You can find mountains of information about this subject on the GoPro threads and other FPV threads.

Bruce
bah7566 is offline Find More Posts by bah7566
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2010, 07:20 PM
USA: LakeGeorge, New York
USA
Joined May 2010
4,619 Posts
well said Bruce :-)
rclab1 is offline Find More Posts by rclab1
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Art-Tech EF2000 any one have it j3tman Foamy EDFs 2 Oct 24, 2009 09:42 AM
Discussion art tech spitfire bomb! (: kieran3008 Electric Warbirds 2 Oct 15, 2009 05:57 PM
Help! Art-tech Yak 54 Center of Gravity Midknight69 Electric Plane Talk 3 Oct 14, 2009 09:21 PM
Discussion art tech spitfire ***** kieran3008 Electric Warbirds 0 Oct 12, 2009 02:21 PM