HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 27, 2009, 12:59 PM
Saskatoon, SK.
Joined Oct 2009
224 Posts
Help!
ESC, Battery and Motor Connection Type Help

I know there are a lot of connection types out there...

I'm just getting into the e-flight end of things (winter is on it's way) and have zero experience with any of this!

Have said that, I've just ordered a battery, esc and motor (sizes as per recommendations from RCPowers) for a park flyer foamie that I've already build.
-The battery already has a little 4-wired plastic connection (I believe it is for charging) and 2 open ended wires (that go to the esc).
-The motor has 3 open ended wires (that go to the esc).
-The esc has the little plastic receiver connection, 3 open ended wires (that go to the the motor), and finally another 2 open ended wires (that go the the battery).

I do not have a charge yet. I've got 8-12 days for the shipping of the equipment noted above to figure out what charger I'll get (and sort out these wires).

I'm wondering what are the best types of connectors to use and for the open ended wires indicated above (Traxxas, Deans, Bananas, etc.) and if any soldering will have to be done.

Thanks all.
etotheo is offline Find More Posts by etotheo
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 27, 2009, 02:08 PM
Joined Jan 2009
7,643 Posts
For the wires that come in groups-of-three (eg. brushless ESC motor outputs, and a brushless motors) it's typical to use so-called "bullet" connectors. More often than not, you get a set of these when you buy a brushless motor. The motor will probably have the males already installed. It will be your job to solder the female bullet connectors to the ESC outputs.

For the wires that come in pairs (eg., batteries and DC input leads for ESCs) the more common connectors are Deans, EC3, etc. Polarity is supremely important here -- connecting a battery to an ESC with the wrong polarity can be injurious to both.