Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Oct 29, 2009, 10:37 PM
Joined Feb 2005
538 Posts
Question
Difference Between Spoilerons and Flaperons?

Hello,

Im not a newbie but I have a newbie question because I have never used this function before.
Im purchasing a hotliner and it is advised that I program spoilerons in order to slow it down fast enough.
Now I own a Futaba 6EXA radio and the only function I have are for Flaperons. It doesn't have a program function for Spoilerons.

So I am wondering what the difference between spoilerons and flaperons are? Can I still use flaperons to slow down the hotliner versus using spoilerons?

Thank you ;o)
Bookstar75 is offline Find More Posts by Bookstar75
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 30, 2009, 12:13 AM
WARNING: May contain spam
Joined Oct 2007
20,920 Posts
Spoilerons and Flapperons are just opposite directions. They both use the ailerons, but Flapperons, while adding lift, deflect both ailerons down, and generally cause the plane to pitch up, but the nose to pitch down, so usually a little elevator is mixed in. Spoilerons do just about the opposite, and slow the plane down a bit better.

You will be wanting spoilerons
Xpress.. is online now Find More Posts by Xpress..
Old Oct 30, 2009, 12:56 AM
Singapore
Joined Mar 2009
193 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xpress.. View Post
Spoilerons and Flapperons are just opposite directions. They both use the ailerons, but Flapperons, while adding lift, deflect both ailerons down, and generally cause the plane to pitch up, but the nose to pitch down, so usually a little elevator is mixed in. Spoilerons do just about the opposite, and slow the plane down a bit better.

You will be wanting spoilerons
Pls allow me to ride on your thread bookstar75

I don't understand this: "but Flapperons, while adding lift, deflect both ailerons down, and generally cause the plane to pitch up, but the nose to pitch down". If the plane pitches up, how can the nose pitch down?

Thanks for helping.